I can’t believe it either…

But it’s true!  I still don’t quite know why I did it but I did!

I needed to fetch Pete at the airport and it was one of those awkward times when the flight lands right at dinner time and taking into account we live a good 30 minute drive away from the airport plus I had a boot full of groceries to unpack when we got home and with Pete having dinner on the plane, I needed to fill the gap in my tummy, knowing full well I would not last until getting home and having to still cook.

Judge me if you must BUT I found myself at the McDonalds drive through!  After much discussion with the voice in the black box where I had to place my order I finally settled on a Mc Royale and fries.  I thought it best to opt for the Mc Royale as it includes salad ingredients.  If I am going to consume such highly processed food I best try and balance it with something healthy.

Image sourced from Google

Here’s the big shock… I quite enjoyed it.  It wasn’t as “cardboardy” as I thought it would be and the fries were nicely salted and crispy.  Will I go back – probably not but as a once off it was great.

While I sat in the car munching on my burger and fries, it was concerning to see how many overweight  people were driving up to the window to place their order and how many young girls on their own were doing the same thing.  Funny how I never took into account what they would have thought of me, especially seeing as I was wearing my pearls.

It was a dirt cheap meal at R40 and wonder if this is half the attraction of going to McDonalds.

Have you eaten at McDonalds before?

53 thoughts on “I can’t believe it either…

  1. Hi Mandy, I am not a McDonald’s fan. My main objection is the sweet plastic (which melts under heat) that they call bread. I can do the rest. I think I have had two or three in my life. I just don’t understand why they can’t use real bread. It wouldn’t cost them any more and their customers would be consuming much less sugar and chemicals.

    • I turned a blind eye to it all that day, knowing very well it’s all processed. I reckon they don’t change their recipe as they probably won’t be able to keep it all so “fresh”. Have a super day Glenda. 🙂 xo

  2. I confess I did used to eat it when I was younger, then less as I got older. I am sure I’d enjoy one as a rare treat now but can’t honestly remember the last time I ate one – but I certainly wouldn’t criticise anyone for eating a McD’s – especially as it does offer what it says…Fast Food…and in this case it was what you needed! Am giggling slightly at the thought of you in your pearls…you are one classy lady Mandy 🙂

    • See, I didn’t think it was anything to get too bent out of shape about. I LOVE my pearls and wear them at every opportunity. 🙂 A few years ago after a day out, I forgot I still had them on and later that afternoon went for a cycle around the village and my aunt saw me and still talks about be cycling with my pearls on. Have a lovely day. 🙂 xo

  3. I haven’t eaten a McDonalds for years, mainly because there’s always something better on offer nearby. But there’ll be a time and a place one day in the future, I’m sure. Judging other people at takeaways is a bit like judging trolleys in the supermarket queue – my trolley must look incredibly unhealthy because we try to grow as much fruit and veg as possible – but I still peer into other trolleys and form a (probably incorrect) opinion of their lifestyle. Glad you took the healthy option!

  4. We only eat there in times of utter desperation – like road trips where there’s nothing else for miles. I find it’s great going down but then as we drive away, I start to regret every bite xx

  5. Sometimes because we all need to be a little bad on occassion, I will have a breakfast sausage muffin (without the egg) .. it is the hash browns that I lust after.. on the way back from the feed store, it is a two hour round trip drive and I get so tired that a coffee and hash brown is my reward half way! Bad Bad I know.. but I hate rules don’t you, we are allowed to be bad as often as we choose. Have a lovely day.. c

    • You are absolutely right C, we do all need to be a little bad on occasion, especially on a 2 hour round trip – you need your sustenance to keep going and yes, I hate rules and I really don’t enjoy being told what to do. My family have for the longest time told me to cut my hair shorter, so guess what, it’s long! Haa. Have a wonderful day and stay warm. 🙂 xo

  6. Can I tell you this and have you still trust my recipes? We used to go to McDonald’s often on weekends and buy the kids a happy meal while we had the Egg McMuffin breakfast sandwich (I think that’s what they’re called?). It’s a dangerous addiction.. I’m not sure how healthy any of those meals are, but they come in handy when you’re traveling. That’s about the only time, now, that we give in and buy a burger from either McDonald’s or A&W.. when we’re on the road heading to the lake in the summer. So.. about once a year I guess. It’s so much better to make your own.. and their food is so addicting!! If I got into that habit.. lord give me strength!!xx

  7. you are hilarious.
    are you getting a percentage from Macs for this post?!! Haaaaa.
    I LOVE Macdonald Ice Cream Cones!!!! WOWWWWWWWWWWW. and they are really low in calories.
    Luv to you, Sweets. xx

    • Oh I wish I was getting a percentage form McDonalds – that would be awesome. Damn, now I have to go back and have one of their ice cream cones! I shall report back ASAP 😀
      Love to you too my dear Kim. 🙂 xoxoxo

  8. I can’t claim to be a martyr on this one, but really the only time would be on road trips when there is nothing else around… the sugar and fat in the buns makes them melt in your mouth so you don’t have to chew (that’s what Rosemary Stanton once told me)… and the fries… have you ever listened to someone else eating the fries? They squelch with the fat coming out of them. Ugh!

    • It seems they have got there marketing right being everywhere on the roads! I don’t think I would like to see a breakdown on what all goes into McDonalds. Have a super day Lizzy. 🙂 xo

  9. I don’t think you should have any misgivings for your meal. It was good and served you well in your time constraints. My special order for no ketchup, add mustard and extra pickles makes my fast food order at a McDonalds a problem so I don’t usually stop there. 🙂

  10. Their coffee is quite good. I do have a big Mac when I am travelling long distance on the highway and there is little choice.This is a once or twice a year occurrence so I call it a “treat”.

  11. McDonald’s is not super cheap here in New Zealand and I’m not really a fan. I can make better and cheaper burgers at home.

    My husband loves McDonald’s though and the only time we get it is when we are at airports. It’s the one thing at the airport that isn’t double market price and consistent in quality. I dunno, something about airport sushi and salad makes me queasy. Must the idea that airports do not close and therefore there is no “end of day” sushi.

    • I would have though McDonalds would be cheap the world over. I agree, we can all make better and cheaper burgers at home but I was grateful for the convenience and cost when I needed it. Hmm, sushi at an airport – not sure I would be too keen on that either. Have a super day. 🙂 xo

  12. Hey Mandy, I’m from the States so of course I’ve eaten there. Plus I have a daughter who may not ever go near a McD’s again in her life but they all want to eat at the ones that have the indoor play yard. Around here you can bet on finding a Burger King within a few feet of any McDonald’s and I think the Burger King (although still not healthy) is at least less “gloopy” than the McDonalds. The only time I grab one now is when there’s no other alternative and I’m in my car which means my big doggie’s in the backseat too. I just found out this summer that Burger King offers what they call a ‘diet burger’ which is just the beef (?) patty and that’s perfect for Lola. I don’t know what they put in those fries but dogs LOVE them. Now even my dog isn’t one to eat just a potato so there’s something else on them.
    There was a movie made a while ago called Supersize Me where a guy decided to see the effects of eating only McDonalds food for 30 days. He was followed by a doctor and nutritionist and I think they had to call it off before the 30 days was up because of health problems.
    But hey, Mandy – 1 time? I absolutely understand but if you go a second time wear a disguise 🙂

    • We don’t have Burger King here, sure it will eventually open up and if Lola approves, well then so will I. I remember the movie you are talking about – scary stuff! I actually didn’t remember it until you mentioned it. Might have not gone had I remembered it! Have a beautiful day Diane. 🙂 xo

  13. the first time I ever went to a Macca’s was in the US in the 80s. after that I avoided them then I started to work and would end up meeting colleagues first thing in the morning before going onto demonstrations or whatever, they had the cleanest loos, were open at 6am – you get the picture!

  14. Ha! Just read the comment above – yes, the bathrooms are quite clean. We’ve been in many across the states on our road trips. It’s our preferred pit stop. We haven’t eaten there in a quite a while, but have many times throughout our lives. Mr. N has sworn it off for good after he watched what they put into stuff. I mostly stay away from it, but every now and then (maybe once a year or every few years) I have to have a burger and fries. It is so bad, it’s good. 🙂

Don't be shy, leave a reply. :-)

