In My Kitchen – March 2013

In My Kitchen – February 2013

Even though I am away at the moment, I didn’t want to miss sharing a few goodies from my kitchen with you.

In my kitchen…

Is a box of Malawian tea which Pete brought back for me from his  recent trip to Malawi.  He said they have quite a few other varieties and will bring back more for me on his next trip there.

Malawi tea

In my kitchen…

Is Malawian coffee.  I asked Pete was it was like as I haven’t had a chance to try it yet and he said it is difficult to say as one day the coffee was extremely strong and then the next is is extremely weak, depending on who was making the coffee.  I must say it smells fabulous.

Malawi coffee

In my kitchen…

Are Malawian pan roasted peanuts.  Pete was given a bowl of these every evening in his room.

Malawi peanuts

In my kitchen…

Is my latest plant-sitting project.  Pete planted a few chilli seeds before he left and thankfully I have been able to keep these little fellows alive.  I may just be getting green fingers.

Chilli seedlings

In my kitchen…

Is a bowl of dried chillies waiting to be planted.

Dried chillies

What’s in your kitchen this month?  Please remember to link back to Celia’s blog Fig Jam and Lime Cordial if you partake in the fun.

56 thoughts on “In My Kitchen – March 2013

  1. You know what, M? It sounds like you’re SO happy to have your Pete back, and that makes me smile a lot, because I know how happy I am whenever my Pete is with me too. And how nice that he brought you so many interesting treasures! The chillies look hot! I hope they all grow well for you! 🙂 xx

    • It’s always wonderful having Pete home, he travels far too much! The chillies are very hot – think they are some sort of bird eye something or another. Have a wonderful Celia. 🙂 xo

  2. The pot of chilis and the bowl of dried chilis look like some good eating ahead.
    I love trying foods from afar- especially when they are brought to you with love.
    Thanks for sharing!

  3. There’s nothing like the smell of coffee when the packaging is first opened. It’s almost intoxicating. Thanks for the glimpse into your kitchen, Mandy.

  4. That little pot is adorable. It’s funny that you mention coffee because I’ve been experimenting with some new ones here & so far one called Pete’s French Roast wins hands down. I’m always interested in the packaging of foods from other countries & noticed the tea mentions “export quality”.

    • My Pete would be very proud to hear there is a coffee named after him, now if we can just replace the French with South African… I remember when we lived in Mauritius, all the tea also said export quality – must be a standard possibly. Have a beautiful day. 🙂 xo

  5. Well, if your Pete keeps bringing you such wonderful gifts and treasures from his travels, you may not want him to stop for very long. What fun! Too bad you can’t go with him.
    Thanks for this peek into your kitchen!

  6. Mandy, I wanted to ask you about something. I am teaching a Global cooking class next semester and am curious, is there a dish you would say that profiles South African Cuisine? What are the typical spices, herbs etc you use?
    I’m heading over to Celia to ask her the same of Australia. I know its like asking for an “American” dish, but am mostly interested in your opinion.
    Thanks!

    • Hmm, what an interesting question. South Africa is a multi-cultural country so the flavours are quite diverse. As far as spices go, curry blends, masala, garlic, ginger and tumeric are standards as well as fresh herbs. I need to give this a little more thought. Hope this helps for a start. Have a happy day. 🙂

  7. What adorable little sprouts! Hope that those lovely dried chiles grow up into pretty sprouts and then come to full fruition! All very grand. And inspiring. I guess I’m going to have to try my hand at growing them too. 😀 xoxo

  8. Ah he’s bought you so many lovely things. Am interested to know more about the coffee. Let us know once you try it. And those dried chilis look like they will be hot!!!! (Wonderful)….

  9. We lived in Malawi for 3 years between 1982 and 1985 it was a wonderful place to grow up loved the food and the people.

    • Hi Cindy, thanks for stopping by. My hubby only has nice things to say about Malawi and the people. What a fabulous experience for you to have stayed there for 3 years. Have a super day. 🙂

Don't be shy, leave a reply. :-)

