Karin’s Quinoa Salad

My lovely sister-in-law Karin introduced me to the super grain quinoa.  I know, I am far behind in trying new things.  I was also put off by how expensive it is.

Quinoa in a nutshell – it is high in protein, is a good source of dietary fibre and phosphorus and is high in magnesium, iron and calcium, so is good for vegans and those who are lactose intolerant and is also gluten-free and is easy to digest.

Karin's quinoa 2

On it’s own quinoa tastes pretty much like nothing but has a wonderful texture and put with other lovely ingredients makes a fabulous salad.  Karin adapted a couscous recipe from her favourite recipe book, The Cake the Buddha Ate. I highly recommend you make this for a lovely hot summer’s day salad.

Karin's quinoa 1

Karin’s Quinoa Salad

Ingredients

3 cups cooked quinoa
1 cup flaked almonds toasted
1 cup fresh coriander chopped chopped
1 cup tinned chickpeas – oops I forgot to put these in
1 cup red and yellow capsicum peppers chopped – I only had yellow
¼ cup dates chopped
¼ cup figs chopped
½ red onion chopped

Dressing

100ml olive oil
50ml apple cider vinegar
¼ tsp cinnamon powder
1 small garlic clover crushed
Salt and pepper to taste

Method

  1. Combine all the salad ingredients in a bowl.
  2. Mix the dressing ingredients together and pour over the salad and mix through.
54 thoughts on “Karin’s Quinoa Salad

  1. yum! its a hot summers day here in Melbourne, and this look like a wonderful (and delicious did i mention..) cure! love all those flavours and can’t wait to whip it up! thanks 🙂

    Daisy and the Fox

  2. I do love chickpeas, but I rather love how your finished salad looks! This is a perfect summer day salad (just a few more months until we officially begin summer here in the US). I’ve been making more and more quinoa lately, so it’s nice to have another recipe to try and taste!

  3. What a lovely recipe Mandy! We love quinoa in my house and I can’t wait to try this one. I so miss visiting your blog! Life just gets to busy ey? Happy 2014!

  4. Okay, you and my niece are selling me on this. I had never even heard of quinoa until my niece became lactose intolerant and she uses it a lot. This looks like a good one & if you recommend it, then I’m sure it’s right up there with the best.

  5. Looks wonderful – I too was late to the party with quinoa and agree that on it’s own it’s quite bland but it’s a great supporting act for big flavours (and good for us too)!

  6. I still have not tried quinoa. So you are in good company!!.. She says laughing.. I shall order some. Local supermarkets do not carry ‘hippy food’.. ha ha ha and then i will try this salad.. looks super.. c

    • Bwahahaha! This salad is really very scrumity my friend and if you still lived down the road from us (which I REALLY MISS), I would make it for you in a heartbeat. Have a beautiful evening and love to you all. 🙂 xo

Don't be shy, leave a reply. :-)

