Savoury Pancakes

The last remains of a roast chicken work perfectly for these tasty and comforting savoury pancakes and butter fried mushrooms with garlic up the flavour while the creamy white sauce balances things our beautifully before rolling up and sprinkling with cheese to melt and bubble under the grill.Β  Serve with a crispy green salad or just on their own for a delicious lunch or light supper.

Savoury Pancakes

Ingredients – quantities depending on how many you are making

Left over roast chicken broken into pieces or fried chicken breasts cut into thin slices
Button mushrooms sliced
Vegetable spice
1 to 2 garlic cloves crushed
White sauce – recipe to follow soon
Pancakes – recipe to follow soon
Grated cheddar cheese

Method

  1. Fry the mushrooms in butter until tender and add the vegetable spice and garlic.
  2. Add the chicken and heat through.
  3. Place a portion of the chicken onto a pancake and spoon over white sauce.Β  Roll up and sprinkle with cheese.
  4. Place under the grill until the cheese is melted.
44 thoughts on “Savoury Pancakes

  1. What a lovely change from pitas and the like, I love this idea and would thoroughly enjoy having a wee bit of filled pancake for lunch:) I’ll be watching for that recipe! xo Smidge

  2. I do love my sandwiches but sometimes I want a change. Wrapping the ingredients in a pancake is a tasty alternative without losing the convenience of hand-food. Great idea, Mandy, and I look forward to the white sauce & pancake recipes. πŸ™‚

  3. Though I’m more of a fan of sweet pancakes, your savoury pancakes look really delicious! And I can totally imagine the cheese oozing out while eating the pancake… thanks for sharing! Gonna try them one day!

    • Hi Jaline, welcome and thanks for stopping by. I very much enjoy sweet and savoury pancakes which is why I don’t make them too often. have a super day and I would love to hear how you enjoy savoury pancakes when you make them. πŸ™‚

  4. Looking forward to your pancake and white sauce recipes to complete this delicious pancake! What a great idea to use the leftover roasted chicken for “pancake” dish! With this, we can totally eat pancakes for dinner without feeling awkward about it. =) I already can imagine my kids will be thrilled to have this for dinner.

    • What about I make them for you in exchange for a quick photographic lesson. I am having SO much fun with my new camera Celi – just wish I had more time at the moment to play and learn more – watch this space! Have a happy day. πŸ™‚

Don't be shy, leave a reply. :-)

