In My Kitchen – May 2012

In My Kitchen – May 2012

Doing these In My Kitchen posts has made me realise how quickly the month’s fly by and also how many fun things I always have to share with you all.

In my kitchen…

Is a Mauritius keyring which our housekeeper from the island sent for me with friends that came to visit – very special!

In my kitchen…

Is a bowl of freshly harvested peppadews.  Think I will be making some peppadew chutney.

In my kitchen…

Is a bowl of freshly harvested chillies.  Not sure what to do with all of these – think I will keep them in the freezer until I decide.


In my kitchen…

Is the coolest pressie from my mom – a milk frother, which I really can’t resist using every single day.

In my kitchen…

Seeing that my new milk frother gadget works so well, I hauled out my good old faithful coffee filter machine – so cappuccinos are the order of the morning while reading my emails.

In my kitchen…

Is the most awesome sugar spoon that was moulded using an old South African 1c piece from 1961 – the year Pete was born.

What’s in your kitchen this month?  Please remember to link back to Celia’s blog Fig Jam and Lime Cordial if you partake in the fun.

53 thoughts on “In My Kitchen – May 2012

  1. Thanks, Mandy, for another glimpse into your kitchen. Of today’s “exhibit”, iI think I like the spoon best. Old coins have always fascinated me. 🙂

    • Chilli jam is a grand idea Sue. BTW, my Pete surprised me with a 60mm Cannon macro lens! Talk about being spoilt! Have no idea how to work it yet but will get there. He got it at Makro for the price of a 50mm macro lens! They marked it incorrectly because according to them they don’t stock the 60mm lens – might be worth your while to go to your Makro branch and see if you can get it right too! 😀 Have a super evening. 🙂

  2. Hi Mandy
    Wow that spoon is so wonderful, you are very lucky.
    What are peppadews? i have never heard of them. Are they like mini capsicums?

  3. I, too, Love the spoon. And the peppers- especially the peppadew- although I would braid those chilis up with a fine twine and have them drying out whilst hanging up and decorating a corner of my kitchen. Garlic and chilis always make my fingers itch to make them into decorative (and tasty) chains!
    Thanks for the culinary (and otherwise) tour of your kitchen. I truly love this series of posts!

    • Hi Heidi, hope your last month has been a good and happy one. I think the braiding of the chillies is an excellent idea and would make a great gift too! I will pop over to see what is in your kitchen this month. Have a super day. 🙂

  4. Mandy, look at all those chillies! Are the peppadews hot? We love our little milk frother as well, and Small Man uses it everyday to make hot chocolate. The key ring is lovely – must be wonderful to have another reminder of your time there – and the sugar spoon is very special indeed! Thanks for sharing your kitchen with us this month! x

    • The peppadews are fairly hot – hmm, probably a 6 out of 10 on the heat scale, well according to my palette. 😉 Not sure what I did before my milk frother, it really transforms a good cup of coffee. Have a super day. 🙂

  5. ~~~~i would def use the milk frother!!

    i adore your kitchen, Sweet Mandy ❤ Xxxx

    • Hi Norma, the frother is great for beating eggs, mixing crepe batter and making milkshakes. I am sure there are loads of other uses too. Thanks for stopping by again. Have a super day. 🙂

  6. Brilliant pictures, very professional…..I’m off to read more of your blog. Thanks for sharing, Lee (www.thebeachhousekitchen.wordpress.com) PS – Nice spoon!

  7. I do love these posts too. You always feature the coolest gadgets. The milk frother looks like a ton of fun! And I love the key ring. 🙂

  8. I think I’m going to snap some photos inside my kitchen and take part in this fun project.
    Fingers crossed I remember to do it every month

    p.s. love the sugar spoon

  9. Beautiful Chiles, I highly suggest roasting them before freezing. I’ve been doing that lately and the flavor can’t be beat. Great pics, thanks for sharing.

  10. Lovely to peep into your kitchen. Homemade chilli sauce would be my suggestion for all those wonderful chillies. I must do an ‘in my kitchen’ too as I haven’t joined for a long time (yes – where did the time go?!)

  11. Mandy–It’s so nice that even a pepper guy stopped by your blog on peppadew day! I saw a peppadew recipe and I thought of you. It makes me hopeful that someday I will actually find some of these delights in a supermarket near me.
    – Michael

  12. So… Mandy, it can’t have been a month?? Really?? It seems like I’ve read your In My Kitchen post just yesterday! *sigh* soon it will be summer and life will slow down, right? Love your kitchen today, I look forwrd to your peppadew recipes since I have no clue what those are and wonder what they could be turned into.. and I love the sugar spoon.. that is so cool!! Pennies have been recently discontinued in Canada, so maybe I should start making this.. I could get rich!! xoxo Smidge

    • The months are literally flying by Smidge – can’t believe we are approaching mid year already! We are heading into winter so maybe I could hibernate to slow things down a bit. That sounds like a stellar idea. Have a super day and here’s to you getting rich on penny spoons. 🙂 xo

Don't be shy, leave a reply. :-)

