Shanghai Steak

Chinese food is much loved in our home – sadly I don’t make it all that often, there’s quite a bit of prep work but is well worth the effort.  Our Chinese evenings usually consist of Shanghai Steak, Egg Foo-Yong, Sweet and Sour Pork or Chicken and fried rice (sometimes just plain rice).

A while ago a lady sent me her recipe for Shanghai Steak and I promised I would try her version when next I make it – it’s only been 2 months!  Antoinette, thank you for your lovely recipe.  I hope you don’t mind that I added peas in at the end and upped the soy sauce just a bit.

This recipe comes together in just a few minutes – as you well know, thats just my kind of recipe and besides the marinating time, cooks in just 3 minutes.

Shanghai Steak  1

Shanghai Steak

Antoinette’s recipe slightly amended

Ingredients

40ml soy sauce
25ml corn starch
15ml brown sugar
1 onion sliced
500g steak thinly sliced
oil for frying
¼ cup frozen baby peas

Method

  1. Mix the soy, corn starch and sugar together in a bowl.
  2. Stir in the onion and steak and marinate for 2 hours.
  3. Stir fry the steak over a high heat in a little oil for 2 minutes.
  4. Stir through the peas and cook for 1 minute.
70 thoughts on “Shanghai Steak

  1. Ooh yes please – no Chinese Restaurants Up the Mountain so when we fancy it, we have to make it. And I know where I can get some decent thin fillets of steak now to make this!

  2. I have the steak out already!! oh and i meant to tell you I make your home made mayo at least once a week at the moment.. with piles of herbs in it! I could eat off a spoon (and do) have a lovely day mandy!!

    • Hi Celi! Thank you for making the time to pop in, I know how precious your time is. (big hug) So pleased you like the mayo recipe and use it so much – herbs and garlic always make their way into mine too. Have a beautiful farmy day. 🙂 xo

  3. That really looks good Mandy…I was just looking to see if you had a good recipe for fried rice. Seems like I tried one from someone’s blog that was just perfect & now I can’t find either the blog or the copy I printed. I know it’s pretty straightforward and you can dump just about anything in but I think I’m just not getting the soy sauce amount right.

    • I really should post a recipe for fried rice – generally I usually just fry up some onion, red capsicum pepper, mushroom add the rice and finish it off with some baby peas. I don’t usually add soy sauce at all – I think because I have soy in the Shanghai steak and a little bit in my egg foo-yong as well plus have some on the table for people to add themselves. I promise to post my recipe next time I make it. Have a happy Friday. 🙂 xo

      • I can see where adding the soy could be too much. So do you add some eggs into the rice too? I know the recipe I had tried, I pushed the rice off to the side then sort of scrambled an egg in there & mixed it up. I think I could have used more onion in my last batch since it was just too bland.

        • Oh yes abut the egg! I sometimes do and sometimes don’t -all depends on my mood plus I am not convinced the egg adds that much to the rice, actually think that’s more likely why I more often leave it out. I too push the rice to one side. I used to be all larney and make an omelet type thingy in a separate pan and then cut it into ribbons. That idea soon got left behind as its too much more work and yet another pan. 😉 I may do it if we are having guests – you know, just so it all looks prettier. 🙂 xo

  4. I shy away from Asian dishes because of the prep time, even though the shortened cooking times very often make up for it. This recipe sounds perfect. I just wish I’d seen it before I’d gone to the grocery this morning. It would have made a great dinner tonight but I guarantee it will grace my table soon enough. Thanks, Mandy, and have a great weekend.

  5. Cooks in just 3 minutes?! That is my kind of cooking – especially this time of year. 🙂 Mr. N will be a huge fan of this recipe. Chinese food is his favorite type of cuisine. Have a great day Mandy!

  6. I like to cook Chinese too but I do find it a lot of work especially as you’re supposed to put a variety of dishes on the table and everything needs to be ready at once. I do love the look of this steak and this recipe seems relatively simple xx

    • I am the same Charlie. I try and prep a few things the day before so it makes it a little easier on the day but still find I need and extra 3 sets of hands. Have a beautiful weekend. 🙂 xo

  7. This reminds me of my youth! My parents had dear friends–our ‘extra grandparents’–who had been missionaries in China long ago, and they introduced us to the joys of Chinese cuisine. The true home-cooked humble stuff. One of the dishes our ‘grandpa’ taught Mom to make was a dish very like this but with celery and carrot slices instead of the peas. So very comforting and simply delicious!!

  8. What a great recipe!! I really need to be eating more meat… so tired lately :0 This looks like a very tasty way of getting some iron! I may add some wilted spinach too 🙂

  9. Pingback: Stir Fried Beef with Ginger | Chica Andaluza

  10. Hi again :),

    I just came back here to see if there were any updates, only to see that my question (from November) isn’t here! No idea what happened, but I’ll try again!

    I made the Shanghai steak from your recipe, but the steak didn’t have that melt-in-your mouth, moist tenderness that I recall from the takeaway in PE. Mine was a little dry, and had to be chewed quite a bit. Any suggestions as to how I could improve on it, or what I might have done wrong?

    • Hi Beth, you commented on my other post about shanghai steak and I answered you there. Here is the link:

      Please let me know if I can help you with anything else. Have a super day. 🙂 xo

Don't be shy, leave a reply. :-)

