Food Bloggers Unplugged Questionnaire

I was invited (I hang my head in shame) weeks ago to partake in the Food Bloggers Unplugged Questionnaire and promised Ronnie at Morris Town Memos who invited me that I would get to doing the post “soon” – well soon seems to have come and gone a month ago, but better late than never they say, here I am today, taking part and paying the fun forward.  Thanks again Ronnie and my sincere apologies for the lateness in taking part.

1.  What or who inspired you to start your blog?
My hubby Pete.  After I wrote my book “The Complete Cook Book”, Pete suggested I start a blog sharing my book online.  Here I am over a year later and thoroughly enjoying my time posting recipes and sharing more about our life.
2.  Who is your foodie inspiration?
Hands down , my mom.  Where would any of us be without the guidance and advice from our moms!
3.  Your greasiest most batter splattered cook book is?
This would have to be the book I am STILL “borrowing” from my mom – her late mom’s “Woman’s Home Companion Cook Book” excerpts of which I am sharing with you, my readers.  Yes, I will return it to my mom just as soon as I have shared the last chapter with you.
4.  The best thing you have ever eaten in another country, where was it and what was it?
I’m not sure I have eaten “whatever” this is yet – but to date, it would have to be dhalpouri’s and roti’s from when we were living in Mauritius.
5.  Another Food Blogger’s table you would like to eat at?
There are so many that it is honestly very difficult to name just one, however, in the spirit of the game, I would have to say Celi over at The Kitchen’s Garden.  Celi is the most inspirational and remarkable woman who with her hubby John are all about sustainable micro farming in an organic environment out on the Prairies of the MidWest. Simply put; growing their own food and cooking it.  Celi is an endless fountain of information and I learn something new every day I visit her incredible blog.
6.  What one kitchen gadget would you like Santa to bring you? (if money were no object)
Well if money were no object, I would say a KitchenAid with all the extra attachments.
7.  Who taught you how to cook?
My mom.
8.  I’m coming to you for dinner, what is your signature dish?
I can’t say that I really have a signature dish, I go through stages of “specialities” but if I really had to say just one thing – cupcakes so I guess you won’t be enjoying a very nutritious dinner here then.
9.  What is your guilty food pleasure?
Hmm, depends on my mood but it would definitely be something savoury and no doubt something unhealthy like crisps.

 10. Reveal something about yourself that others would be surprised to learn?

I could never kill to eat, not even a fish or a chicken.  Bit of a double standard possibly, but I am more than grateful to only see the end result in the butchers fridge.
Lastly I meant to pay this forward to 5 other food bloggers.  I have noticed so many of my fellow bloggers in the past weeks take part in this questionnaire, so ask those who have not taken part, to copy and paste these questions and share your answers.
🙂 Mandy
52 thoughts on “Food Bloggers Unplugged Questionnaire

  1. Wonderful fun-share-forward… is your cookbook on the American shelves anywhere yet?
    Bless You…

    Though I grew up at least partially on my grandparents farm, and partook in several hog killings every winter (that produced awesome home-prepared food supplies sparsely found these days anywhere else)…and was good enough a marksman to shame my uncles who intended to make me a hunter, I too can’t kill something, even with the intent to take it as meat…though, I certainly could if it were a necessity.

    I can catch and clean fish though…

    My uncles and stepbrother who hunted for sport yearly under the guise that it was for meat, were all happy when I stopped going with them. Apparently it is rather embarrassing for hunters to be out shot by someone who was sick all the way home.

    • Hi Paul, I will have an e-book version available this week! Oh, I do hope still this week!
      Strange thing is I can catch a fish no problem, and I always do the scaling, gutting and filleting but that part between catching and cleaning (the killing), I cannot do – I have to turn away and think of warm and fuzzy things while my hubby takes care of that side of business for me.
      I can imagine your family’s relief when you announced that you won’t be partaking anymore. 😉
      Have a super week ahead. 🙂

  2. I have always wanted to go to Mauritius. I did land there once on my way back from South Africa but we weren’t allowed off the plane. It looked so beautiful from the air. Great to get to know more about you, Mandy.

  3. Your responses were wonderful, Mandy, and I agree with you. It would be fascinating to sit at Celi’s table, wouldn’t it? You, much like your blog, have been a delight to get to know. And your mustard recipe has made me a hero, of sorts, among some friends! 🙂 Thank you for it all!

    • Hi John, thank you for your very kind words. Wonder if we can all just book our flights and head over to Celi’s for a few days – we could always help with the daily work load to help pay for our supper. 😀 Oh yes, the mustard is delicious – so are you the kind of hero now that wears a cape and the like or just a regular hero? Have a super day. 🙂

    • Hi Sue, living there is quite different to being on holiday. Don’t get me wrong, we enjoyed our time there but it is very third world, extremely expensive and availability of fresh produce (although improving now) was quite a luxury. The part I really battled with was seeing all of the animals running around covered in mange and sores and were literally skin and bone – I have HUGE issues with things like that! I was in tears so often over seeing the dogs and cats literally dying on the side of the road. On the upside, 2 little “feral” cats found their way into our garden and hearts and we brought them home with us. 😀 Although our other cat was not very happy about the whole deal. Have a super day. 🙂 PS. Don’t think my subscription thingy worked on your blog – will try again now. 🙂

  4. Congrats on this award, and so fun to read more about you, Mandy. I agree wholeheartedly about Celi’s table at the farmy and the wonderful legacy of cooking that moms provide. Now I must get to those awards…it may take me a little while, too, so forgive me! 🙂 Have a great day!

  5. So that’s where you get your secret stash of recipes;) I think it’s awesome that you gave a “shout-out” to your mom, you’re so right on that one!! Our moms are (often) such an inspiration!

  6. A delightful read in every way! I say many thanks to your mom too, since she helped shape this wonderful Mandy I so enjoy getting to ‘visit’ here!!
    🙂
    Kathryn

    • Kathryn, thank you so much for your very kind love filled words! I am going to share your comment with my mom right now as we are still here visiting until tomorrow. She will be delighted. Have a super weekend. 🙂

  7. Pingback: Life When You’re Married to a Food Blogger + Q&A with Your Favorite Bowl Scraper | Fifteen Spatulas

Don't be shy, leave a reply. :-)

