Chicken Livers in Port and Crème Fraiche

This is super quick, easy and tasty lunch or great appetiser for dinner guests.  You can jazz it up with herbs or leave it plain perched on top of some salad leaves.  If you are feeling adventurous you could add some Melba toast on the side too.

Chicken Livers in Port and Crème Fraiche

 

Ingredients

250g chicken livers
15ml port
1 large garlic clove crushed
3 tbsp crème fraiche
Salt and fresh ground black pepper
Salad leaves

Method

  1. Fry the livers in a little olive oil over a medium heat until browned and cooked through.
  2. Add the port and garlic and stir through.
  3. Add the crème fraiche, stir through and place on top of salad leaves to serve.
42 thoughts on “Chicken Livers in Port and Crème Fraiche

    • Great minds Tandy. Have a super afternoon. I was hoping to do my ABC’s this afternoon but we were in town the whole morning and off to Plett for the night tomorrow night and have people staying Thursday evening so might only get to it the weekend. 🙂 xo

    • Hi Pink, thanks so much – I have just realised that I don’t get your updates anymore! And now I see that your link gives me an error 404 (whatever that means). All well this side thanks, hope all is well with you too. Please let me know if I need to resubscribe or send me a new link. Thanks! Have a super day. 🙂

  1. It’s been ages since I’ve had chicken livers, Mandy, and your recipe here has me wanting them. There’s nothing complicated about this recipe and I can easily see how each of its few ingredients adds something to the final dish. I need to put chicken livers on my grocery list. Thanks, Mandy!

    • Hi John, these livers are a must make so I am pleased you have added them to your grocery list. I keep a tub in the freezer just in case I feel like them on the spur of the moment. Have a super week. 🙂

  2. I’m not sure that I’ve ever had chicken livers before. The recipe sounds really good. Now I just have to get over my fear of liver. 😉

  3. Your chicken livers look absolutely wonderful. My mother loves them so I can’t wait to show her your recipe.. its a little different than hers but I think she will love it.

    • Thankfully both my hubby and I enjoy livers Tricia. I have noticed chicken livers being incorporated more and more in restaurant menus and quite often of late in breakfast menus. Have a super day. 🙂

  4. I’ll bet this dish is terrific. It reminds me of the flavors in a chicken liver pate that a local restaurant makes with the port and the cream. A really enticing recipe, Mandy, thanks for posting!

  5. I’ve never cooked up a batch of chicken livers, this looks so freshly done up.. I wonder if just pieces of dark chicken meat (say thighs) would work? I love the flavors you’ve used.

  6. I love chicken livers and this looks yum, if I don’t have port could I use something else instead?

  7. slight variation folks…pan fry the chicken livers with whole chestnut mushrooms…flash with brandy…add cream or CF…serve on a bed of rice stir fried with a variety of broad beans, french beans, peas and red peppers and toasted pine nuts sprinkled on top x

Don't be shy, leave a reply. :-)

