Roasted Tomato & Chicken Pasta

This really should fall into the un-recipe category and into the should make every week category too.  This flavourful meal came about when I found some forgotten tomatoes in the crisper looking quite sad and slightly wrinkled.  While waiting for the tomatoes to roast , you can as I did, enjoy a bubble bath with a glass of wine. 😉 With next weeks version, I shall lose the chicken and replace it with anchovies and try roma tomatoes for a more robust and slightly sweeter flavour.

Roasted Tomato & Chicken Pasta

Ingredients

Tomatoes halved
Garlic cloves unpeeled
Olive or grapeseed oil
Sea salt and black pepper
Dried origanum
Pasta of choice
Chicken breasts
Italian herbs
Chilli powder

Method

  1. Preheat the oven to 220°C.
  2. Place the tomatoes and garlic cloves on a baking tray and drizzles with oil and season well with salt, pepper and origanum.
  3. Bake for approximately 45 minutes.
  4. Blitz the tomatoes and garlic (squeezed out of it’s skin) using a stick blender and beaker.  Add another drizzle of olive oil and stir through.
  5. Cook the pasta according to the package instructions.
  6. Fry the chicken breasts over a medium heat in butter and oil seasoned with the Italian herbs and chilli powder.
  7. Once cooked slice into strips.
  8. Serve the tomato sauce and chicken over the pasta with an optional second glass of wine.
56 thoughts on “Roasted Tomato & Chicken Pasta

  1. Any recipe that calls for another optional glass of wine is a definite in my kitchen. I shall be serving this for dinner (with many optional glasses of wine). Thanks my friend!

  2. Excellent I will take the wine, the bubble bath AND the gorgeous pasta, I make a lovely dill chicken pasta but add the tomatoes as a sauce, THIS loks so much better.. and simple, fast.. all those good things.. good morning darling! c

  3. A bubble bath and a glass of wine followed by this deliciousness would be a night of heaven for me. 🙂 Let me know how you like the anchovies version. I think Mike and I would enjoy that one too.

  4. This is a delicious recipe, Here in Sicily we have lots of wine and olive oil so no problem in making this recipe. Complimenti!

  5. Roasted tomato anything is one of my very favourite foods. I grow heirloom tomatoes and slow roast/dry them with garlic, olive oil and salt every fall. Right now my freezer is packed with them and to me, they are candy! I love them with pasta and fresh basil, nothing else. This looks like a delicious recipe!
    🙂
    Valerie

Don't be shy, leave a reply. :-)

