Celi’s Sweet Chilli Sauce

As you know, I have an ever growing file of wonderful recipes I want to try, mostly from you, my blogging family.  A file which only ever seems to get fatter – (case in point the Seeded Loaf I posted about on Tuesday) with recipes desperate to get out and into the kitchen.  One recipe that keeps making it’s way to the top of the pile is Celi’s fabulous sweet chilli sauce (it’s been in the file since September last year).

Celi over at The Kitchen’s Garden  has found the perfect combination and balance of flavours for a very versatile sauce.   I am sure most of you already visit Celi every day for your fix of farmy news, if not, head over today to get to know everybody on the farm and to share in the delight of Celi’s daily farm photos.

Celi's sweet chilli 2

Celi’s Sweet Chilli Sauce

Ingredients

3 garlic cloves
3 seeded hot red peppers – I used 3 birds eye chillies
½ seeded red capsicum pepper
⅓ cup rice vinegar
1 cup water
½ cup sugar – I used brown
½ tsp salt
1tbsp cornflour

Method

  1. Blitz the garlic, chillies and capsicum together and place in a small saucepan with the remaining ingredients except for the cornflour.
  2. Bring to a rolling boil for 5 minutes.
  3. Thicken with the cornflour mixed in a little water.
  4. Bottle and refrigerate once cool.

Celi's sweet chilli 1

51 thoughts on “Celi’s Sweet Chilli Sauce

    • I’m sure you could make this using green chillies – why not? If you can fry green tomatoes then you can make green sweet chilli sauce. 😀 See, I can solve the worlds problems. Have a lovely afternoon. 🙂 xo

  1. I love this sauce and I am thrilled to see you playing around with it and I imagine gobbling it up, I make a fresh batch every week or so (with dried chillies now! – can’t wait to start the growing year again) because I eat this colourful sauce with just about everything! Thank you for the shout out and have a lovely day.. celi

  2. I remember when Celi posted this, Mandy. I think it may be a bit too hot for me but I can easily adjust that. I loved reading everyone’s suggestions for how to use it, too, but I think I’ll start with chicken wings. Yum!

  3. I hear you. hehe….I to cook and to bake list is getting longer and longer by days! 🙂 This chili cause looks and sounds perfect. Now, I have one more item on my to make list. 😉 Thanks for sharing!

    • Hi Nami, I usually enjoy this lovely sauce with cheese and biscuits as well as grilled chicken wings and with spring rolls. I also add it to ground beef and the like when making lasagne and even meatballs. I am sure to think of loads of other things when I have replied. Have a lovely day. 🙂

    • I have noticed a lot of things being discontinued here in the past few months – all spices! If so many spices are being removed, can you imagine what they are putting into sauces! Scary stuff! Have a lovely week. 🙂 xo

    • Think I should make a batch and bring it over for you…
      All’s well here thanks dear, busy with the family tree again on my hubby’s side – keeps me busy busy busy.
      How are you? Hope Mr Liverpool’s birthday was a happy love filled one.
      🙂 xoxoxo

  4. Mmmm! I do love Celi’s farm. And this was a fabulous choice for a recipe. My pile of dishes to try just keeps getting bigger and bigger too. 🙂

Don't be shy, leave a reply. :-)

