My Cake Icing Stand

With the amount of icing I do, I thought it would be nice to have a turntable style icing stand and why buy when (not even sure I would find one in PE) I can get my Pete to make me one.

Cake icing stand

So when he was home from a business trip, I pounced on him with the idea and within a couple of hours, I had my one of a kind fabulous cake icing stand.   I LOVE IT!!!

Pete used scraps of wood which he had in the garage, added 4 marbles, a touch of glue, a nut and bolt, some paint, et voilà, one gorgeous and oh so fun to use cake icing stand! What a difference it makes to be able to give a slight turn of the stand on not the cake or cupcake while icing. 😀

The table top turns so smoothly over the marbles which have been glued into little recesses Pete made in the base while the nut and bolt slip through a hole made in the centre of the top and the base.

I need to put in an order for a pasta drying stand, which must be able to be dismantled for easy storage.  I have been tempted to use a clothes horse but to date use a piece of dowel which I stick between 2 dining room chairs, which reminds me, it has been far too long since I made pasta.

46 thoughts on “My Cake Icing Stand

  1. Ooh you lucky lady! I’ve been asking Big Man for a wood burning pizza oven for 5 years now…but I suppose it’s quite a big project! Pete could go into business, I know I’d buy from him!

    • My Pete would be proud to hear it, thanks Tanya! Now, maybe I should pop over for a visit and we can get Big Man motivated together to get cracking on your pizza oven. Have a beautiful day., 🙂 xo

  2. You better watch out, Geoffrey might come and swipe it for his bonsai pruning. Tell Pete is as great, this was probably one of the “firsts” in his new workshop? Lu ya, Beryl.

    • Never thought about it being used for anything other than icing – what a brilliant idea for bonsai pruning. Believe it if you will, this was still made in the garage! Hope you are well my friend. Hope we can go for a ride soon. Have a beautiful day. 🙂 xo

  3. How cool is that – not just the cake stand, but that Pete made it for you. I really wish my husband had the handyman gene but it stopped with his father. Say wait a minute….can Pete make us a vanity cabinet for my bathroom?

      • I’ve got a great idea – wait until my little project is all done, you both come for a visit & we’ll cook & toast the new kitchen together.
        After too many sleepless nights agonizing over this silly sink, I finally made a decision with the designer to forgo my soapstone sink & keep it simple by just buying this one from Pottery Barn:
        http://www.potterybarn.com/products/mason-reclaimed-wood-single-farmhouse-sink-console/?pkey=cbathroom-vanities&

        • Brilliant idea Diane. Let me know when we should start packing our bags. 😀
          I was so excited to see the sink you decided on but alas when I click on the link you gave me, it gives me this message: “Sorry, due to website restrictions we are unable to display the requested page.” 😦
          Might just mean we have to come and see it in person! 🙂 xo

          • Really? What a shame, I would think Pottery Barn was worldwide & believe me, looking at your blog & the types of things you like, you would LOVE Pottery Barn.
            Come now & you can help me clean out my cabinets.

          • I know, I was very disappointed. I tried other ways around but alas no Pottery Barn viewing for me.
            Ooo, I am on my way – not sure if it will be time for a cup of tea or glass of wine when I get there though… I purging and cleaning out so be careful I may just get rid of too much!
            🙂 xoxoxo

  4. Whenever I’m icing a cake I mutter under my breath, I wish I had a moveable cake stand! I would love this. It’s definitely a must-have for anyone who ices and decorates a lot of cakes xx

  5. Well, isn’t Pete a handy character to have around! This is NICE! I did without for YEARS until I found a small ‘lazy susan’ at a garage sale and tried it. It made such a difference in ease and technique, especially when I was at the bakery,(worked for it, then ran it.)
    You should Put Pete to work and sell them online. (Like he probably doesn’t have anything else to do!)

    • What a brilliant find, a small lazy Susan. I would love to get Pete to make them for sale but alas he is away from home on business half the time so it would not be very practical at this stage. Have a lovely week ahead Tonette. 🙂 xo

Don't be shy, leave a reply. :-)

