Our Other Whale Bones

It’s been a month since I said I would take photos of the other whales bones we found to share with you – I never forgot, promise, just this thing called life keeps taking precedence over what I have planned.  You know how it goes.

The first two images are of an inner ear

whale bones small 3

whale bones small 2

The next two are spinal disks – we have varying sizes of these from very small to quite large.

whale bones small 5

whale bones small 4

The last four are also part of the spine  – just not sure what you would call them.  We also have a few varying sizes and shapes of these.

whale bones small 9

whale bones small 7

whale bones small 10

whale bones small 11

We have a very large open wall in our bedroom so we were thinking of creating a feature on the wall with some of the bones, alternatively in our lapa area in the courtyard.

Do you remember the first whale bone we found In March last year… It’s AWESOME!  We would need 2 rugby teams to lift this one!

48 thoughts on “Our Other Whale Bones

  1. Holy cow that last picture is awesome I think you would need at least 2 rugby teams to carry this even a 100 feet. It is huge and it really gives you some perspective how large whales really are. I wonder what kind of whale it is?

    • I also wonder what kind of whale it is Bam – I do know now that the last picture is of the facial bone something or another – we originally thought it was part of the spine – silly us. Have a super day. 🙂 xo

  2. Very cool bones which I think would make wonderful display pieces. But of course I remember that jumbo whale bone sitting out on the beach & still think there’s got to be some way to drag that back to your house. At least it’s not likely that someone will be strolling by & just pick it up & take it to their house.

    • Too true Diane – I just said to Celia that if I just had a helicopter, some strong rope and a few willing me, I could have the lot here by lunch time – hee hee. Have a super weekend Diane. 🙂 xo

  3. These posts fascinate me, Mandy. The original whale bone is really beautiful and your photo’s stunning. I find it incredible that you were able to research and discover the bone type that you found. And your idea of displaying them in your home would be quite nice, very unique. Thanks for sharing these photos with us.

    • Glad you enjoy these posts John, thank you. Probably easier to move the house to the beach than to try and get the BIG bones back home! Oh well, at least we have them captured in photos. Have a wonderful weekend. 🙂 xo

  4. What an ethnic home accessoris…
    isn’t it legal to bring that home in your country?
    since it prohibited by law to bring any whale produck to your own property in my place……
    btw, the spinal disk is fancy…..

  5. I know about that thing called LIFE!! these are amazing. Are you going to mount them in white on white boxes under glass or something like that, or would they be too heavy.. amazing..that extra big one is brilliant, next time can we have a shot of you next to it, or even your bike, then we would get a feel for its size.. such an incredible shot, that one should go on your wall as well!Have a lovely day darling! c

    • C, I don’t know how you keep up with all you have to, then again, I do believe if you want something done, give it to somebody who is busy.
      We haven’t made any final decision about where or how to display the bones – the ones we want to mount shouldn’t be too heavy, I don’t think. We had a shot of me sitting on the bone, I shall find it and mail it to you so you can see it’s magnificence.
      Have a beautiful week ahead and I truly appreciate you making the time to pop by when you are so busy. 🙂 xo

  6. How cool Mandy! I think a wall feature with whale bones would be fantastic! If you end up making one you’ll have to share a pic with us. These are just so fascinating!

  7. If you had shown the photos without saying what they were, I would have never guessed that they were whale bones…very interesting.

Don't be shy, leave a reply. :-)

