Lamb Casserole

We recently had 3 days of solid rain which dropped our lovely temperatures quite a lot, which in turn set in quite a large urge for a hearty meal and a tomato based lamb casserole was right on the top of my list.Β  This is one of those meals that is even nicer the next day and freezers very well too.

Lamb Casserole

Ingredients

1kg lamb cut up -I used the “offcuts” from the half lamb be bought late last year
80ml flour
5ml salt
5ml black pepper
7.5ml cumin seeds
7.5ml dried thyme
2 medium onions sliced
1 litre lamb/beef stock
115g tin tomato paste
15ml brown sugar
4 potatoes peeled chopped
3 carrots scraped and chopped

Method

  1. Combine the flour, salt, pepper, cumin and thyme in a bag and add the lamb.Β  Shake the bag about to coat the lamb in the flour mixture.
  2. Seal and brown the lamb in batches in a little olive oil in a pot over a medium heat and set aside.
  3. Fry the onions and add the meat back to the pot.
  4. Add the stock, tomato paste, sugar and stir to combine, cover and allow to simmer over a low heat for approximately 1 hour or longer until the meat is tender.
  5. Add the potatoes and carrots and simmer for a further 30 to 40 minutes until the vegetables are cooked through.
  6. If the sauce is a little thin, thicken with a small amount of cornstarch mixed with water.
61 thoughts on “Lamb Casserole

  1. This sounds delicious, Mandy, and perfect for the wet weather you’re having. I bet your kitchen smelled wonderful with this casserole in the oven.

  2. I know what you mean about rain! We’ve had no end of it here for about 18 months and we live in a city that prior to this has been used to drought for 10 years – it’s been quite an adjustment. I love lamb caserole and yes, it is a great hearty meal for when you need some comfort food. I think the addition of cumin in it would have added lovely flavours xx

    • Think I could happily follow the sun and summer all year around – with a bit or rain thrown in on the side just for good measure. The cumin was a lovely addition – one I don’t usually add, but thoroughly enjoyed it. Have a super day Charlie. πŸ™‚

  3. That looks perfect for our spring weather as well. No rain but cold and windy days, Love the addition of the cumin seeds and the sugar. It really must enhance the flavor.

    • It’s just teasing us Tandy, today and tomorrow are hot which makes me happy but then from Saturday there is a cold front and sadly I think with it will stay the winter temperatures. Have a super day. πŸ™‚

  4. My son made lamb chops last night.. I’ve been craving lamb lately, perhaps it’s our weather as well.. I’m glad you felt inspired to post such a heart-warming recipe, mandy!

  5. I adore lamb but have never made it in a casserole! I’m loving this idea! I’m also excited that I will be moving to an area with seasons!! which means chilly weather! I’ll have to save this one for one of those days!

  6. I adore lamb but have never used it in a casserole! I’m loving this idea and have another reason to get excited about my move as I’ll be in an area with seasons!! Which means chilly weather at times!! I have to remember this recipe for one of those days!

    • How I would love to share a comforting meal like this with you dear Kim! Our fur babies are fabulous – doing what they do best and sleeping. Have a beautiful weekend friend. πŸ™‚ xo

  7. That is beautiful!! I am ashamed to admit I’ve never tried lamb, but the ingredients in this have my name written all over them. This will be the recipe that makes me attempt to cook lamb. Yum! And a fantastic picture…wow…

    Thank you for sharing this!

  8. Jess and I made this last week and it was absolutely delicious, thanks! Dave loved it and the lamb was really tender. Huggs Mands

  9. Too bad my spouse doesn’t understand and embrace the loveliness of lamb. Me, I like it enough to prepare it for myself and give him something else, so this may well get cooked here anyway! πŸ™‚

Don't be shy, leave a reply. :-)

