Mince Bourguignon

I do so love a good slow cooked rich full flavoured Boeuf Bourguignon so I thought why not then try it with mince and I must say it comes in a very close second.  This is not the most holiday inspired meal but it it super tasty; well now that I think about it, this is a great meal to prepare if you are having family and friends around over the festive season as you don’t have to be in the kitchen at all once you have prepared everything and have it simmering away on the stove.

Mince Bourguignon

Ingredients

1 onion sliced
2 small carrots chopped
400g beef mince
250ml red wine – I used Chateau Libertas
15ml beef stock powder
15ml tomato paste
Salt and pepper to taste
12 button mushrooms halved
Sprig of thyme

Method

  1. Sauté the onion and carrots in a little olive oil.
  2. Add the mince and brown.
  3. Add the wine, stock, tomato paste and salt and pepper and bring to the boil.
  4. Add the mushrooms and thyme and simmer covered very slowly for an hour.
  5. Remove the lid to reduce the remaining liquid slightly.
48 thoughts on “Mince Bourguignon

  1. I am not eating much meat at the moment but the mere mention of bourgignon has made me want to head straight for the butchers shop. I love the idea of using mince rather than cubed beef.

  2. Beef Bourguignon is a favourite of mine, and this recipe is good one for frugal cooking. I will definitely be making this during the week when my hands are busy with Christmas preparations. Something that takes care of itself on the cooker is brilliant for this time of the year. 🙂

  3. I’ve never tried minced beef — or minced anything, for that matter. I do love Boeuf Bourguignon, however, so this must be one tasty dish! It’s a clever adaptation on your part, Mandy.

  4. I am a huge fan of foods I can set up and leave to cook on the woodstove, this looks perfect. Simple and tasty. Now I had best go and get that mince out of the freezer right now! c

  5. Now how clever are you? We don´t get hunks of beef here often, and when we do you have to take out a mortgage. But we do get beef mince….never thought of doing this with all those gorgeous flavours. Yum!

  6. Pingback: Cranberry Sauce & Christmas Veg « What We Ate Today

Don't be shy, leave a reply. :-)

