Curried Butter Beans

This is a lovely quick and easy recipe which compliments so many meals.  I have been known to eat it as a meal on it’s own too.  I got this scrumity recipe from a friend who always makes these delicious beans when we get together for a braai.  The flavour combination of garlic, ginger and curry is always a winner and these beans remind me of the fillings we used to enjoy in roti’s and dhalpouri’s when we lived in Mauritius.

Curried butter beans

Curried Butter Beans

Ingredients

Half an onion chopped
1 garlic clove crushed
¼ inch piece ginger finely chopped
1tsp mild curry powder
420g tin butter beans in tomato sauce
1 tsp chutney

Method

  1. Fry the onion in a little oil in a small pot until tender.
  2. Add the garlic, ginger and curry powder and fry for two minutes.
  3. Add the butter beans and chutney and heat until the butter beans are heated through.
37 thoughts on “Curried Butter Beans

  1. I’ve had to do a catch up on your posts, we changed service providers and I lost my email, all sorted now and I have re-subscribed. I do this dish with a tin of baked beans, sometimes I put chopped bacon in as well, as you say great for a braai.

    • Oh how I wish I could send a case of beans over to you Tanya – imagine to postage on that parcel. Tell you what, I will just have to bring you a few tins personally. 🙂 Have a lovely day. 🙂 xo

  2. These look so much like baked beans – but the curry adds a totally different flavor dimension I imagine. I can always use more good bean recipes! 🙂

  3. I must be hungry, I’m madly pinning recipes I want to try and this was one of them:) Love that it’s so quick and easy to make and with ingredients I already have! And.. I’m on my own, so it would be the whole meal for me:D xx

  4. My Hubby is bowing to your excellence Mandy. He is a true bean lover and LOVES butter beans. He will love this recipe, I promise. Thank you!

Don't be shy, leave a reply. :-)

