Win a Copy of my Cook Book

Christmas lunch this year is being hosted at my folks place here at the River which basically means Mom is responsible for the menu; Starter, Mains and Dessert.  Nothing out of the ordinary there, but as it goes, we tend to gravitate to the same types of dishes every year.  This year with the aunts, uncles, cousins and little ones, it seems the final count will be 20 adults and 10 children.

The last time Christmas lunch hosted at my folks place was 4 years ago while Pete and I were still living in Mauritius so we missed out on:

Starters:
Mock crayfish cocktail
Mains:
Beef fillet with a brandy and cream sauce served on blanched baby marrow
and carrot match sticks with crispy roasted potatoes
Dessert:
Individual crème brûlée’s & individual berry pavlova’s

This is where you come in.  

  • Submit your dream summer Christmas lunch menu in the comments section below and stand in line to win a copy of my book, “The Complete Cook Book”.
  • Entries close 30 October 2012.
  • This competition is open to everybody worldwide and Mom will be the judge and decide on the final menu entry to be used.

Entry Criteria:

  • Starter, main and dessert courses
  • Starter course must be a cold dish
  • Dessert must be able to be made in individual portions

Come 25 December we may be eating your dream summer Christmas lunch.

Good luck and looking forward to your entries. 🙂

38 thoughts on “Win a Copy of my Cook Book

  1. we always have the same Christmas lunch, starters of a platter of Italian meats such as Parma ham. Main course is crayfish – hopefully freshly caught and dessert is mince pie parcels made with phyllo pastry 🙂 Hope you get loads of entries!

  2. HI Mandy
    Either your menu is over simplified or my family are Piggies 🙂 We usually have a hot and cold selection for all courses! Not sure if there would be enough space in comments to list all salads etc?

    will give it some more thought

    Laura

    • Hi Laura, on the other years when it is not hosted at my folks – it alternates between my Mom, her brother and sister we also always have loads of different dishes, hot and cold. We really are trying hard to steer clear of that, not always easy when our family is ever growing with each person having a different favourite. I am looking forward to your entry. 😀 Have a super evening. 🙂

  3. Oh my! This IS a tough one 😉 I’m bookmarking this and will come back to you with a menu. I love that the “contest” is worlwide, btw I will love to have a copy of your book 🙂

  4. Wow.. that’s a lot of pressure:D So.. you celebrate lunch before the dinner?? This is a new tradition for those of us who live in Canada. We have a late breakfast in my family.. and a massive supper/dinner in the evening with family. xx I’m off to think!!

    • I think we have a lunch because of it being summer – oh hang on, it might also be due to the fact that we all eat far too much which necessitates a nap before we start round 2 in the evening. Super excited to get your menu entry Smidge. 🙂 xo

  5. Let’s see:

    Starter: Thick medallions of lobster on top of chilled asparagus spears with a nice remoulade.

    Main: Grilled racks of frenched lamb with cumin roasted carrots (just a hint of cumin only), baby bok choy blanched and then sauteed with butter, a bit of garlic and white wine, and, finally, crispy shoe-string potato.

    Desert: mini individual plum puddings served hot and topped with circles of brandy butter, tiny mixed berries and mint sprigs.

    Just a thought … I’ve made myself hungry now 🙂

  6. Oh dear. Is it that time already? Time to start planning for Christmas? This year is racing by. I’m hosting my father-in-law’s 80th next week and there will be 20 adults and 10 children just like your Christmas event. We always have gravlax, then turkey with a neck stuffing and a cavity stuffing with cranberry sauce and gravy, and a frozen white chocolate pudding that I’m sure you could freeze in individual portions xx

  7. Wow, congratulation on the book Mandy and good luck to your parents cooking for all those people.

    My dream Christmas meal is quite traditional and one I always look forward to. I always put a lot of effort into it too. There are always at least 9 of us with a few more if they are available. My menu for this year goes something like this:

    Arrival drinks of champagne or Home mulled wine.
    Starter of mushroom, thyme and lemon soup finished with double cream and parsley.
    Main of Traditional roast turkey, lots of roast root vegetables and potatoes, sprouts and red cabbage braised with chestnuts. Served with homemade bread sauce and gravy.
    Followed by either Christmas pudding and rum sauce, chocolate cake or cheese and biscuits with little glasses of liqueur.

    Hmmm, I am hungry now!

  8. Mabruk on the cook book. We spend Christmas with several families so our spread (including everyone’s ‘can’t have Christmas without…’ ) is enormous. Hubs loves egg and lemon soup to start, roast turkey has to have sage and onion stuffing, sprouts and parsnips a must. Always do Christmas pud and a Bouche de Noel for the dried fruit haters. Veuve Cliquot and some luscious clarets.

    • Thanks Sally! Our Christmas usually land up like this too with everybody’s favourite but this year, Mom wants to do something different. Love the idea of egg and lemon soup. Have a great day Sally. 🙂

  9. What a fun idea !! I’ve just spent a week in a country house when at its peak it had 22 of us. so cooking for large numbers is very fresh in my memory right now, and takes real planning and effort !

    So how about, something veggie and something fishy followed by something naughty !
    A vegetable terrine (or if inclined a meat terrine / pate) served with toasted bread or crackers
    Baked salmon, a classic cooked with lemon, dill and butter. Served with roasted veggies and salads
    And for pud, I’d go for traditional mini Christmas puddings served with brandy butter or cream or maybe mince pies made with filo pastry and topped with brandy butter or cream – can you see a theme developing 😉
    what ever your mum chooses I’m sure will be totally delicious !

    • Must say it is quite a task catering for such large numbers, especially when this one doesn’t eat that and the next one doesn’t eat something else and and and…
      Fantastic menu Claire, I love the idea of a veggie terrine! Thanks for your entry! Have a great day. 🙂

  10. I love summer Christmas! Whe I lived in the UK we used to hose Christmas in July just so I could have our traditional Aussie Christmas treats because it just isn’t Christmas without cherries.

    My suggestsion for a perfect Christmas dinner that would cater for lots and different tastes as well would be:
    Starters – a coupple of different terrines – Pork and Chicken studded with dried cranberries and whole pistachios, and maybe smoked salmon one or a vegetable one with lots of beautiful early summer vegetables
    Mains – whole poached ocean trout and for the non-fish eaters (I am married to one) a whole turkey buffet or whole leg ham shiny glazed with marmalade and patterned with cloves. All of these can be served hot or cold, depending on the weather and I just change the accompaniments to salads if it is a sweltering 30+ day or roasties if it is a “canberra summer” day
    Dessert: Pudding of course but not hot, heavy plum pudding (although I love this too at the right time) but beautiful summer puddings using all those gorgeous summer berries and ice cream puddings using macerated glaced fruits and spices.

    I think the most I have served with this menu has been around 40 and so much can be done ahead that you don’t get completely exhausted on the big day. Hope you have a wonderful family celebration.

    • Hi Lindel, thanks for stopping by and giving us your fabulous menu. Not sure I would be brave enough to cater for 40 with such an extravagant menu. Hmm, I could go some plum pudding now. Have a super weekend. 🙂

Don't be shy, leave a reply. :-)

