Parsley Crackers

Since enjoying the rosemary version of these lovely crackers, I was set on making a parsley variant and they worked out a treat.  With parsley being a much milder herb to rosemary, I doubled the quantity asked for in the original recipe which made these crackers even more attractive, even though the flavour was very mild.  Throw in some cranberry jelly and you have all the colours of Christmas taken care of.  These crunchy snacks lend themselves to a myriad of accompanying flavours and as my friend Tandy said, they are perfect after work snacks for with a drink.

Parsley Crackers

Ingredients

1.5 cups all purpose flour
1 tsp salt
½ tsp sugar
4 tbsp fresh parsley chopped – I used curly
2 tbsp olive oil
½ cup cold water

Method

  1. Preheat the oven to 230°C.
  2. Combine the flour, salt, sugar and parsley in a bowl.
  3. Add the oil and enough of the water to form a dough.
  4. Turn the dough out onto a counter top and knead to a smooth ball.  The dough should feel tacky, not sticky.  If it feels sticky, add a *very* small amount of flour.
  5. Divide the dough into four pieces and cover with a towel.  Rest the dough for 10 minutes to allow the gluten to relax.
  6. If you have a pasta roller, roll each piece as thin as possible (this is what I did). Alternatively, use a rolling pin to roll the pieces out as thinly as possible.
  7. Joanne says to spray the dough with water which helps it to go crispy.  I found they baked better and crispier without the spritz of water.  See which works best for you.
  8. Bake on a baking try for 3 – 4 minutes on each side until lightly golden.
  9. Repeat with the remaining dough.  The crackers will become crispier as they cool.
  10. Once cooled, break into shards.
54 thoughts on “Parsley Crackers

  1. These do seem like just the sort of snacking cracker that I would indulge in at the end of the day. To be honest, I’m not sure what parsley on it’s own tastes like, I tend to add it to so many different heavily seasoned dishes that it get’s lost… This is the perfect way to highlight its’ flavor:)

  2. We have the flat leafed parsley here which seems to have a slightly stronger flavour but I can imagine doing this with so many things – cracked black pepper and parmesan…basil….must give them a try!

  3. Uh oh, how did you know about my after work drink? Seriously, I love a great variation on a theme. Brings me back to my school instrument (baritone horn!) playing days…
    – Michael

  4. I love the parsley in them and I can just tell from the picture the are perfectly crispy just like a cracker should be! Would love to give these a try- oh I think they are calling my name with a little bit of hummus or this cheese spread my mom makes every year! YUM!

    • The rosemary definitely produces a much stronger flavour, which I think can limit what you can serve it with – although that being said, they are delicious just on their own and the parsley is quite nondescript which lends itself to a myriad of flavours – I would make both and then just for good measure some with thyme. 😀 Have a great day. 🙂

  5. Just in time for the holidays! These, along with their rosemary cousins, will be great with so many cheeses and spreads and so much better than some stale cracker out of a box.

  6. AND you can pretend they are good for you because parsley is so high in Vit C and Iron.. love these, really must try them, I have rosemary too so i might make one of each! c

  7. Pingback: Fifteen Spatulas Rewind |

Don't be shy, leave a reply. :-)

