Mint Jelly

With the holidays in full swing, and all the family gatherings with copious amounts of eating, plus the fact that we have just gone halvies on a lamb with my folks, mint jelly was high on the list of have to makes.  I got this super easy recipe from my SIL and modified it ever so slightly.  Sadly the picture doesn’t do the jelly any justice, plus I am sure you could yield a lighter result using white sugar, either way it is absolutely delicious.

Mint Jelly

Ingredients

450g tin smooth apricot jam
460g (500ml) sugar – I used brown
250ml white vinegar
1 cup fresh mint chopped
5ml lemon juice

Method

  1. Combine the jam, sugar and vinegar in a saucepan and bring to a boil.
  2. Reduce the heat to a simmer and reduce by one third.
  3. Remove from the heat and stir in the mint and lemon juice.
  4. Bottle in sterilised jars.
  5. Can be kept in the fridge or on the shelf until opened.
53 thoughts on “Mint Jelly

  1. I think the depth of flavor would be so much richer using brown sugar.. I’ve never thought to make my own mint jelly, it would be so much nicer than the processed stuff! Half a lamb… mmmm! Lucky you!!

    • Hope you give this lovely recipe a try – it is great! Funny enough, I only ever buy brown sugar and use it even when a recipe calls for white sugar. I am looking forward to a slow roast lamb SOON! Have a great day. 🙂

    • Hi Katy, thanks for stopping by. I had the same problem when we were living in Mauritius and I managed to find it eventually just before we left to come back home and it cost a fortune so this recipe is a double win. Have a great day. 🙂

  2. I have never heard of using apricot jam as the base before! Did you know most commercial apricot jams have pumpkin as the base? Sounds very interesting Mandy 🙂

  3. I love this and would never have thought of making it with apricot jam. How delicious! My Spanish folk thought this was such a weird concept (as they also thought about apple sauce and pork!) but once they tasted it they were converted…

    • Hi Christie-Anne, welcome and thanks for stopping by. The jelly will keep for quite a long while in the fridge and a meringue base will definitely keep for a couple of days in a sealed airtight container. Happy birthday to your grandmother :-). I suggest you have a brose around my baking category, you will find loads of nice recipes to try using your kitchen aid – what a great gift to buy yourself. Have a super day. 🙂

  4. I have tried every single mint jelly recipe I could find and I am hopeless! However the first good news is YOUR recipe and the second good news is that i bought my mint plant inside (only ever grow mint in a pot!) SO I can make this to go with the lamb we are cooking for a very tiny dinner on christmas eve.(Yes. I would have cooked the lamb for christmas day but lots of people who are coming to Nannys christmas have never eaten lamb before and have decided they won’t like it! Plus it is home grown and some family members do not trust home grown stuff, it might have GERMS! I am in a cultural WASTELAND!) But good news is i am going to make this mint sauce Today! c

    • The family don’t realise what they are going to be missing out on C – all the more you then. 🙂 Hope this jelly pairs nicely with it! I would be over in a flash to share it all with you if I could – tell you what, I would even bring the mint jelly. Have a super day. 🙂

    • There really is nothing to the recipe at all Tricia, it is super easy. It doesn’t feel like the holiday season yet – I am sure when all of the holiday makers decent on us next week, that it will. Have a special time too. 🙂

Don't be shy, leave a reply. :-)

