Un-Recipe – Lazy or Busy Day Cucumber Sandwich

It has been a long while since I shared an un-recipe with you and yesterdays lunch was very much just that, an un-recipe sarmie.  It was another one of “those” days where I could not pull myself away from the computer until it was too late to make anything more than a quick sandwich for lunch.  A very satisfying and very moreish sarmie mind you, one which I quite often enjoy.

Un-Recipe – Cucumber Sandwich

Ingredients

2 slices of brown bread
Butter
Mayonnaise
Cucumber slices
Salt and Pepper

Method

  1. Butter the bread.
  2. Spread a layer of mayonnaise on one slice.
  3. Top with the cucumber, salt and pepper.
  4. Place the second slice of bread on top and cut in half.
41 thoughts on “Un-Recipe – Lazy or Busy Day Cucumber Sandwich

  1. I am all for the lazy un-recipes at the moment Mandy (as you may have noticed from my blog). Illness and a severe lack of time has made my kitchen very uninteresting over the last couple of weeks. Love cucumber sandwiches, so very English!

  2. I love un-recipes and this reminds me of a tea sandwich I had as a child in Scotland, though I think it just had butter, no mayo. Yum, and thanks for reminding me how much I love cucumber sammies. Have a great weekend Mandy!

  3. I haven’t had a cucumber sandwich since I was a child. I love cucumbers. I also remember my mom putting them on my eyes and us having a mini spa treatment at home. This post brought back memories 🙂

  4. This is a light lunch I normally associate with Summer, like you’re enjoying now, I hope. Still, sometimes it’s good to make a Summer dish in the dead of Winter as a reminder that “This, too, shall pass… ” Have a great weekend!

    • We have been enjoying fabulous summer days of late John. Sadly this too shall pass – I really really really do not enjoy the cold. On the upside, there is summer beyond the winter again. Hope you have been enjoying your weekend too. 🙂

  5. Love this simple, delightful sandwich Mandy. I often make this sort of thing in the summer too… when the ingredients are fresh and available, it tastes so good and makes great economic sense too. Have a great day Mandy :).

Don't be shy, leave a reply. :-)

