Getting to know you series – 3

Before the year is out, I thought we should do the third and final round of getting to know each other.  As always there are no rules; all I ask is for you to link back to this posts so I don’t miss out on your answers.

Pammy's rose

1.  Who would you be honoured to have cook in your kitchen?

James Martin.

2.  What have you always wanted to cook or eat but never have?

Truffles – maybe James can bring them along when he comes to cook for me.

3.  What is your favourite part of a chicken?

The oysters, although they are not very filling.

4.  Do you use a knife or a vegetable peeler to peel potatoes?

A knife – I can’t operate a vegetable peeler around a potato, it makes me feel like I have 2 left hands.

5.  What one item do you keep in your kitchen you know you shouldn’t use but do?

Aromat – I know, I know!  How about if I justify that I only ever use it when scrambling eggs and occasionally on chicken wings.

6.  Do you like using culinary foam on your meals?

Absolutely not – I won’t tell you what I think it looks like either – very off putting!

7.  What 3 meals would you take to a friend who is sick in bed?

Cottage pie, chicken curry and lasagne.

8.  Bovril or Marmite?

Absolutely bovril.

9.  Do you dunk your rusk in tea or coffee?

Nope – they are crunchy for a reason, why would you want to ruin that by making them all soggy, which also leaves a horrible mess at the bottom of your cup.

10.  Which do you prefer, crunchy or chewy cookies and biscuits?

Definitely crunchy.

—o0o—

44 thoughts on “Getting to know you series – 3

  1. 1. Ina Garten; 2. Chocolate; 3. Breast; 4. Peeler; 5. Dirty sponge; 6. Culinary foam?? 7. Tomato soup, apple cake, crepes; 8. Never heard of; 9. I dip things in my coffee (rusk?); 10. Something in between. Thanks, Mandy. That was fun :))

  2. 1. My grandma, she got the highest standart for taste all the time
    2.Truffle and Morel Mushrooms
    3.The tail for sure!
    4. Peeler, i had the chef series of it
    5. Dental spatula, i use it for making any batter
    6. Hell no!!! it’s like a ruined food for me, but i love making it……

  3. Loved it – I’m a marmite girl myself but if I pretend to be under the weather I’d love you to serve me one of those meals! And did you mean chocolate truffles or the sort truffle hunting dogs sniff out (apart from mine who would probably eat them!)?

    • Oops, should have mentioned it’s the dog sniffing out kind of truffle! I will have to have a wee word with your pups if we ever go truffle hunting together – I shall gift them the chocolate kind in return for them sniffing out the underground ones for me. 😀 I would be there in a flash if I could to bring you some grub, even if you were not sick – actually that’s even better cause then we can enjoy a glass or 3 or wine together too. Have a lovely day Tanya. 🙂 xo

  4. I would so have James Martin too. He always seems so down to earth. My dad was a greengrocer when I was growing up and I remember drinking Bovril with him in the shop to keep warm in the winter. I will be joining in the fun very soon as I have already completed the first two ‘getting to know you posts’. Keep an eye on http://www.surreyKitchen.com. Emma xxx

  5. Aah you and I are the same – I have cut myself way too many times with a vegetable peeler – despite the knife ironically being a bit more dangerous 😛
    Nice learning more about you!

    Cheers
    CCU

    P.S I seem to have lost around 1000 subscribers on my blog and I don’t know how, so if you were subscribed, could you resubscribe please? it would really help me out!

  6. Getting to know you. Getting to know all about you …
    But what’s with the Bovril or Marmite? Have no idea what they are. Lasagna as cure-all, though, is something I can get behind. Been serving it to ill friends for years. I’ve never had truffles, either, but will try to find some for your visit. 🙂

    • Woohoo, cannot wait to try truffles with you for the first time John. See it is almost a reality. 😀
      Bovril and marmite are spreads for toast. Not sure how else to explain then.
      Here’s a full explanation on Bovril and Marmite: ://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bovril ://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Marmite
      Have an awesome week ahead John. 🙂 xo

  7. If I were sick in bed, I’d hope you were nearby:) It’s interesting reading because you have such different common foods from us.. like rusks and marmite. I think I’ve tried marmite before but for the life of me can’t remember what it tastes like!xx

    • I could always try and express mail you some grubbies when you are sick Smidge. 🙂
      Not that marmite lovers would agree with me BUT I don’t think you are missing out on anything. 😉 It is very strong and burns my tongue too.
      Have a beautiful week ahead Smidge. :-)xo

  8. Hi there Mandy, it was nice getting to know you a little better. I currently have 3 sick ones down with the flu, so please be sure to send some cottage pie, soup and lasagna our way… just kidding as I don’t things would travel so well from S. Africa to China…LOL Have a super week. BAM

  9. I just recently discovered my taste for that yeast spread and I really dont like Marmite, I am more of a vegemite fan but Borvil I haven’t heard of that yet.

  10. Argh…I just wrote a comment (short story actually) and it wouldn’t go through so if you get 2 from me on this post, I want you to know it’s the computer and I’m perfectly sober. Anyway, I’ve got a lot of catching up to do on my reading (psst, coming soon the finale of my kitchen with photos and tomorrow is Thanksgiving here) so I’m sorry to be so delayed getting back to you and have loved this series.
    Now I of course have questions and since no one else brought these up yet it could just be me. What in the world is an aromat? I looked that up and couldn’t find it but I’m trying to figure what would be used for scrambling eggs AND chicken wings.
    Maybe we need a private girls chat on the chicken oysters but over here there’s a dish called Rocky Mountain Oysters that is the parts of a bull that make it a bull. Are chicken oysters the same?
    And my hat’s off to you for being able to peel potatoes with a knife! If I tried that I’d have potatoes the size of peas and I’d be missing some fingers. And finally I think I’m feeling unwell, yes, definitely something coming on…oh dear, I guess I need a care package too!

    • Hi Diane, so sorry about your first message going AWOL – how rude! I can’t wait to see the finale post about your beautiful kitchen!
      The easiest way to explain Aromat is by directing you here: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Aromat – hope that helps. It is full of preservatives and MSG and hydrogenated fat all the bad E’s and who knows what all else – so bottom line it’s BAD for you.
      Hee hee, hmm, about the chicken oysters – they come from the underside of the chicken so we are safe on this one – not sure I would like your Rocky Mountain oysters though.
      See now I am absolutely useless with a vegetable peeler for potatoes.
      Now about your care package, I think I will have to deliver that personally! After all I will have to come and inspect your new kitchen. 🙂
      Have a beautiful day Diane. 🙂 xo

Don't be shy, leave a reply. :-)

