Woman’s Home Companion Cook Book – Part 19 – THE FINALE

Woman’s Home Companion Cook Book – Part 19 – THE FINALE

It is quite sad that we have come to the end of our journey working our way through this fabulous old book, but feel it high time to give it back to Mom for her safe keeping, she has been extremely patient waiting to get it back.

The chapter on Canning, Pickling and Preserving reads as follows:

“Rows of jelly glasses sparkling ruby and topaz in the sun; jars of plump pickled peaches studded with pungent cloves, little pots of golden marmalade – these on the pantry shelf, like hand-worked linens on the table, are homemade for the modern household.  Maybe you don’t need to put up fruit as grandmother did in order to feed the family during the winter months.  Maybe arithmetic proves that you can buy good commercial products for less than the cost of home canning.  But you want the fun of saying, as you pass the breakfast jam, “Yes, I made it myself.”

If you have your own garden you want to boast, “We grew these cucumber pickles” or green beans.  Only the home gardener can profitably go in for canning vegetables on a large scale.  But in any home kitchen, or even kitchenette, you can manage a few precious jars of homemade preserves and relishes.

Principles of Canning:  The purpose of the canning process is twofold:  to destroy certain enzymes and micro-organisms already in the food and to prevent bacteria from contaminating it once these agents have been destroyed.  The first is accomplished by heat, the second by air-tight sealing.

The enzymes and two types of micro-organism  yeasts and molds, are easily destroyed by heat,  bacteria, the third type, particularly in the spore state, are strongly resistant to heat,  Ordinary boiling temperatures will not destroy them unless prolonged for many hours, but the hight temperature reached in a pressure cooker at 15 pounds pressure makes short work of them.  Fruits, tomatoes and other acid vegetables present no difficulty in this respect, for an ordinary boiling temperature in combination with the acid in the food will destroy bacteria.  The non acid vegetables and meats, however, require special consideration.  If the bacteria normally present in such foods are not destroyed they may cause one or more of several types of spoilage.”

This chapter covers the various methods of packaging (cold, hot and open kettle) and the various methods of processing (hot water bath, processing by steam pressure cooker, processing by steamer cooker and oven canning).  The chapter also details the preparation of jars, lids and rubbers as well as filling, handling and sealing jars and has 28 pages of recipes for canning, pickling and preserving  fruit juices, vegetables, meat, poultry and how to make jellies, jams and marmalades.

38 thoughts on “Woman’s Home Companion Cook Book – Part 19 – THE FINALE

    • I know, I was thinking of saving it a little longer but guess all good things come to an end to open the door for something new. Now just to figure out the new bit – will keep you posted. Have a beautiful day Tanya. 🙂 xo

  1. **Rows of jelly glasses sparkling ruby and topaz in the sun**

    What I notice more than the actual food…is the descriptive, beautiful writing in this cookbook.

    I LOVE and shall miss. Xxx

  2. I remember my mother spending days in the kitchen canning. She put the fear of God in me to not go near the pressure cooker & to this day I’ve had pressure cooker phobia. She grew up on a farm in upstate Maine on the Canadian border on a farm so preserving was really a necessity since the closest store was a major trek.
    You’ve really done such a great job sharing this cookbook with us all – have you got another one in the wings?

    • Diane, I have the same phobia – so much so that I still do not own a pressure cooker! I do believe there are electric ones available now days but reckon they come at quite a price. I am not sure what I will next share, so worried nothing will compare to this lovely book. Have a beautiful day. 🙂 xo

  3. Used to can and make my own jams and jellies, not any more. Only dabble in refrigerator pickles now.
    Now that this book has come to an end, what is your next project?

  4. It’s been a delightful journey. An dyes us home growers do like to say, ah these are homegrown…… but most of all we like to eat them ! And what a beautiful-poetic opening paragraph.

  5. Sorry to see this book end, just as I do with any fine read. It always provided a fascinating look back and much of the information is just as sound today as it was. Thanks, Mandy, for sharing it with us and to your Mom for her patience. 🙂

  6. I remember those days when everyone was making their own jams and preserves. My mother and her mother were always canning. It’s a shame our generation has lost the art but I have a feeling there are a lot of us wanting to introduce canning back into our lives xx

  7. I can’t believe we have come to the finale! Thank you for sharing this book with us. I’m happy to have had a sneak peak because I have no idea when my mom will actually relinquish control of her copy and let me have it for a bit. 😉

  8. I just discovered you.via a mutual blog-friend. I’m looking forward to touring around your site.I just did my first job of canning in my life a couple of months ago…banana butter. At least I know that I CAN do it!

Don't be shy, leave a reply. :-)

