Chocolate Mousse

My responsibilities for Christmas lunch was the starter (Smoked Salmon Terrine) and one of the 3 desserts – Chocolate Mousse.  Thankfully I was able to make both dishes the day before leaving just the finishing touches and plating to be done on Christmas Day.  Sadly I woke with the spider bite migraine on Christmas morning which rendered me somewhat unable to complete my dishes.  Thankfully I had a few elves come to my rescue to plate the starer and prettify the individual chocolate mousses.  Family is awesome!  Sadly I took all of 3 photos the whole day so am unable to share my Mom’s beautiful Christmas table with you.  I was however able to get a quick semi in focus shot of the mousses as they were being decorated.  I made 3 times the quantity of the recipe shown below.

Choclate Mousse

Chocolate Mousse

Ingredients

200g dark chocolate
4 egg separated
250ml cream

Method

  1. Melt the chocolate in a bowl over hot water.
  2. Beat in the egg yolks one at a time and beat until smooth and thick.
  3. Lightly whip the cream and fold into the chocolate mixture.
  4. Lightly beat the egg whites and fold into the mixture.
  5. Spoon into 8 glass bowls or ramekins and refrigerate until set.
53 thoughts on “Chocolate Mousse

  1. It’s a wonder you took any photos at all, Mandy. Your mousses …. mise … meeses … puddings look delicious and the garnish is so very fitting for Christmas. Glad to read you’re doing better.
    Stupid, stupid spider.

  2. I love this recipe, it is just like mine, except I add a little brandy and whip the egg whites until they are peaked.. poor you having a nasty migraine though, right at the penultimate day.. I must look up this spider migraine, i have not heard of it, sounds quite nasty.. hope all is well with you now. c

    • Ooh, I love the addition of brandy C, will have to do that next time. Oh dear, I think I may have miss-written the spider bit migraine, I meant to say that I got a migraine from the spider bite – sorry about that. Have a super day. 🙂 xo

  3. 3 little ingredients have never looked better and the little holly on top is very cheery. I am sorry you were not feeling so cheery on Christmas day but glad to hear the spider saga is over and your on your way to health. Take Care, BAM

  4. Aren’t those elves terrific!? I love mousse & that’s a very nice touch on top – usually I don’t make it that far – can’t help but dig right in. Any idea why we even need spiders? Or snakes… Surely there’s enough other creatures out there that can eat whatever they do and we can just get rid of them all.

    • The elves are the best! I wanted to pipe whipped cream on the top of the mousses before decorating with the cherries and mint but alas – maybe next year…
      I know exactly what you mean about spiders and snakes – also, what about mosquito’s surely they don’t have a real role to play either!
      Have a great day. 🙂 xo

  5. It would be terrible to be bitten any time of the year but it had to be terrible during the holidays to feel so bad. I’m glad you are well now. I’m sure everyone enjoyed your contributions to the meal.

  6. What a pretty presentation for a holiday dessert! I’ve not heard of a spider bite migraine, I’m so sorry to hear it happened right on the holiday. I do agree, though, its a blessing to have family that can step in!

  7. That is just how a chocolate mousse should be made! Such a shame you were so poorly 😦 Big Man is looking over my shoulder right now and asking me when I will be making this. Saturday methinks!

    • I just had a teaspoon full – I was a bit worried the chocolate would worsen the headache – I am never sure if it is true about chocolate and cheese being contributors to headaches. I was grateful though that the family kept one spare for me for the next day. Have a lovely weekend. 🙂 xo

  8. Such a pretty mousse, but I am so sad to hear you weren’t feeling well at Christmas. How horrible to be bitten by a spider and to have a migrane from it, even worse. I sure hope you’re feeling back to normal now. Your post reminds me how much I love chocolate mousse and how easy it is to make. Why haven’t I made it in so long? I must remedy that! Hope you have a great week!

    • All back to “normal” after the spider ordeal – rude spider chose the most inopportune time to nibble on my ear! Oh well, all’s well that ends well they say. Strangely I don’t make chocolate mousse that often either. Have a super week too. 🙂 xo

  9. You can’t beat a simple chocolate mousse recipe – everyone likes them. Cute decoration. I make a chocolate log for the non- Christmas pud eaters but this is a great alternative.

Don't be shy, leave a reply. :-)

