Smoked Salmon Terrine

After John’s winning Christmas Lunch Menu and finalising the numbers for Christmas, it seems we have quite a few, let’s call them “particular eaters” so we have had to modify the menu quite substantially and still can’t seem to please everybody’s palettes.   Oh well, we have tried our best.

We have settled on a Smoked Salmon Terrine as our starter and just to ensure we have all of the ratios right, I made a test terrine and it is just perfect!  Think I may add a few prawns to the one for Christmas Day or possibly serve the terrine with a couple of prawns on the side, also I will make two double portions of the recipe listed below to feed the masses.

Smoked Salmon Terrine

100g smoked salmon ribbons/slices
15ml gelatine powder
60ml hot water
125g Philadelphia cream cheese
100ml mayonnaise
15ml chives chopped
15ml lemon juice
212g tin pink salmon
Salt and pepper to taste

 Method

  1. Rub the inside of a terrine or loaf tin with oil and line with cling film.  Line with the salmon slices arranging them so they overlay slightly and come far enough over the side of the terrine to cover the surface once filled.
  2. Dissolve the gelatine in the hot water.
  3. Place the cream cheese, mayonnaise, chives, lemon juice and gelatine in a bowl and mix together using a whisk.
  4. Add the salmon and stir to combine.
  5. Pour into the terrine and cover the top with the overlay of salmon.
  6. Refrigerate until set.
  7. Turn out of terrine and slice into portions and serve with crackers.

68 thoughts on “Smoked Salmon Terrine

  1. I have two very picky guests for lunch on Christmas Day; my MIL and BIL don’t eat anything ‘exotic’. This terrine may just be the right thing for my starter, I’m sure they won’t find fault with it.

    • Sadly there are still a couple of the “particular” eaters in our family who won’t eat it – no matter, all the more for us. I feel quite honoured that you are considering making this for your Christmas lunch too. Have a fabulous afternoon. 🙂 xo

  2. My purse tends to talk to me in cross tones these days when I reach for my beloved smoked salmon! Hence I could not believe how economical this beautiful creation is: all the ingredients are already on the Friday shopping list: thanks 🙂 !

    • Hi Eha, I am thrilled that you will be getting all the ingredients for this on Friday. As an alternative, you could use smoked trout ribbons, which would work out even more economical. Have a super day and please let me know how you enjoy it. 🙂

  3. I’ve never prepared a terrine anything but this one, Mandy, sure does look good. It is perfectly wrapped and sliced, helping to make a fantastic presentation. I’m going to pin it and, hopefully, I’ll find the courage to make it one day. 🙂

  4. this looks totally tasty. and I’ll confess to never having made a terrine before, but your recipe is so lovely and simple – and I have some veggie-set (gelatine equivalent in the cupboard). oh Joy ! and thank you !

    • Thanks Celia! I will hopefully get a few shots of it plated on Christmas Day IF they family are patient enough with me and my camera. Mom arrived last night, my brother and family on Friday and my Dad and Pete on Sunday – can’t wait plus the rest of the family, aunts, uncles, cousins and their little ones arrive over the next few days too. It’s gonna be a busy holiday. See you on the otherside of the festivities. 🙂 xo

  5. Mandy your salmon terrine looks absolutely gorgeous! I just remember that my mom used to serve terrine on Christmas table, but I do not own any recipe from her. Thanks for sharing this recipe. I’ll totally keep it and might use it this year. Looks so delicious!

  6. This looks very yummy….. ive actually decided to use this as my christmas day starter.. 🙂
    just a quick question…. im having trouble finding Gelatine powder..?? could i use another form of Gelatine..?? & roughly how long would you say the setting time would be..?? over night ok..??

    • Hi Danielle, welcome and thanks for stopping by. How lovely that you will be making my terrine for your Christmas day starter, think we may do the same this year too.
      You could definitely use another form of gelatine – the sheets might be easier to find. I believe you can get gelatine in capsule form too. Overnight is more than enough time to set the terrine – you could even get away with doing it first thing in the morning if you are having it for lunch but that may be a bit rushed for Christmas day. I always make this a day in advance.
      Hope you enjoy it as much as we do and have a Merry Christmas. 🙂

  7. Hi There

    I was hoping you could help???

    Love the look of your salmon terrine and how simple the recipe looks. I’m providing the starter for christmas dinner this year at my sister-in-laws, to feed 10 people and I’ve decided on your recipe. But, I have a question! I could only get gelatine sheets at my supermarket – Dr. Oetker premium grade 20g 12 leaves. What would the conversion of 15ml gelatine powder from your recipe be in relation to the leaves I have?

    I look forward to your response and merry christmas. x

    • Hi Kirsty, welcome and thanks for stopping by. I am thrilled to hear you will be making my terrine. It’s not exact but generally you use 4 sheets of gelatine to every 15ml powder. Hope that helps and I would love to hear how your terrine is enjoyed. Have a wonderful Christmas. 🙂 xo

    • Hi Becks, thank you for the reblog – very kind of you. This truly is a winner of a recipe and one which will be a family favourite for a long time to come. Have a super week ahead. 🙂 xo

  8. Hello I followed you because of this lovely salmon terrine you have here , wow I had never thought of it , I use salmon on my breakfast buffet !! This is lovely .

    • Hi Wendy, it isn’t always easy to convert using powder to sheets as the sheets come in different strengths but as a general guideline, 1 tsp of powder is equal to 3 to 4 sheets. Hope that helps. Have a super day and enjoy the terrine. 🙂

Don't be shy, leave a reply. :-)

