Broccoli Cheese Quiche with a Rice Crust

I read about this lovely idea over at Ashley’s, The Driven Cook’s blog and set to making this healthy lunch idea with a slightly less healthy white rice and amended the recipe ever so slightly.  This is a super idea to use up left over rice which I always seem to have, on the few occasions that I do cook rice.  I bet that brown rice would add a nice nutty flavour.

Broccoli Cheese Quiche with a Rice Crust

Ingredients

Crust
2 cups rice cooked – the original recipe called for brown rice
¼ cup cheddar cheese grated
1 egg

Filling
4 eggs
½ cup milk – the original recipe called for 1 cup
2 cups broccoli florets
1 cup cheddar cheese grated
1 tsp veggie spice – this was not part of the original recipe
Salt and black pepper to taste

Method

  1. Preheat the oven to 230°C.
  2. Mix the crust ingredients together and press into a prepared quiche dish.
  3. Bake for 7 minutes and allow to cool slightly.
  4. Reduce the oven temperature to 190°C.
  5. Combine the filling ingredients and pour into the crust and baked for 25-30 minutes.  The original recipe calls for 35-40 minutes.
58 thoughts on “Broccoli Cheese Quiche with a Rice Crust

  1. This is such a clever idea, Mandy. I, too, often have left over rice and this dish is the perfect use for it. I bet the filling is great, too. Broccoli and cheese go so well together!

  2. looks delicious and healthy..a great idea – the rice base, we had a break also this evening with a classic quiche lorraine…of course with the left over smoked ham..the last of the turkey was made into a beautiful stock today, hope your Christmas went well and you’re enjoying the festive break. x

  3. What a fantastic idea. i always give the leftover rice to the dogs and cats, but this is a much better idea..(though they might not agree) What is veggie spice?.. c

  4. Hi Mandy! I love the idea of a rice crust in a quiche. Although I keep my leftover (Japanese) rice frozen for fried rice, this could be another great use for it. In my kitchen it would be a kind of asian fusion food.
    – Michael

  5. Yum! Thanks for making my recipe. I’m glad you enjoyed it! Definitely give the brown rice a try. I know it seems less tasty, but it’s better for you and you’re right- adds a nutty flavor!

    • We are still in the throws of holiday time here Kim – so hard to get back into the swing of things. Hope you had special time with the family and I know that Kay like always is in your thoughts. Have a happy day. 🙂 xo

  6. Looks like it would melt in your mouth…in fact, if the mouth watering visual effect it has on me right now counts… It already is indeed melting in my mouth. I can’t wait to try this one.
    Bless You
    HAPPY NEW YEAR!!!
    paul

Don't be shy, leave a reply. :-)

