Seeded Loaf

This recipe has been sitting in the folder of recipes to try for over 18 months – so very sad!  I tore it out of the Food and Home magazine and if I have it correct, (as I only tore out the section with the recipe) it seems credit needs to go to The Cake the Budda Ate:  More Quiet Food.  This loaf is full of wonderful flavour and texture and paired beautifully with a lasagne, beetroot and green salad dinner I made for when my brother and his family arrived on holiday.  I will definitely be keeping an assortment of seeds on hand to make this regularly.

Seeded loaf 1

Seeded Loaf

Ingredients

4 cups nutty wheat flour
5ml bicarbonate of soda
5ml baking powder
5ml salt
25ml brown sugar
500ml plain yoghurt – I used full cream Greek yoghurt
50ml sunflower oil
50ml milk
1 cup mixed seeds (sesame, sunflower, pumpkin, poppy) – I never used poppy as I never had any
Sesame seeds to garnish

Method

  1. Preheat the oven to 180°C and grease a loaf tin.
  2. Sift the dry ingredients.
  3. Stir in the sugar.
  4. Mix the yoghurt, oil and milk.  Combine with the dry mixture and mix thoroughly.
  5. Stir in the mixed seeds.
  6. Spoon into the loaf tin.  Sprinkle with sesame seeds and bake for 45 minutes.
  7. Switch off the oven and leave for a further 15 minutes.

Seeded loaf 2

36 thoughts on “Seeded Loaf

  1. I’ve never baked a loaf with so many seeds, Mandy, but I’m more than willing to try. I especially like that there’s so little sugar to be used. I bet it’s delicious when toasted and served with a bit of honey. 🙂

    • This is a loaf that will be made for many years to come in our home John, it is delicious! I would love to hear how you enjoy it if you make it. I have just bought more seed to make it again soon. Have a lovely day. 🙂 xo

  2. What an interesting cake. I don’t think I’ve ever seen one with so many seeds. Mr. N and Mike would LOVE this. They both are seed fanatics. 🙂

  3. Okay, you’ve sold me on this one & it’s being added to MY growing file of ‘must try’ recipes. I love all of the texture going on with this loaf and it looks fine as a meal in itself. Don’t laugh – my husband really could sit down & eat a loaf of bread for dinner.

    • Good to know I am not the only one with the ever growing “must try” file Diane. If your hubby is a bread loving man, this loaf will definitely tickle his taste buds. Have a super weekend. 🙂 xo

    • Is super yum but like most home baked breads they only stay “fresh” for a day but makes for fabulous toast for a couple more days. I shall make you a loaf when we come and visit. 🙂 xo Shew just a few more sleeps before you settle into your custard cottage. 🙂 xoxo

Don't be shy, leave a reply. :-)

