In My Kitchen – August 2013

In My Kitchen – August 2013

This months edition has a very Mauritius theme of sorts – really trying to extend my holiday memories.

In my kitchen…

Are 4 individual table place settings from a dinner with friends last night.  Our winter garden doesn’t really offer any flowers so I get adventurous with pepper corns and maiden hair ferns.

Table settings

In my kitchen…

Are 4 mini platters which I bought when we were in Mauritius.  I desperately wanted 4 more but alas, I was already out of space in my bag and was also a touch worried about the weight of my luggage.  Tell you what, we will just have to go back so I can get another 4…

mini platters

In my kitchen…

Are pretty packs of serviettes from Mauritius.  I mentioned to a friend while on the island how expensive I think serviettes are at home to which she lovingly took out her extensive collection of serviettes and gifted me a few packs.  I was amazed how incredibly inexpensive they are on the island.  Right, another reason to have to make a return trip to the island.

serviettes

In my kitchen…

Is my latest favourite tool for sprinkling glitter over cupcakes.  I have been searching for just the right silicone brush but alas all the ones I have seen are either too big or the bristles are too stiff until we were shopping in Super U in Mauritius and this little one with the softest bristles jumped out at me.  It came with an accompanying mini spatula and a ridiculously cheap price.  Double win.

silicone brush

In my kitchen…

Is chickpea flour, aka gram flour, aka bessane (besan).  I have not been able to source any at home, but fear not, there was plenty waiting for me on the shelves in Super U. It doesn’t last forever though so guess we will just have to go back to buy some more.

bessane flour

In my kitchen…

Are 2 bamboo handled paintbrushes for the baking Tupperware – just in case I want to paint on something pretty on a cupcake and yes I got them in Mauritius.

bamboo brushes

What’s in your kitchen this month?  Please remember to link back to Celia’s blog Fig Jam and Lime Cordial if you partake in the fun.

58 thoughts on “In My Kitchen – August 2013

  1. those platters are stunning – I went shopping on Saturday to look for some just like that but sadly there were none here. Have a great day Mandy 🙂

  2. Pingback: In My Kitchen August 2013 | What's On The List?

  3. What a lot of interesting things. I love your serviettes from Mauritius and that silicone brush is gorgeous. I look forward to seeing how it spreads the glitter xx

  4. Mandy Those table decorations are very pretty and I can see why you liked those white plates. I do think you should go back and get 4 more.

  5. Your photographs are really nice Mandy! You have learned the new camera well. What kind of lights are you using and how are you positioning them? do you use an umbrella to bounce light?
    All the wonderful things you found are delightful. Personally, I have a thing for beverage napkins. . .Love them!

    • Wow, what a fabulous compliment, thank you so much! The only think I use is a while card which I place everything on to photograph and use natural light in my dining room. My husband built me a light box but sadly I have not found the correct lights yet, although I can find extremely expensive ones – I will wait till I can find more affordable ones. Depending on what time of the day I take the photos, depends on whether the items are side lit or front lit. Hope that helps. I am not very good with the terminology. Have a super day. 🙂 xo

  6. I love those place settings…they’re so elegant. You did score some amazing finds on your holiday but I agree that a return trip is necessary. Those paintbrushes are fantastic although I’d be using them on canvas for sure.

  7. I just love walking thru your kitchen, Mandy. Makes me feel as if I am “There!”
    I adore napkins. I pick them up whenever and wherever. I need to send you some! Xxx Love.

  8. Mandy, what a lovely holiday you had, and how nice that you can bring all these treasures home with you. I’m very taken with the little rectangular plates – I can see a whole lot of uses for them – and the serviettes are stunning! I think next visit to Mauritius needs to be just for shopping! 😀

    • I would love to serve a starter on those rectangular plates – not sure what but something pretty. I do love the way you think Celia. We should all meet there for a little blogging family shopping spree. Have a beautiful weekend. 🙂 xo

    • I would have loved a blue brush Lizzy, it would have matched my kitchen better. It’s great fun seeing what I can put together from the garden for arrangements for the dinner table. Have a lovely day. 🙂 xo

  9. I love all your recent purchases! And the mini bouquets are the best way to go when dining- my sister used to have a small vase at every plate and offer the flowers to the diners to take home(minus the vase)- it was such a treat to take home a small handful of flowers!
    I have a collection of napkins- one year for my birthday, the ladies I teach in Sunday school all gifted me with pretty beverage napkins… I still have about 20 packages of the prettiest napkins!
    Thanks so much for sharing !

    • What a lovely idea to send your guests off with their own mini bouquet but like you say minus the vase. I absolutely love napkins – there are so many beautiful designs available. Have a super day Heidi, I will pop over to see what is happening in your lovely kitchen too. 🙂 xo

  10. What a fabulous post Mandy! I love your gorgeous pepper corn and maiden hair fern arrangements! you certainly don’t need ‘flowers’ to brighten up a room, your creativity here with this combo has done it.

  11. Such great things in your kitchen Mandy! I bet your kitchen is just such a fun and happy place to be. I especially love your floral arrangements (or non-floral arrangements as it were). They are just so colorful and elegant. 🙂

  12. Those place settings you created, Mandy, are beautiful. Who needs flowers? And Mauritius sounds like a cake decorator’s paradise. When will you be going back?

  13. I’m with Charlie – really interested to see how that silicone brush works spreading glitter on cupcakes. I think you have more than enough reason to return to Mauritius too 🙂

  14. Pingback: Honored with the Liebster Award! | Spoon Feast

  15. I love those tiny arrangements with the pepper corns and maiden hair ferns. So clever! And the little packages of serviettes are very pretty! A fun assortment of goodies!

  16. I can see that you will definitely have to make another trip. You don’t need flowers when your winter garden provided you with your lovely arrangements for your table.

  17. Lots of fun things in your kitchen and it is nice to gather new items in your travels. I guess you will just have to go back to Mauritius to get the matching set of your serving dishes. Do you still have friends in Mauritius? Plan B is to have them send you the rest. Take care, BAM

  18. I bought one platter, not as nice as yours but it was only R11 at the Chinese shop, keep meaning to go back and get some more. What’s the betting there aren’t any?!

    • Ooo, I love a price tag of R11 – my kinda price. I always argue with myself and do the same thing, buy one and go back when the stock is finished. I have a good feeling you will get another one, or 3 when you go back. Have an awesome day. 🙂 xo

  19. Hope you’re happy with your silicone brush! 🙂
    I know what you mean about searching for the right kitchen tool to meet all the requirements we have for our gadgets!

    • HI Sandy, thanks for stopping by. It is amazing how I will search – sometimes endlessly for just the right tool, not willing to settle for anything other than what I am looking for. Have a super day. 🙂

  20. Lovely to read a post from a fellow Southern Hemisphere Blogger. It seems that you did indeed have a good time in Mauritius and your kitchen is all the better for it. The simple pleasure of going to the supermarket whilst you’re on holidays in another land can fill hours can’t it? I’m surprised you don’t have besan at home, given the large Indian community but glad you were able to get some. Enjoy!

    • Hi Tiffin, welcome and thanks for stopping by. I can’t even get Besan at speciality stores either – I might be able to find some in bigger towns but alas I am not near any. Have a super day. 🙂

  21. Looks like you’ll be having fun cooking, baking, & serving with these “IMK” treasures. Your silicone brush does indeed appear “just the right size” — mine has large bristles and frustrates me no end (tends to “fling” rather than “brush on”, ha!) I especially liked your individual decorations — so pretty!

Don't be shy, leave a reply. :-)

