Fresh Fig Yoghurt Muffins

Today’s recipe is not quite as exciting as yesterdays but it still got the double thumbs up, so I am very happy.  The muffins were remarkably light with a beautiful soft crumb and sticky top.  I am sure this would work equally as well with preserved or dried figs, just as the tart would but  I shall use the wonderful figs fresh on our tree for as long as I can.

Fresh Fig Yoghurt Muffins

Ingredients

500ml self-raising flour
250ml sugar
5ml salt
80ml oil
10ml vanilla essence
250ml plain yoghurt
1egg lightly beaten
4-5 figs (250ml) peeled and roughly chopped

Method

  1. Preheat the oven to 180°C.
  2. Mix all the ingredients in a bowl until just combined.
  3. Divide into 12 muffin tins lined with cupcake cases.
  4. Bake for 20 minutes.
50 thoughts on “Fresh Fig Yoghurt Muffins

    • I am sure they would work equally as well Raymund – although they may not be as soft in the muffin as the fresh figs. Also, coat them in a little flour to help prevent them sinking to the bottom of the mixture. Have a lovely day. 🙂

  1. Okay, between the last post and this one, I’m now dying for fresh figs. Alas I will have to wait several months. It may be time open my last jar of drunken fig jam which I’ve been saving. Love the sound of this recipe, Mandy!

  2. I am not a huge fan of yogurt.. but just look at those muffins, delish. I’ll eat the yogurt int hose any day of the week lol. They just look so darn scrumptious.. I love it

    • Hi Yudith, thanks for stopping by. I like using yoghurt in a lot of my baking, it really does make things nice and moist and also yields a lovely light crumb. I wish I had frigs all year around, our season is fairly short here too and think that my tree is already starting to go into hibernation mode. Have a super week. 🙂

Don't be shy, leave a reply. :-)

