John’s Magical Plum Cobbler

This is one of those MUST MAKE recipes.  When I saw this on John’s From The Bartolini Kitchen blog, I immediately printed the recipe.  To quote John on why it’s a magical cobbler, “the topping starts in the bottom of the baking dish but rises to the occasion during baking, giving you a perfectly formed topping to the rich fruit/berry filling.”

Now, firstly I must confess when making this the first time, I used a dish that was far too narrow and deep so the magic didn’t quite happen, although it was still absolutely scrumity!  The reason the magic frizzled a wee bit is due to the fact that there was too much of a thick layer of fruit on top of the batter.  I am putting it down to the fact that I was still traumatised by the rain damage to our home – sad but true, oh, and not reading the recipe correctly!  So second round and a bigger dish et voila, a magic plum cobbler, oh and I also halved the recipe the second time around.

Magical Plum Cobbler

Ingredients

½ cup butter melted
1 cup all purpose flour
2 cups sugar – divided
1 tsp baking powder
½ tsp salt
1 cup milk
4 cups plums pitted and chopped
1 tbsp fresh lemon juice

Directions

  1. Preheat the oven to 190°C.
  2. Pour melted butter into a 23cm x 33cm x 8cm baking dish.
  3. In a medium bowl, combine the flour, 1 cup sugar, baking powder, and salt and mix well.
  4. Add the milk, mixing until just combined. Pour the batter into the baking dish containing the melted butter. Do NOT mix.
  5. In a medium saucepan, combine the plums, lemon juice, with the remaining cup of sugar and bring to a boil over a medium high heat, stirring constantly.
  6. Carefully pour the plum mixture into the baking dish. Do NOT mix.
  7. Bake on a baking sheet in the centre of the oven for 40 to 45 minutes or until the top is golden brown.
  8. May be served warm or cold, garnished with ice cream or whipping cream.
40 thoughts on “John’s Magical Plum Cobbler

  1. Want to see the magic! John’s quote intrigued me to give it a try and your picture convinced me! Sounds amazing!

  2. Well, this certainly was a nice surprise this morning! Thank you, Mandy, for being so gracious and I’m very glad that you liked this cobbler. Now that your warm weather is starting, you can easily substitute strawberries or blueberries for the plums and it’s still every bit as magical. Have a great day, Mandy. You’ve just made mine. 🙂

    • You are most welcome John. Thanks should all be to you for this awesome recipe! It has become a family favourite already. I nearly bought a punnet of strawberries the other day to make a strawberry version but alas I didn’t. Fear not, I shall rectify the error of my ways soon! Have a happy day too. 🙂

  3. I remember seeing this fab recipe, it certainly sounds magical Mandy. It sounds and looks very easy and delicious. The plums haven’t been very bountiful this year, I normally see piles and piles of plums, all grown locally or in the next county along, but this year they seem scarce. But having read John’s comment I see I could get imaginative !

    • Hi Claire, this really is an awesome recipe and I cannot wait to try it with strawberries. I must confess to buying imported plums from Woolworths at quite a premium too! They were well worth it though. Hope you can get hold of some scrumity berries of sorts to make this soon. Have a lovely day. 🙂 xo

    • You have just reminded me about my Mom’s apple crumble recipe Charlie, thanks! Mom has 2 versions, one with grating the pastry over the top of the pie and the second by making a dry/butter flour topping. Have a happy day. 🙂 xo

  4. Oh yum. I have this one on my list too, and I’m so glad you tried it. It looks and sounds fantastic! I’d love to try it with strawberries too! That’s a great idea 🙂

    • How lucky to have a plum tree Raymund. We have one, but it never produces any fruit. Think it is planted in the wrong place. Hope you enjoy this when you make it as much as we did. Have a lovely day. 🙂

Don't be shy, leave a reply. :-)

