Sweetcorn Bake

I got this recipe from my SIL Trish, who keeps me in good supply of new recipes to try.  Thanks Trishy!  This is a great side dish for with a braai (barbecue).  The lovely light texture of this dish reminds me of a soufflé and has the same rise and fall as a soufflé too.  There are a myriad of other ingredients you could add; like parsley, mustard powder, finely chopped crispy bacon, sautéed mushroom, or even using a different or stronger cheese; you get the idea.

Sweetcorn Bake

Ingredients

1x 410g tin creamed sweetcorn
2 eggs
3 tbsp cake flour
1 tsp baking powder
45g butter melted
¼ tsp cayenne pepper
Salt and black pepper to taste
1 cup cheddar cheese grated – divided

Method

  1. Preheat the oven to 180°C.
  2. Mix all the ingredients plus half the cheese together in a bowl.
  3. Pour into a prepared pyrex dish and sprinkle with the remaining cheese.
  4. Bake for 30 – 40 minutes until golden brown and set.

66 thoughts on “Sweetcorn Bake

  1. Can you believe Best Friend and Big Man are both sweetcorn haters? Not good news, but then again if I made this, I think I could easily rise to the challenge of working my way through the whole thing (can you tell I love sweetcorn?)!

  2. Mandy I love these kinds of side dishes! You are so right, great with a barbecue and I love this served at holiday meals too. Yummy! Hope you’re doing we’ll my friend!

    • Hi Karista, glad you like the dish. All great this side, nearly sorted with the house and back to normal. I often think of your chicks and wonder how big they are getting. Have a beautiful day. 🙂 xo

    • Hi Michael, I am sure you could. You would have to compensate with a liquid of sorts to match the creamed style corn though. Let me know if you give it a try using fresh corn. Have a happy day. 🙂

  3. Now this is something really different for me to try & it looks so easy. I love how it can just be popped in the oven w/o a lot of fuss & if you put bacon & cheese in anything in this house, it’s a guaranteed hit. I’m putting the ingredients on next weeks list for sure.

  4. At first I thought it was corn muffins specially when I saw braai in your statement but its not, it looks even better and moist. This would definitely go well with any barbecue

  5. Yum!
    It looks terrific Mandy. I remember that as a child I hated creamed sweetcorn, that’s why now I make sure to never buy it, but this recipe is worthy and perfect to get over my childhood phobia 😉

  6. This is one of my favorite things to eat, but I can never get it to set. After trying several recipes I find that it always turns out runny and gross… It has to be my fault. I will try again with your recipe and see if I have success. I hope! 🙂 ~Lynda

  7. I have been looking for this recipe for YEARS! Lost it in a moving episode and so happy to have found it again. Thank-you for posting 🙂

  8. I would have loved to post a photo! I made a Marvelous Sweetcorn Bake!! I always made this dish. my kids would eatit just as is or smear Apricot jam/ Marmite or Bovril on top! With our move to Mozambique, some of my recipe books stayed behind in SA. Today I was looking for the recipe and yours are almost exactly the same as the one I had. I am going to dish up now..Bon Appetit!!

    • What a grand idea about smearing some marmalade or Bovril over the top. I have just got back from visiting Maputo with my husband. He was there on business so I tagged along for the ride. Thanks for stopping by Tersia, I hope you enjoyed the bake as much as when you made it back home. Have a wonderful day. 🙂 xo

Don't be shy, leave a reply. :-)

