In My Kitchen – December 2012

In My Kitchen – December 2012

Well, here we are doing the last IMK post for the year!  You may remember I mentioned last month, I was going to work on a Christmas theme for this month.  Now being a non-child household, we never got into the whole decorating the house thing so I really don’t have much to offer you in the way of Christmas, but I did manage to find a few bits and bobs.

In my kitchen…

Is a lovely Christmas platter which I received from my cousin last year.

In my kitchen…

Are sort of Christmasy beaded napkin rings which my aunt made for me.  I cannot remember why I asked her to make this specific colour though…

In my kitchen…

Is a mini Chritmas tree – a table top tree which has gorgeous little beaded angels on which my aunt made too.  I found the tree in the cupboard after we bought the house.

In my kitchen…

Is a Christmas fridge magnet which I got from my SIL years ago.

In my kitchen…

Are two Christmas tea light holders which I brought back from Mauritius.

In my kitchen…

Are six pine cone candles which I found in the back of a drawer so they look a little worse for ware.  I do remember using them on a Christmas Day lunch table years back when we were still living in Johannesburg.

What’s in your kitchen this month?  Please remember to link back to Celia’s blog Fig Jam and Lime Cordial if you partake in the fun.

40 thoughts on “In My Kitchen – December 2012

  1. I love your platter and the beaded angels, not getting all Christmassy here either, my dudes won’t be around so I don’t feel inspired to drag everything out.

    • Hi Francesca. I reckon this will be the extent of decorations in our home but you can bet there will be plenty in my folks holiday home when they arrive. Have a lovely day and thanks for stopping by. 🙂

  2. Hard to believe that 2012 is so near to its end. Love the little anges and the fridge magnet. You may not think you’ve accomplished much decorating, Mandy, but that’s far more than I’ll have this year. Since Max arrived, Christmas has remained boxed in a closet. He once ran around the house with a light bulb in his mouth. The thought of seeing him do that with Christmas ornaments was enough to put me off decorating. 🙂

    • Oh my, I bet Max thought it was great fun running around with a light bulb in his mouth – naughty pup. My fur babies would attack the Christmas tree too so the table top one will have to suffice. Have a lovely day John. 🙂 xo

  3. Love the platter Mandy! The pine cone candles are would make a great accent to any table. This is the time of year for candles.
    Isn’t it fun to see everyone’s holiday kitchens!

    • This is definitely the most fun IMK post of the year. I have been on the hunt for another platter but can’t seem to find one the same. I used to bath every evening by candlelight and have my house filled with candles everywhere – saved on electricity. Odd how we grow out of certain things. Have a super December. 🙂

  4. What a lovely selection of Christmasy things you have! For a non-child household I’m really impressed. I love the little fridge magnet and the tea-light candle holders. Oh, and looking forward to seeing how you go with the whiskey logs! xx

  5. Hi Mandy-
    We decorate with the things that have been given to us with love- with those things that touch our hearts and memories of Christmas celebrations from our past and with a touch of whimsy that the season calls forth from our hopes and dreams. Every touch of the holiday helps us to look at who we are and what we treasure in a different light. Your kitchen is filled with many touches- thanks for sharing them with us. (And I love that platter and your aunt’s angels!!!)

  6. We haven’t started decorating yet, mostly because the mood hasn’t hit. You’ve helped that, Mandy! These are wonderful! I love the beaded napkin ring, and that platter! I love them all, but….oh you know what I mean 😉 Terrific post! Thanks 🙂

  7. I’ve begun decorating, but a pared down version this year. It just seems so overwhelming when there’s too much Christmas stuff added to the chaos and clutter of other everyday items spread all over the place! I’m not messy, but my gosh, it doesn’t take much to have clutter everywhere!!

  8. Hello Glenda and season’s eatings to you and yours. Love all your festive goodies… those mini trees are handy aren’t they! I haven’t even thought of decorating yet… other than accidentally dropping and smashing a vintage ornament that has been in my family since childhood… that’s what you get for taking photos of them… the candles are cute. LOL.

  9. Lovely Christmas themed post Mandy. I love those napkin rings. They are so delicate and dainty. And those pine cone candles are beautiful. They would be great on a Christmas or holiday table. 🙂

  10. Oooo, I so love your kitchen, Mandy.

    Especially the Christmas Platter.

    What will you do? Do you celebrate w/ your parents? Do you go to church? What do you cook?
    Did you ask for anything special this year?

    Xxxx LOVE

    • Kim, thank you! My Christmas platter certainly is a favourite all around. Most of my family will be here this year which is fabulous. Mom and Dad will be here in their holiday home and we will all gather there for the day to celebrate together. Mom and I are doing all the catering starting with a Smoked Salmon Terrine – recipe to follow tomorrow with a semi traditional roast for mains and 3 puddings – crème brulee, rich dark chocolate mousse and pavlova. My family has grown at a rapid rate the last few years so we stopped exchanging gifts except for the little ones. Just having Pete home for at least 2 weeks will be gift enough for me. How do you and your family celebrate? Have a beautiful love filled week ahead dear Kim. 🙂 xo

Don't be shy, leave a reply. :-)

