Cancer Shavathon

For the last couple of years Dad and Pete have been wanting to shave their heads together in support of cancer and this year, the timing was perfect as they were in the same town at the same time to do it together when it was the CANSA Shavathon weekend – the week we flew up for Mom’s birthday.Β  I was eager to capture the whole thing on camera but in my eagerness (and being new to the real camera thing) kind-of chose the wrong settings – no matter as the essence of what they were doing was still captured and the whole experience was very moving.Β  Mom reckons she will brave it and do it next year too! πŸ˜€

The Cheshire Cat Before Smile


The Cheshire Cat After Smile

I really wish I took the opportunity to chat to this lady more.Β  I got extremely emotional watching her have her ponytail cut off and head shaved.Β Β  It seems to beΒ  much more radical for a woman to do somehow – not that it should.Β  I remember her saying that had waited 3 years to be able to do this – I just wish I had asked why. The elation on her face having her head shaved was remarkable – almost as if a weight had been lifted from her shoulders and her heart.Β  I can only wonder if she was a cancer survivor or somebody else in her life.

46 thoughts on “Cancer Shavathon

  1. Inspirational! My 2 grandsons and I did it 18 months ago with a friend who was diagnosed with stage 4 bone cancer and was undergoing chemo. We promised to shave when her hair started falling out. I think the shavathon is a wonderful thing to do to support cancer sufferers and survivors! On a personal level I also found it quite liberating! πŸ˜‰ xx

      • Thank you. My facebook profile pic and this avatar I use were taken about 6 weeks after the shaving when my hair was a little longer than bum fluff hehe. The beautiful part of the story is that our friend is now in full remission with not one hot spot in her body. She had her chemo port removed last week and has a stunning head of hair again. Even better than it was prior to the chemo πŸ™‚ xx

  2. What a wonderful and brave action to take for society πŸ™‚
    Raising awareness for something so worthy! We (as in the world) are all proud πŸ˜€

    Cheers
    Choc Chip Uru

  3. What a wonderful thing these 2 men in your life did, Mandy, both moving and inspiring at same time. You say you didn’t use the correct settings for the photos. Frankly, I’m surprised you could take any pictures at all. I’m not sure I could. πŸ™‚

  4. Am sitting here feeling very emotional. A good friend of mine is at this very moment sitting in Malaga hospital having her third chemo session for breast cancer. They think they got it early and itΒ΄s all going well but I know for her one of the difficult things to deal with was losing her hair – and she said she knows itΒ΄s silly to feel so stressed out about this when there is so much more to worry about, but I can understand. Well done to all who participated to raise awareness and funds to try to find a cure for this disease which touches so many.

    • Don’t think I could shave my hair off either Charlie – although there are other alternatives – for a donation, you can have your hair sprayed with stencils or even have a hair extension put in – still goes to show your support of this great cause. Have a super week. πŸ™‚

  5. Wow! That’s incredible Mandy, I never hear of the shavathon, but it is a beautiful gesture… And it’s true that it seems so radical for a woman to do this, but that just makes her braver and her ponytail will help to make a beautiful wig for someone who may need it. Your men look very handsome and happy πŸ™‚

    • Such a pity the Shavathon is not a world wide event Giovanna – although they do say that people can do it “privately” as it were and donate the money and hair if it is long enough to make wigs. Have a lovely week. πŸ™‚

  6. What a moving post and event. We’ve had our family touched by cancer more than once, and I think the events that support research and survivors, as well as the people that participate are so inspiring. You’re photos are wonderful, Mandy, and cheers to your dad and Pete.

    • Thanks Betsy for your lovely words. Sadly I think every, or certainly most families are affected by cancer! Depending on where Pete and I are in the world next year, I would love to volunteer. Have a beautiful day. πŸ™‚ xo

  7. This is just an amazing cause. I admire everyone who gets involved. And I love that the woman shaved her head. I’ve seen courageous women do this before and every-time it makes them even more beautiful

  8. My family participates in something similar every year too. Mike was just shaved bald in March with my dad. πŸ™‚ Mr. N wasn’t quite ready to give up his hair yet. And we also saw a young teen (girl) get hers shaved as well. Like you said, there is something more amazing when women do it. I was particularly impressed as she was a high schooler. Far braver than I was at that age!

    • How awesome that you family takes part in something so special Kristy. I wonder if Mr N will be up for it next year? Kudos to the young teenager, she is much braver than I will ever be to do that! have a super day. πŸ™‚

  9. Wow, what an amazing thing to do for such a great cause. I chopped my hair off and donated about 8 inches last year, but I don’t know if I could go totally without it.

  10. Well, the gents look mighty handsome and the lady looks very elegant indeed, so it’s hardly a pity they’ve cut off their hair. But I’m with you and all of the others in saying it’s a deep sorrow that there’s any such Cause for shaving it all off, so I say, Good on them all for contributing to the cause, and may we all do whatever we can to eradicate illness and disease of any sort, especially something as devastating as cancer. Our nephew will have his ten-year wellness check this coming month, and the other family members who have had cancers have all caught them in time for continued good health after treatment, so we know how much it matters. I assume the lady ‘waited’ so she could grow enough to donate the hair for wigs, which I know people who do regularly–another great contribution.

    Me, I’m married to a handsome shaved-head guy who keeps my hair cut fairly short, so if we’re to participate it’ll surely have to be with me getting a full shave. I wonder what *is* under my little brown-and-grey nest . . . ??? πŸ˜‰ Richard gets to decide, though: as my ‘beautician’ and the only person who spends extended time looking at me, he gets to determine style, length, color, etc. πŸ™‚ Kathryn

    • What wonderful news to hear of your nephews ten-year wellness and equally as wonderful that the other members of your family are all in good health. πŸ˜€ It would have been wonderful if the lady did wait 3 years to have her hair long enough to donate – I really would love to hear her story.
      I bet your Richard would support you in shaving your head for such a worth cause. You would look sensational! Have a special love filled day Kathryn. πŸ™‚ xo

Don't be shy, leave a reply. :-)

