Kassler chops with mustard and minted pears

After another read through the Love and Food, The Market Cookbook that I won from Tandy, my mom was set on preparing one of the recipes with her twist on it.  I love it when my mom gets inspired like this because we always land up with a taste explosion meal that we talk about for weeks on end after enjoying it.  The original recipe was pan-roasted kassler chops with fresh peaches and the mint called for was merely for decoration – what a waste we thought so we incorporated it into the meal – WINNER!  Well done mom on another magnificent meal.

Kassler chops with mustard and minted pears

Ingredients

1 tbsp whole grain mustard
1tbsp white wine vinegar
1tbsp honey
1 tbsp mint chiffonade
2 pears quartered and drizzled with olive oil
4 kassler chops

Method

  1. Make a vinaigrette by combining the mustard, vinegar, honey and mint and set aside.
  2. Heat a griddle pan over a high heat.
  3. Grill the pears on both sides and set aside and keep warm.
  4. Clean and reheat the pan and grill the kassler chops.
  5. Plate the chops and peaches and drizzle over the vinaigrette.
48 thoughts on “Kassler chops with mustard and minted pears

  1. This sounds delicious, Mandy! I often serve apples with pork but pears, especially with this vinaigrette, would be a welcome change. Thanks to you and your Mom for sharing this with us.

  2. Oh, I just adore Kassler Chops – and I’d love one right now. Not for me for weeks yet as dental drama’s mean no meat for a while. Sadness. I’d been fantasizing about chops and now Kassler chops will be dancing around in my head.

  3. Now that I know where I can find fresh mint, I’m going to add this to our weekly menu. We love our pork chops and these flavors sound amazing together. 🙂

  4. Didn´t know what kassler chops where but I think from reading comments and looking very closely at your gorgeous photo that they are delicious, juicy pork chops! Fabulous recipe, and well done your mum! PS. Have just finished the beanie for a Christmas present – think I may start another one tonight! Am so pleased with it and I´m sure my pal Freddie will be too.

    • Wish I could send you a couple of kassler chops – you would love them! I am thrilled that you are are happy with the beanie – so proud that somebody else used my pattern. 😀 I have neglected the baby blanket that I am crocheting for a great nephew – seems this family tree business has taken over! I am so close to finishing that I may just sit with it this weekend. Happy knitting. 🙂 xo

  5. looks delicious, and Mum’s are great around the home for inspiration in the kitchen. Sounds like you both have a great time in the kitchen! have a wonderful weekend!

Don't be shy, leave a reply. :-)

