Lemon Rosemary Balsamic Chicken

When Pete is away on business, knowing that I am going to get the proverbial suckers on my butt and not leave the computer for most of the day but still wanting a tasty dinner without the hassle of an actual recipe or having to plan and prep in advance, I head to the kitchen to make a cuppa and see what the cupboard has to offer in the way of flavour.  I find chicken is the safest to experiment with and generally you can’t go wrong with throwing a few ingredients at it and bunging it in the oven until it is cooked. So… Lemon Rosemary Balsamic Chicken was born.  I didn’t measure anything – you will have to be guided by the amount of chicken you are cooking and by taste.

Lemon Rosemary Balsamic Chicken

Ingredients

Chicken portions
Lemon – mine was from the garden
Rosemary sprig – mine was from the garden
Balsamic vinegar
Black pepper
Coarse Salt

Method

  1. Preheat the oven to 180°C.
  2. Place the chicken in an oven proof dish and squeeze over some lemon juice.
  3. Place pieces of rosemary over the chicken and splash over with a good glug of balsamic.
  4. Grind pepper and salt over the top and bake for approximately 45 minutes until cooked through.
  5. Serve drizzled with the sauce and a side of roast spuddies and veggies.
56 thoughts on “Lemon Rosemary Balsamic Chicken

  1. Just lovely looking and so straightforward. I wish we could get decent Balsamic … I have tasted a few really nice ones but the usual ones in our store are not very good 😦

    • Thanks Judy! When we were living in Mauritius, meat was frightfully expensive and not readily available so chicken was on the menu more often than not – my hubby thought he was going to start clucking from eating so much of it, me on the other hand, don’t think I could ever tire of chicken. Have a super day. 🙂

  2. I love experiments like this Mandy ! When I used to work away from home and stay in a rented flat I would often cook Chicken as I could eek it out for a few meals and do it differently each time, but roasted is my favourite and the next time I prepare a chook I will have to try a dash of balsamic vinegar – a great tip !

    • Hi Claire, chicken is such a versatile protein and so easy to work with, kind of fail proof. 😀 Hope you enjoy the plash of balsamic. What a pity you had to rent a flat and not stay in a hotel when you were working away from home. Have a super day. 🙂

  3. Thank you for this one Mandy. It comes in very handy for me these days, as I’m trying to take care of some health problems by choosing better things to eat. I happen to love chicken, and any new way to eat it right now is very welcome. This looks so good!

  4. Hahahaha!!! I’ve never heard that expression but I love it! “Proverbial suckers on my butt”. I can so identify! This looks so delicious Mandy, one of my fave ways to eat chicken.

  5. Oh yum! That looks so delicious, Mandy. I think those flavours would work brilliantly together. I have a recipe I often make (because it’s quick, easy and the chicken just gets thrown in the oven while i can get on with other things!) and it is with red wine vinegar and lemon rind. Must be fairly similar xx

  6. Excellent combination, looks absolutely wonderful. Funny how when we’re alone the ambition & energy to make a big meal just isn’t there. While my husband was away this weekend, about all I could come up with was … Special K. Pretty embarrassing, no?

  7. Simple, lovely and flavorful. I thought of you today. My mom and I were going through my grandma’s old cookbooks today and we came across the Woman’s Home Companion!!!! It had been my great grandma’s when she was first married. My mom told me she had been reading this one and just loved it. I told her about your blog of course and how I had been reading bits and pieces myself. 🙂

    • Oh Kristy, what fantastic and exciting news! YAY! Wonder if your Mom will “lend” it to you… If not, fear not, I will be posting excerpts from the last few chapters soon. Have a great week. 🙂

Don't be shy, leave a reply. :-)

