Orange Poppy Seed Muffins

These lovely light flavoured muffins are perfect for with tea and come together in just a couple of minutes.  The longest part of this recipe is grating the orange zest and waiting for them to bake.  I was tempted to add a glacé (royal) icing drizzled over the top but thought they were nice enough just as is.

Orange Poppy Seed Muffins 1

Orange Poppy Seed Muffins

Ingredients

½ cup sunflower oil
¾ cup caster sugar
2 extra large eggs
¾ cup milk
5 tsp orange  zest
2 cups self raising flour
½ tsp salt
7 tsp poppy seeds

Method

  1. Preheat the oven to 180°C.
  2. Line 12 muffins pans with paper cases.
  3. Beat the oil and sugar together.
  4. Add the eggs one at a time and beat in.
  5. Add the milk and lemon zest.
  6. Fold in the flour, salt and poppy seeds.
  7. Divide the mixture between the 12 muffins pans and bake for 15  minutes.

Orange Poppy Seed Muffins 2

40 thoughts on “Orange Poppy Seed Muffins

  1. I’ve made these before and I love the texture of them. I sometimes drizzle an orange icing over them but like you say, they’re perfectly fine just as they are xx

  2. Ooh! I was going to make lemon poppy seed muffins this week, but now I might have to make both lemon and orange. They sound like a delightful way to start the day. 🙂

  3. These sound wonderful, Mandy, and couldn’t be easier to make. Who needs a glacé when you can have “lashings of butter?” What a great term!

  4. Oh boy do they look good & I agree that they’re perfect as is without a glaze. Sometimes I just don’t like things that are too sweet believe it or not. The only reason I frost cupcakes is to keep them moist & I usually end up scraping the frosting off my share.

    • And here I thought I was the only one with a “semi-sweet” tooth. I rather enjoy a smaller portion of something sweet but enjoy every morsel of a smaller portion rather than a bigger one. Have a super day Diane. 🙂 xo

Don't be shy, leave a reply. :-)

