Pete’s Workshop

Our home has always had sections which are too small  – our sitting room and dining room being the most “suffocating”.   Then there is the lack of a workshop space for Pete.  He has always  managed to make a plan in the front of our extra length garage but sadly it has it’s limitations, especially when both our cars are in the garage.

Wendy Workshop 1

The before look

We have often looked at extending the sitting room, dining room and garage as they are all on the front of the house but that is an extremely costly exercise so we looked into extending only the garage by another double garage size and do a “self” build which in reality besides still being expensive isn’t very practical with Pete being away as much as he is so plan B was implemented.

Wendy Workshop 2

The during look before moving the palm

Wendy Workshop 3

The during look after moving the palm

A Wendy House to be placed it in the garden next to the garage.  Perfect.

Finally a dedicated area where Pete can be creative without having to work under cramped and uncomfortable circumstances and where he can lock up his tools without worrying about me getting into them for a project around the house while he is away.   I have broken something before, oops!

Wendy Workshop 4

The after look

Wendy Workshop 6

The after side view

Now just to wait for the roofing to weather before we can paint it to match the houses roof.

Pete is going “off the grid” as he says by using solar panels instead of conventional electricity for lights and plug points.  That will have to wait though till he gets back from his business trip.

44 thoughts on “Pete’s Workshop

    • Absolutely Celia! Pete made good headway of sorting things out while he was home and we have put three potters in front the hide the bricks and have put in blinds. Think I will have to do a follow up post when it’s all finished. Have a lovely day Celia. 🙂 xo

    • He has already added a few shelves and the like CCU and we have placed a few window boxes to hide the bricks in the front and added blinds over the windows. Can’t wait for him to be home again so he can finish the interior. Have a lovely day and hope you are baking something chocolatey. 🙂 xo

    • Oh my Kristy, you have caught me off guard! I had to google the origin of the name. This is what I found on Wipipedia:
      “A Wendy house or playhouse is a small house for children, large enough for one or more children to enter. Size and solidity can vary from a plastic kit to something resembling a real house in a child’s size. Usually there is one room, a doorway with a window on either side, and little or no furniture other than that which the children improvise.
      The original was built for Wendy Darling in J. M. Barrie’s play, Peter Pan, or The Boy Who Wouldn’t Grow Up. Wendy was shot by the Lost Boy Tootles after arriving in Neverland, so Peter Pan and the Lost Boys built a small house around her where she had fallen. It was inspired by the wash-house behind Barrie’s childhood home in Kirriemuir[1] and first appeared in story form in The Little White Bird in which fairies build a house around Mamie Mannering—the prototype for Wendy—so protecting her from the cold.[2]”
      Have a lovely day. 🙂 xo

  1. Now that’s a great solution to your space problem, Mandy. I bet Pete loves it. I do hope there’s room outside for a generator. Pete will need it to keep his refrigerator running so that the beer stays cold. 🙂

    • It really has worked out well John – hmm, I like the way you are thinking. I will happily donate our current fridge (very old and sad) for the workshop which means we can get a nice new shiny one for the kitchen! Have a happy day. 🙂 xo

  2. What a perfect solution. So much easier, and less expensive than changing the footprint of your house. Funny you did this & also that John just commented about a generator. We’ve had so many power outages & they’re predicting a fierce winter here so we’re finally going to bite the bullet & get a generator. However, that’s the so called straw that broke the camel’s back as far as room in our garage & basement. With a riding lawn mower, a walk behind mover, snow blower, assorted yard equipment….well, we’re just out of room so the best option seems to be a shed. Let’s see… new kitchen, generator, shed….and John wants to retire at the end of this year?

    • Pete and I have also been talking about getting a generator for the better part of 10 years now Dine and I hope when he has moved all he wants into his workshop that we will have enough space in the garage – then just to save to buy it. Have a beautiful day. 🙂 xo

    • I must say Norma, it took the better part of a morning to dig it loose – quite a task!
      Along with all his tools and workbench and shelves the recliner may be a bit of a push. 😉
      Have a super weekend Norma. 🙂 xo

  3. Oh i love the idea of a Wendy House, no-one out here knows what i mean when I say Wendy House, they think I am saying Windy House. Ah well. Pete’s Wendy Workshop looks like a good size too, that should keep him out of trouble. But where are we going to store YOUR tools! c

    • I didn’t realise that not everybody would know what a Wendy is although I must say I never knew of it’s origins until I looked it up for Kristy oh and don’t worry, my tools are still in the garage. Have an awesome weekend Celi. 🙂 xo

  4. Every woman needs a shed in our house. The noise from my husbands loud music, plus my teens singing, clarinet, drums and piano gets all too much for me. I long for a shed – or at least some noise-cancelling headphones!

    • Oh my Sally, you definitely need a little sanctuary – maybe a wee woman cave for you with all the trimmings you need to make you comfortable. Have a super and hopefully quiet weekend. 🙂 xo

  5. I had to smile, Mandy, at Petes workshop. My father had one at the ranch where I grow up. He had a sofa and original paintings in his. I think it was a place that he could escape from my mother after he retired…he needed his own space. 🙂

    • Oh how lovely Karen although I don’t think Pete will have space for a sofa but I am sure he will hang a few original paintings (his own) at some stage. I think all men need their own space. Have a lovely day. 🙂 xo

  6. Looks great! Big Man has been introduced the concept of “One Man and His Shed” in England by our neighbours and now we are going to get one 🙂 Love that you are using solar panels.

  7. Love it! Pete’s shed/Wendy house/sanctuary is pretty as can be and will be a delight for you both, I’m sure. I added one to Richard’s and my first home (mostly as a garden shed, because I converted our entire detached garage and a quarter of the house to my DIY/tool working spaces!) and it was one of the few things I was most sorry to leave behind when we moved away. (You can see mine in a couple of the photos here: http://kiwsparks.wordpress.com/2013/03/31/its-good-to-set-a-poor-example/) I hope Pete has as much fun with his work/play getaway as I did with mine!
    xoxo,
    Kath

    • Kath, I cannot wait to head over to see how lovely your shed must have been. What a pity you couldn’t take it with you. I see many happy hours ahead for Pete and his new workshop. Have a lovely weekend dear Kath. 🙂 xoxo

Don't be shy, leave a reply. :-)

