What keeps you busy every day…

You would think with me not having a job earning a salary and moreover not having children to cart to and from school that I would have all day on my hands to do anything my heart desires like writing or honing my photographic skills but alas.

Mandy UK 2008

A Dali piece in London – time melting away
Forgive my bad photography – it was before I learnt how to properly take a photograph

I have a sister-in-law who on each time we speak insists on asking me what I do all day.  I wish I had a simple one sentence answer which would sound meaningful and fulfilling but sadly there isn’t one.

Just yesterday I said to Pete AGAIN I am getting a whole lot of nothing done every day.  I am always busy with something or another but don’t feel I am getting anything meaningful or anything with weight done in any one day.

When Pete is home I cook breakfast, lunch and supper which takes up a portion of the day with preparing, cooking and cleaning up, thank heavens for a dishwasher.  Now if I could get it to pack and unpack itself, that would be awesome.

Then there are all the normal daily duties of keeping a home which takes up another portion of the day – not to mention I hardly get time to get into the garden, let alone just the herb garden.

Let’s not forget the fur babies who require their grooming and lots of snuggles and smooches.

On and off there is always something I need to help Pete with which involves endless hours on the phone or emailing with backwards and forwards tapping away at the keyboard or booking flights and the like.

There is the daily reading and writing of posts and moderating comments from you lovely folk.  This is one of my favourite times of my day.  I love connecting with you all.

Let’s not forget the time I set aside for my new exercise regime – yes I am still going strong, although my knees aren’t 100% happy just yet.

This all excludes the day I set aside every week to head into the big city to do shopping.  Living out of town with only one store in our village which only has the basics makes the list quite long and takes me most of the day to get done.

When I do push things aside and make the time to write, the phone will ring – oh how do people know.  Now if I don’t answer, some folk will ring my mobile just to make sure everything is okay so I cannot ignore the phone.  Oh yes, and there are the knocks at the door with somebody popping in for a cuppa or the loveliness of family visiting and spending quality time with them.

There are loads of other things which will only come to mind as I hit the publish button.

Now if I could just find an extra 4 hours a day to dedicate to writing my next book, that would be fantastic although it is also difficult to feel inspired when dedicating specific time.

What keeps you busy all day?

46 thoughts on “What keeps you busy every day…

  1. You left out all the community stuff you do at Sundays – eg the river clean up – plus the maintenance/repairs you do with Landau at the flat & at your house. And what about the time you spend with Aunty Christine?? Trish xx

    • Thanks for the reminders Trishy although I wan’t part of the river clean up this year because we were visiting with you guys. 😀 xo Everything seems to meld into each other into normal day to day living I guess. Sorry we keep missing each other on the phone. xoxoxo

  2. I know when I’ve not worked my day sounds like yours and I have no idea where the time goes. I think having ax plan and a project on the go is good for the soul and structure. but don’t be too hard on yourself you are doing a brilliant job at living and loving. x

  3. It sounds to me like you’re staying plenty busy. 🙂
    I’m trying to carve out some writing time too. I keep telling myself I’ll have plenty of it in the winter.

  4. Hi Mandy! I get what you say. I’m a stay home mom and I think now that I’m not working outside I feel that I have less time and do less things…is weird but true. I think too much free time makes us plan too many things 😉 That’s why I spend my days planning, doing a few things and then regretting not being able to do them all! 😉 crazy I know!
    Take care and enjoy your day.
    G

    • Hi Giovanna. I know exactly what you mean. I still work with a diary and write down all the tasks I want to achieve in a day or reminders of people to phone etc. If I didn’t I would get nothing done – oh wait, I think that’s just because I would not remember. 😉 Have a super day. 🙂 xo

  5. It took me a while to adjust from doing a “proper” job (i.e. putting on a suit and heels and going to an office, working from home or flying off somewhere to doing what I do now. I think I felt guilty and packed my day with as much activity as possible so when people asked me “what do you do all day” I could give them a good and interesting answer. The truth is, interesting and interested people fill their days with interesting and meaningful activities (and that might be sitting quietly with a coffee and the fur babies) and add value to their own and others lives while feeling happy at what they have done – and not guilty about what they might not be doing (like earning a salary). Well, that’s how I feel at least 🙂

    • Tanya, you are so right! Thank you! Pete also says that just because I don’t earn an income doesn’t mean to say what I do is any less important. Have a beautiful weekend. 🙂 xo

  6. Mandy, I am sending your post to my husband for two reasons. So he understands I am not the only one grappling with this same question and so he has a written list of what I do as well. 🙂 As I read this my head just kept nodding in agreement, even down to the cell phone ringing if I don’t pick up the house phone! Ha, it seems we can always be found!
    Now on a more serious note, I will say to you what I say to myself when I sit wondering if anything I did all day had any impact — those meals you cook, phone calls you take, miles you run, posts you write, invest in people and that’s something. These things may not have a paycheck to mark the significance, however, there is reward to seeing someone’s life enhanced by your availability, be it your husband, yourself, friends, family, and those in your community (on-line or otherwise). It matters in a thousand ways we cannot quantify on paper.
    May you excel at this nothing today and be blessed in its purpose.

    • Hi Judy. I am so pleased I am not the only one who battles with this. I have always said I work harder being at home as opposed to when I had a 9 to 5 job. May you too excel at this nothing today and be blessed in its purpose. Have lovely weekend. 🙂 xo

  7. You know when I stopped working a full time job to devote time to my daughter and my health, some people would say ‘what do you do all day?’…and not in an I’m interested sort of way. At the time I was driving my daughter to skating lessons before school, driving her to school, picking her back up, then back over for more skating. Plus volunteering which got overwhelming because of. Ourselves all those people who look down on those who don’t ‘work’ don’t have time to volunteer. Now that my daughter is grown and on her own I finally have time to read, paint, travel and give myself a break. When people ask, I just tell them that I do whatever I want, whenever I want to.
    As for lately, well you know what I’ve been doing – kitchen overseer.
    It sounds like your days are full and happy which is perfect as far as I’m concerned.

  8. Hi Mandy, love this post… I am home on sick leave again and it seems there is always something to do, even though I am supposed to be resting! I am a potterer, always have been. My dad was too. I love it! xo

    • Sorry to hear you are home on sick leave Lizzy – hope you are better soon. I too love pottering around, working off of a list so I can quantity what I am getting done. Have a super weekend and do try and get in some rest between pottering sessions. 😉 xo

  9. No need to justify your day, sweets.

    You just LIVE and Love and adore your fur babies.

    I sooooooooo much wish I could be at home to live and love and enjoy)))!!!!

    Never apologize for loving your life at home, dear sweet beautiful, Mandy. Xxx

  10. Mandy, don’t worry about what you do, just feel blessed that you can do whatever you want, whenever you want to. Now that I am retired I feel so amazed that my time is mine. That is a privilege that so few have so grab it with both hands. Who cares where it goes? Cuddle those pets, have that cup of tea and go shopping. Lucky you.

    • Thanks for the reassuring words Glenda! Now to just find the time to write, write and write. Have a beautiful weekend and I can still not stop thinking about your mulberries. 🙂 xo

  11. Oh, my, speaking as one who just went back to work full time, being at home requires a great deal of time and work, especially if you take pride in running a “tight ship”:) Just ask my hubs who now helps with groceries and cooking dinners, the laundry is often heaped in a mess and the house could be cleaner. I loved being at home and focussing on the house and garden.. and my pup!

    • Smidge, I am not sure how I ever worked full time and still kept a home – I must admit though I did have a housekeeper twice a week but that doesn’t cover half of what needed to be done. Kudos to you and your hubby for both working and still working as a team to get everything else done. Have a beautiful week ahead. 🙂 xo

  12. I am soooo backed-up with blogs that should be visited, blogs that should be written and so much else, but ….grandkids,kids and husband get my attention.I am waging a war on clutter which is truly helping clear housework and my mind.Shuffling clutter was a no-win situation!

    • Hi Tonette, isn’t it incredible how quickly we can get behind with our blogging. Hope you get through your clutter war soon. I love purging and do it quite often and have a deal with myself that at least one item has to go out of every cupboard I clean or tidy. We accumulate so much so quickly. Have a super week ahead. 🙂

  13. Hi there Mandy! Sometimes we all feel like we are running on a treadmill with no end or return even if you have a full time job and kids and all kinds of responsibilities. You have to find something that you are very passionate about and then everyone you encounter will feel passionate about it too.

    • Hi Bam. Sometimes I feel I am passionate about too many things which also makes me run round in circles because I am trying to do a little bit of everything. Have a lovely week ahead. 🙂 xo

  14. There is no such thing as a day long enough to get everything done that I think needs doing. And no, I do not have a ‘real’ outside job with pay, kids *or* fur babies. Life is mighty full, if you have any interest in living it well and truly. But then, you obviously know that. You are amazing, wonderful and accomplished, my darling, and don’t let being slightly off the very center of what others might define as perfectly-average make you think even remotely otherwise. That’s at least part of what makes you so special, in fact.
    Love you!
    Kathryn

  15. I could not agree more with Glenda. Since I “retired”, I’ve been asked that question many times. The short answer: “I keep happy. These days it’s a full time job.” 🙂

Don't be shy, leave a reply. :-)

