We have twins, possibly triplets, 2 flies,some fruit plus a bonsai

This is definitely one of the more original titles I have come up with.

Our resident swallows have done a stellar job of rebuilding their mud house outside our front door and it seems we may have twins or even triplets.  No sooner had I taken the picture of the egg shells below when mommy or daddy swallow flew another half shell into the lounge.  Our swallows seem to be quite vain too as they love flying into the house (much to our fur babies disgust) and sit on a boat that is on the mantel with a mirror behind it.  The swallows sit for hours cheeping and chattering at themselves in the mirror while standing on the top of the mainsail.  It is really cute to watch.

One of my brothers and his family will be visiting over Christmas.  Both my brothers were born with a fishing in their blood and my brother who is coming to visit is always collecting more paraphernalia to his already very extensive fishing gear.  I am sure he will tell you they are all necessities. 😉  He asked if I would tie him a couple of prawn flies.  You see traditionally here at Sundays River, you pump pink (sand) or mud prawns before heading off on your fishing journey for the day.  This request was easier said than done as there are not many prawn fly patterns available and I really need a pattern to work from.  As you can see below I am not terribly good at working without a proper pattern, not to mention the conflicting information about which way the hook is supposed to face – I still don’t know if the prawn is meant to swim backwards or forwards.  No laughing now, I had to do a lot of McGyver work on these little fellows.  I will be very impressed if my brother catches a fish using them.   They look more like out of space goggas (bugs) than prawns…

You may recall I mentioned our garden service guy transformed our peach tree into a topiary, well, it got out of control.  Our tree grows faster than a weed it seem so I asked our gardener to scale it down and lo and behold there are a few peaches.  The peach below was accidentally lobbed off with the pruning session.  It is almost ripe.  I shall leave it a couple more days to and see if it is worm free and worth eating.

I am also very excited to share that our green plum tree also has some fruit on it and this little plum was swatted off by my little fur baby the other day when he was playing in the tree.  Wonder if I can train him to do it again when all the fruit is ripe and ready to be harvested.

Pete was home recently for a few days and he planted a seed in a homemade mini hot house which he will train into a bonsai – now here’s hoping I can keep the seedling alive until he gets home in a couple of weeks.

40 thoughts on “We have twins, possibly triplets, 2 flies,some fruit plus a bonsai

  1. Is there no end to your talents? flies nogal! 🙂 I like the idea of the mini hot-house, I must show this to Himself.

  2. How lovely to have your brother and his family coming for Christmas. I certainly have never even thought to make a lure! Love the fruit harvest from your garden – I’m hoping the peach is worm-free and perfectly edible xx

    • It is very rewarding making lures, when you have a pattern to work from that is. 😉 It is going to be a busy fun Christmas – think I may need a holiday afterwards though. Have a super weekend Charlie. 🙂 xo

  3. And you do fly tying too? I love it and I really love that little mini hothouse idea. I think I may have solved the problem of getting seedlings to grow in my house w/o Moe chewing everything down. For some reason he ate a pot of chives – why in the world would a cat find chives appetizing? I had to double check the seed packet to make sure I hadn’t planted cat grass or cat nip – nope – it was chives.

  4. Oh this is great.. all that beautiful fruit and i can just imagine the swallows in the house, chattering away. We used to have a fantail that did that in NZ, it is thought to be bad luck if a fantail comes inside but i am not one for bad luck and they always did a quick swoop for fruit flies.. and they always perched on the big mirror, the back of which needed frequent cleaning! morning mandy c

    • I wonder where all the good luck / bad luck business started. I must say the boat also requires frequent cleaning but it is all worth it to share our home with these gorgeous little birds. Have a beautiful weekend and hope your luggage isn’t too heavy for our trip. 🙂 xo

  5. You are one talented girl, wow! Congratulations on the flies, I know those aren’t easy to do. And the fruits and the gardening….just fun! Now I’M wishing it were spring here already. 🙂

    Terrific post my dear! xo

    • Thanks Sarah! We are still waiting for summer to really show its face! We had another cold day today after heavy rains again last night. Thanks for your lovely compliment and have a super weekend Sarah. 🙂 xo

  6. Your lures look so much like prawns. I am sure your brother will be bringing you lots of fish, get ready for all the scaling and cleaning and cooking. Oh and remember to bring out the bubble. How many times can he use each lure?

    • You are very kinds, thank you Norma. He will be able to use the lures indefinitely – well as long as they don’t fall apart or until the hook is blunt. We haven’t eaten fish from the river for the longest time so it will be a treat if he rather when he catches a fish. Here’s hoping it will be big enough to feed the whole family. 😉 Have a lovely weekend Norma. 🙂 xo

  7. What a great story about the swallows being so vain !
    Have you tried the peach yet? And you say it is a green plum would I know it as a Greengage?
    The plastic bottles do work well, just be careful the seedlings aren’t too damp or don’t get scorched….. 🙂

    • I will try and get a pic of the swallows on their perch. The peach was slightly disappointing – the texture was perfect but not quite sweet enough. Oh my goodness, I forget about them being called greengage – you are so right Claire, greengages they are. As of yesterday Pete’s little seedling was doing very well although I am not a wee bit worried that I may have over watered it a little – it does have good drainage, so hopefully it all soaked through quickly. Have a beautiful week ahead. 🙂 xo

    • Celia, you are very kind, thank you! Just another 2 weeks of my having to babysit Pete’s bonsai then he will be home to take over the reins. I really should have taken photos from the start to share with everybody. No matter, I am sure he will be planting another one soon. Have a beautiful week ahead. 🙂 xo

  8. I think your flies are fantastic! They are so colorful – I’m sure they’ll attract a fish or two. That peach looks fabulous too – makes me miss summer (and it’s not even that far gone!). : )

    • Thanks Pink! We have a family of dikkoppe living across the road from our house too – they are just too gorgeous. We also have a family of kiewiets (spelling) living in the veld just around the corner from us. Have a happy week ahead. 🙂

Don't be shy, leave a reply. :-)

