Sausage Stuffed Bell Peppers

I have been wanting to make stuffed peppers for the longest time but for whatever reason, is just one of those ideas that gets pushed aside or forgotten.  I was reminded about this lovely idea when I was visiting over at Zestybeandog’s Blog, which made me put my want into action.  Thanks Zestybeandog for the reminder.  This is really a tasty meal and we enjoyed the yellow pepper so much more than the red.  It seemed to have more flavour once baked.

Sausage Stuffed Bell Peppers

Inspired by Zestybeandog

Ingredients

1 red bell pepper
1 yellow bell pepper
1 tbsp butter
½ onion chopped
½ cup sliced mushrooms
1 clove garlic crushed
4 pork bangers removed from casings
10ml chicken stock powder
5ml vegetable spice
¾ cup cooked rice

Method

  1. Cut the tops off the peppers and remove the inner membrane and seeds.  Set aside.
  2. Preheat the oven to 180°C.
  3. Fry the onion and mushrooms in the butter until tender.
  4. Add the garlic and and sausage breaking the sausage up into small pieces.
  5. Add the stock powder and vegetable spice and cook through.
  6. Stir in the rice and stuff into the peppers.
  7. Bake for 35 – 40 minutes.
  8. Drizzle the peppers with olive oil before serving.
42 thoughts on “Sausage Stuffed Bell Peppers

  1. Mandy, I love stuffed peppers and enjoy seeing different takes on this classic. I’m excited about all the tasty inclusions you have worked in to this recipe and it just looks so comforting…

  2. I’ve not made stuffed peppers in ages and these look like a great way to get re-acquainted. I avoid using green bell peppers, preferring the red but, if you say “Go yellow!” then I’m Team Yellow for this dish. Enjoy your day!

  3. I agree about the flavor of yellow peppers…they have a wonderful sweet flavor. I have made and like stuffed peppers but have never made them with sausage. Now I can’t wait to make these.

  4. Those look delicious! I love the combination of sausage and bell peppers too. I have a hard time choosing between yellow, orange, and red ones. I love that they are available year round, and yes, stuffed peppers should be something we make during all seasons, not just summer.
    – Michael

Don't be shy, leave a reply. :-)

