Our Whale Bone

It has been quite a while since Pete and I ventured out on our bicycles so we made the most of the last few days of summery weather before Autumn really sets in – oh heavens, I am not looking forward to winter – here’s hoping it’s a quick and mild one.  Anyhoo, I digress…

We decided to take a ride to the beach down the road from home again, except this time, once we reached the beach we locked our bikes up at the pump house instead of riding along the beach.  I think this was more for my advantage as I battle a tad in the soft sand due to my slight unfit state.

Whale bones 9

The first thing we saw on our walk once we locked our bikes up were these cat prints – awesome!

We were thrilled to come across another wonderful whale bone.  There seems to be whale bones all over the beach – quite far spread so I can only assume them to be from different whales.  The ones we have found so far are really weathered so must be quite old.

Whale bones 19

Whale bones 25

Whale bones 33

We were determined to bring this one home with so dug it from its sandy grave but alas at 12 feet long it is WAY to heavy.  We had great plans of dragging it along the sand and somehow brining it home behind our bicycles.  It would take at least 3 men to lift so there went plan A.  We are no longer allowed to take vehicles onto the beach so plan B also went out the window.  We are still working on plan C.  Any ideas?

Whale bones 35

We were able to bring home an inner (middle) ear bone, spinal disks and other spinal bones which I will photograph to share with you.

Whale bones 70

Now you can how big the bone is.

54 thoughts on “Our Whale Bone

    • We want to create a feature wall either in our bedroom or down our passage with some of the smaller bones and the big one will find its way into the garden. Have a super day Giovanna. 🙂 xo

  1. How awesome is that to live where you can find such treasures! So all you need is 3 strong guys to haul that big bone out of there (you of course directing). Surely you can bribe a few guys, load it into a van & have that in your garden by next weekend. Didn’t the Egyptians use a series of logs, ropes & pulleys? Hey wait a minute – you’ve still got that rope in your tree right?

    • Good thinking Diane. We also thought about asking somebody with a bakkie (pick-up) to bring it most of the way home for us. Hee hee, wonder if the “tree-rope” will work. Have a beautiful weekend Diane. 🙂 xo

  2. I’ve never seen whale bones on any Sydney beach. That is an enormous bone and you can only wonder the size of the poor whale that met its demise. As to how you get that bone home, I’m all out of ideas – I certainly can’t see it being balanced on your bikes! I too and hoping for a swift and mild winter – hate winter! xx

  3. Mandy, you’ve brought home the best photographs as well! How cool was this experience, it would be on my Bucket List if there was a chance! I don’t know how you could do it.. except let the tide come in and push it towards you??

  4. Holy cow! That whale bone is enormous!!! I have to remember to show this to Mr. N. He will love these photos. Personally, I just love the look of that sand. I need to get to a beach so badly. It looks like you had a great time on this bike ride. 🙂

  5. I don’t know about your Plan C, Mandy, but mine would be to look for a smaller bone. 🙂 I do like your plans for putting one in your garden. That would be stunning!
    Have a great weekend!

    • Ooo, love your idea of a smaller bone – but I would want both – greedy girl that I am. Actually 3 would be awesome to create some sort of feature in the garden. Have a wonderful weekend John. 🙂 xo

    • Hi Julie, for the most part, I will always stay behind the lens – not big on having my mug shot taken. 😉
      Please can you let me know where I can subscribe to receive your blog posts via email. I cannot seem to find it anywhere on your blog. Thanks. 🙂
      Have an awesome weekend. 🙂 xo

  6. Oh the poor old whale, i hope it was not from the bad old whaling days, they used to do a lot of whaling off the coast of NZ in the old days, I use bad words when i think of them.. what would you do with such a bone if you got it home, it looks glorious in the sand there, maybe you could emulate that in your garden, looked like a lovely day for a bike ride! such a lovely coast line.. c

    • I too would like to know the history of this bone C. I am ever hopeful that it was due to natural causes – naively optimistic I guess! The bone would definitely be a feature of sorts in the garden although we haven’t finalised exactly where yet. Will keep you posted. Have an awesome day. 🙂 xo

  7. Wow, the whale bone! My kids were here, so I shared the pictures with them. They were so excited and they thought we can see it on California beach (they thought you live here). Thanks for sharing amazing shot!

    • Strange how they are so appealing Kathryn. I often wonder though, what was the life of the being like and how is it that they come to be “beached” where they are. Silly me. Have a beautiful week ahead. 🙂 xo

Don't be shy, leave a reply. :-)

