Poaching an Egg

I have read SO many different and conflicting ways on how to poach an egg that I got terribly confused by the whole idea.  I thought the whirlpool option would be best so set to poaching my first egg – d i s a s t e r – there were egg white ribbons everywhere with a lonesome little yolk all by itself.  I should possibly have made a “calmer” whirlpool but was put off by this method.  I shall not bore you with the insurmountable ways there are to poach and egg, rather I shall show you how I was successful after a few attempts at the various methods.

I am of the opinion that the fresher your egg the better as the older the egg gets, the runnier the white will become.

Poaching and Egg

In a saucepan, bring water to a gentle rolling boil and add a teaspoon or two of vinegar if you like – “they” say the acidity in the vinegar helps the protein in the egg white coagulate so it hugs nicely around the yolk.  I have tried with and without with pretty much the same result.

For ease of getting the egg into the boiling water I cracked it into a Tupperware measuring cup which has a smooth rounded lip.  I gently and slowly submerged the tip of the measuring cup into the water and tipped the egg out into the water.

I let the egg poach for two and a half minutes and removed it with a slotted spoon.

Gently place the egg on a piece of kitchen towel or stale bread to absorb the excess liquid followed by some freshly ground black pepper and sprinkling of salt and voila you have the perfect poached egg.

Watch this space for my version of Eggs Benedict…

64 thoughts on “Poaching an Egg

  1. “Perfect,” is right! A poached egg brings so much to a dish. I’ve tried every suggestion that you’ve tried and frankly, I’ve never noticed much difference between the resultant eggs. I’ve never tried a measuring scoop, though — but I will next time, Thanks, Mandy!

  2. I’ve tried them all to I think…and to be honest…I LOVED them all… 3.3 minutes… regardless of vinegar, ladles, egg traps, parfait, or ramekin bowls…Seems to me some of that loose ribbon trail crap needs to be …left in the pot anyway.,. Just as long as the English Muffin ain’t burned, and the lemony Hollandaise covers the Canadian Bacon… I’m good…

  3. Look at that gorgeous yellow yolk!!! I typically leave the egg poaching to my dad–can you believe I’ve yet to try the technique? I don’t eat eggs very often, so that’s part of the reason, but I’m a bit scared I’ll completely fail too, ha!

  4. Such a good thing to share… I have never quite managed to successfully poach an egg, and don’t like the flavour or texture either… but you have simplified it for me, so I will give it another try! Thank you.

  5. You have no idea how much I appreciated this post Mandy. I have never figured out how to do that and quite honestly have been too nervous to try. Your step-by-step is awesome! Now I can surprise Mike with one of these. 🙂

  6. It’s amazing isn’t it that something so apparently simple can confound us! I think we each find our own way, I follow your steps, but turn the heat off and put a lid on the pan, and leave for 4 mins. But the outcome is the same – a perfect runny poached egg. Now where is that hot buttered toast…..

  7. That’s one pretty egg, Mandy. Can’t wait for the Benedict recipe. It’s one of my husband’s faves and I’d love to make it for him now that I know how to poach an egg! Have a great day!

  8. One of the absolute comfort foods in the universe, if you ask me. Using the scoop for immersing the raw egg is a stroke of genius–just the tool for the task! If you’ve never tried it before, poaching an egg in whole milk or even cream, with a little nutmeg, gives you the poached egg version of eggnog, if you’re a fan of it like I am (I often make breakfast by way of a fresh double-egg nog, just because I love eggnog so much and get my egg protein fast that way). But I love savory eggs just about any time too. One of my must-have ingredients altogether. Maybe I’d better think about whether I should keep some chickens out back . . . 🙂

    • Poaching an egg in cream – YES PLEASE!!! Oh, what a fantastic idea Kathryn. I will definitely be giving that a try soon! I would also love to keep a couple of chicken although my fur children (read cats) would not approve! Have a beautiful weekend. 🙂

  9. Thank you for the pictorial – I have always wanted to learn this 🙂

    Cheers
    Choc Chip Uru
    Latest: Lemon Polenta Raisin Cookies + Tropical Mini Yoghurt Berry Bundts

  10. This is GREAT tutorial Mandy! I love your blue measuring cup that’s a good angle to dip in the water! I know it’s totally worth it. 🙂

  11. Pingback: Citrus Caramelized Leeks Over Grilled Salmon | sportsglutton

  12. Looks brilliant! I love poached eggs but our poaching pan is horrible, the eggs get stuck in the little cup things and it’s far too much work to clean it. Mr T is the king of eggs and has perfected the “fried egg” – not too greasy and cooked just right. Tomorrow he’s going to try your poached egg method and we’ll let you know how he gets on!

Don't be shy, leave a reply. :-)

