Honey Cake

I have had this recipe typed and printed for what feels like an eon but for some peculiar reason have not noted (very strange for me) where I got it from!  Please let me know if this recipe is yours as I would really like to give credit where credit is due.  I am positive I will remember when you remind me.  Update:  The mystery has been solved, I originally got this from Linda over at Fired UP Cooking SA.  Thanks Linda!

This cake is perfect served with a scoop of ice cream or custard and a nice strong cup of coffee and makes for the easiest dessert for after dinner with family  and friends.  The crumb is lovely and light and super soft and spongy.  I do not enjoy raw honey so was a little sceptical about enjoying this – well, it is scrumptious!  It may have something to do with heating the honey or I might just be growing out of not being able to eat raw honey – either way, I could comfortably enjoy two servings for pudding.

Honey Cake

Ingredients

1 cup self raising flour
½ cup sugar – I used brown
½ tsp salt
½ cup milk
1 egg
3 tbsp butter meldted

Sauce

1tbsp butter
3 tbsp honey

Method

  1. Preheat the oven to 180°C.
  2. Grease a small pie dish.
  3. Place all of the incredients into a mixing bowl and stir together with a wire whisk for 20 seconds until thick and creamy.
  4. Pour the mixture into the prepared pie dish and bake for 20-25 minutes.
  5. While the cake is baking, melt the sauce ingredients together.
  6. Prick the cake all over and pour the sauce over.
  7. Serve warm or cold with ice cream or custard.
81 thoughts on “Honey Cake

  1. I have so many recipes that I never copied their origin. Of course, once I started my blog I started recording the source but that isn’t much good for most of the recipes on file. The cake recipe you’ve shared today is easy to make with ingredients we all have on hand. It’s the butter-honey syrup that makes it special, I bet. Yum!

    • Hi John, must say I usually always make note so not sure what happened with this recipe UNLESS I had a brainwave and typed up this recipe and then forgot how brilliant I am – hee hee. The butter-honey syrup is definitely the secret weapon here – I do hope you make it soon. Have a super week. :-)

  2. Very easy and short list of ingredients yet this is so fluffy and delicious! I’d love to have it with vanilla ice cream… perfect end of meal!

  3. Hey, that’s my recipe!! Lol, just kidding.. more like, wow.. I wish I had that recipe.. just my idea of the perfect cake.. so few ingredients and it turns out with that pretty crumb.. it would be awesome for a girl’s coffee!

  4. Mandy this looks divine! I love these beautiful little cakes that don’t take too much fuss but taste like it was a huge project. :) I will absolutely be adding this one to my list of baked goods. Have a wonderful week!

  5. A gorgeously styled picture of a really lovely sounding cake. I’ve never tried honey cake for the reasons you stated above, but with these ingredients and used as a sauce, I can almost taste how good it is by looking at the picture!

  6. I love a simple cake much more that one topped with a thick layer of way too sweet icing. There is so many things you to do with it…macerated fruit, ice cream, etc.

  7. I think this may be the perfect springtime cake to serve with fresh berries and a cup of tea. The honey-butter sauce sounds like it really makes the finished cake special.

    Thank you for sharing the recipe!
    Allison

Don't be shy, leave a reply. :-)

