In My Kitchen – August 2012

In My Kitchen – August 2012

I think I may have missed quite a few of your IMK posts last month due to the internet problems we were having, if so, sorry about that.  I am crossing fingers and holding thumbs that the cold weather will soon be behind us as come next month it will officially be Spring – YAY!  So let’s get straight into what’s in my kitchen this month.

In my kitchen…

Is a lovely gift from my ever loving Pete.  He brought home some much loved Vanilla from Mauritius – I know, can you believe he went back without me.  I could at least have kept the beach company while he was in meetings.  I have only ever lived there so would love to experience it from a tourists perspective.

In my kitchen…

Is another scrumity pressie from my Pete, a touch of sea salt Lindt dark chocolate.

In my kitchen…

Is a photo of Pete and I from our wedding day.  I should probably put it into a nicer frame.

In my kitchen…

Are 3 new icing nozzles, which I have been wanting for the longest time.

In my kitchen…

Is a second icing bag.  The other one I bought works so well that I thought it best to buy it a friend to chat to in the cupboard.

In my kitchen…

Thanks to my genius husband are 2 homemade serving rings.  I have been trying to buy a set for quite some time now and they are either pathetically expensive (quite insulting to my intelligence) or they are cheap and nasty.  Pete took two stainless steel cups and cut off the bottoms – perfect!  So much better than my makeshift job of using a tuna can or the likes.

What’s in your kitchen this month?  Please remember to link back to Celia’s blog Fig Jam and Lime Cordial if you partake in the fun.

64 thoughts on “In My Kitchen – August 2012

  1. Oh Mandy, your wedding photo is so nice! I agree with you about looking forward to the weather change. The heat for us and the cold for you are almost over! Yay!

  2. I just love your wedding photo. You were a stunning bride. What a gorgeous dress and you wear it well. Your husband sounds very special. I have never been to Mauritius but would love to go there. I’ve heard it’s stunning xx

    • Thanks Charlie! My mom made my wedding dress. 😀 My Pete is an incredible man! I am sure you would enjoy Mauritius. I have just put a booklet together with a few photos of our time there – just waiting for Pete to give it the once over before I share it with everybody. Have a super day. 🙂

  3. Your wedding photo is a knock-out! I love that your mother made your dress.
    And your vanilla and chocolate are wonderful gifts- your husband may have gone without you- but he brought you back fitting tributes that he thought of you whilst away!
    I feel the same way about decorating tips- I can’t go by them in the cooking stores without buying at least one more.
    Thanks for sharing- I enjoyed the visit in your kitchen.

  4. wow, that is one of the sexiest wedding photos i have ever seen.. how beautiful you two are together.. and also chocolate with a touch of salt is FANTASTIC.. c

  5. I was just knocked out by your wedding photo…so beautiful and so clearly in love and happy! Yes, it deserves a better frame, but it’s the photo that counts! 🙂 Love that chocolate with the sea salt.

  6. The wedding picture is amazing, I love it! I didn’t even notice the frame, to be honest, the picture is just too pretty 🙂

    So many fun things here Mandy, I’m partial to that Lindt Sea Salt bar, I’m addicted to those! Have you tried the one with chili pepper? So yummy. I’d love to try the icing tips, I always think I’d love to try cake decorating. Great post!

  7. Mandy, what a gorgeous wedding photo! Just lovely, thank you for sharing that with us! Your Pete is just the nicest man, bringing you back all that treasure and making rings for you. Look forward to seeing what you do with them! And I only ever use disposable piping bags – how on earth do you get the cloth ones clean? 🙂

    • Hi Celia, I am new to the whole piping bag thing but the 2 I have, have a plastic coating on the inside which I must say makes for really easy cleaning – well so far anyway. The serving rings are great fun and I use them even when I’m on my own for rice, mashed potatoes, couscous and even stacking veggies. Have a lovely day. 🙂

  8. As much as I love these glimpses into your kitchen, Mandy, your wedding photo stole the show. You looked simply gorgeous in your dress and that picture is truly beautiful. I look forward to seeing more photos from that special day. And I promise to remain more focused when next you give us a glimpse into your kitchen. 😉

    • I like the way you think Jed – a necessary treat – think I shall refer to my chocolate as such moving forward! I look forward to reading about what SA wine you did a review on. Have an awesome day. 🙂

  9. love love love the photo of you and Peter. You are both VERY beautiful.

    So beautiful that I did not notice the frame.

    Ohhh, & I adore sea salt Lindt dark chocolate….it is like eating heaven. xxx

  10. Just love your wedding day photo! And we tried the same chocolate a while ago, it does split oppinions! Have you tried the one with Wasabi yet? That’s also another oppinion splitter !!

  11. Mandiferous! You looked sooo beautiful on your wedding day and yes that gorgeous picture deserves a stunning frame! My fave Lindt at the moment is Intense blueberry, it used to be the Chilli one but then I ate too much and ugh! I put some vanilla sticks in the container when we shipped everything over and I have stuck all 5 of them in my sugar jar, it makes the sugar all vanilla-ery flavoured.

  12. Well.. I must concur.. your wedding photo blew me away!! My gosh it should be graced with a beautiful frame to go with the lovelies that are in it! I have to say.. new icing tips get me excited as well, I guess that’s why we’re food writers:D xx Smidge
    ps Love that word “scrumity”.. may I use it one day?? xx

  13. I love that sea salt chocolate. And how lovely to have a wedding photo in the kitchen. Those serving rings are clever, but tuna fish tins have their uses too — I like to use them as crumpet rings!

  14. Ohhhhh you look gorgeous in your wedding gown! Love that picture… and yes you should put it in a special nice frame because that’s a great shot, too! 😉 And I will have to look for sea salt flavor of Lindt dark chocolate. I know I’ll be addicted to it already!

Don't be shy, leave a reply. :-)

