Tandy’s Crème Caramel

I thoroughly enjoy a good Crème Caramel and loved the recipe I saw over at Tandy’s blog, Lavender and Lime.  I was thrilled with the result when I made them and will definitely be making them again.  I must admit though that majority of the caramel stuck to the base of the mould and can only assume that I let it colour a little too much before spooning it into the moulds.  I would suggest you remove the caramel as soon as it starts colouring to prevent it sticking like toffee in the mould.

Crème Caramel

Ingredients

50g sugar
½ tsp lemon juice
½ tbsp water

1 cup milk
1 vanilla pod, split down the middle
1 egg
2 egg yolks
62g caster sugar

Method

  1. Spray 4  moulds.
  2. Heat the sugar, lemon juice and water until pale in colour and divide amongst the moulds.
  3. Preheat the oven to 190°C.
  4. Place the milk and the vanilla pod into a saucepan and bring the the boil.
  5. Whisk together the eggs, egg yolks and sugar.
  6. Strain the milk into the eggs and whisk quickly.
  7. Pour the custard over the caramel.
  8. Place the moulds into a bain-marie (water bath) using hot water and bake for 25 minutes.
  9. Remove the moulds from the bain-marie and allow to cool.
  10. Turn out and leave to cool before serving.
56 thoughts on “Tandy’s Crème Caramel

    • It would be awesome if I could send you a portion. Thanks for the lovely compliment about my photo, I am busy with lessons (think I may have told you, not sure, so sorry if I am repeating myself) and am trying really hard on getting better shots. Have a super weekend. 🙂

    • Dairy free milk sounds very interesting Claire. I love milk and go through copious amounts of it with the amount of tea I drink. I only enjoy fresh milk though, long life milk has a peculiar state to me. Have a beautiful weekend and I hope you have some good weather to work on the allotment. 🙂 xo

  1. Now that looks beautiful & it’s got my sweet tooth screaming at me to make it. Any suggestions on substituting the vanilla pod w/liquid vanilla? I not sure I’ve ever seen vanilla pods but I’ll be checking that out too.

  2. Love the photo of your and Tandy’s creme caramel. Putting the mold or pan in just an inch of warm water until you can wiggle it usually helps loosen the caramel when I’ve had the problem.

    • Thank you for the lovely compliment on my photo Karen. 😀 Hmm, not sure the warm water would have helped this round – it was stuck like cement to the bottom of the mould – I will definitely try this next time if I have the same problem though with caramelising the sugar a little less. May your first weekend back home be a relaxing one. 🙂 xo

  3. Japanese are crazy for creme caramel and we sometimes pay very expensive price for one tasty cream caramel. From the picture, I can say this looks soooo good! I’m drooling already here…

  4. Wow wow wow! Filipinos love this, every occasion we had its impossible that this is not on a table. Everything is the same except for the cooking method where we steam it as opposed to baking

  5. Creme caramel/caramel flan is one my favourite desserts to make and eat and yours is a great example. By the way, I think you got the caramel to a perfect colour so if this was the first time you made it, I wouldn’t do anything different next time. You need a lot of flavour in your caramel, which you get from cooking it long enough.

    http://a-boleyn.livejournal.com/93248.html

    And, even though I like a lot of caramel on my flan, you don’t get more by adding a thicker layer to the bottom. It will harden as soon as you pour it in the ramekin, and reharden during the refrigeration. Even dipping the bottoms of the ramekins into hot water before turning them out doesn’t remelt too much of the caramel. Trying to keep the bottom in the hot water too long in hopes of getting some of the caramel to melt more will actuallly melt some of your flan.

    You get a better caramel sauce to flan ratio by not making the flan too high. 🙂 Just have two of them.

Don't be shy, leave a reply. :-)

