Running…

You may remember my post about getting fit after 40 last year where I mentioned I am learning how to run with the guidance of my ever loving and patient Pete, well…

You will be proud to know that after 3 months I am still running 6 days a week and I am averaging between 3.5km and 4km with each run.  I am working my way up to the 5km mark but then…

Trail runners

Dusty Trail runners

PT Master Pete changed my shoes.  Oh boy, it’s like learning how to run all over again.  Seems breaking in a new pair of trail running shoes isn’t as easy for me as most.  What a silly excuse but I am sticking to it for now. 😉

Since starting to run a few things have changed:

  • I’m running much further and walking less 🙂
  • My shins don’t burn any more 🙂
  • I am more motivated on the days I wear the T-Shirt my friend Kim in Minnesota sent me.  Kim’s sister Kay was murdered by her husband and Kim and her family started an annual “Kay Marie Sisto Memorial 5km walk/run” to bring awareness to the dangers of domestic violence and I am honoured to have received one of the special T-Shirts made for this event.  Thank you dear Kim. ❤
Kay's T-Shirt

No time for ironing – wash and wear

  • I have lost a few kilos.  Never been easier to loose weight, so if you want to shed a few I can highly recommend going around the block a few times. 😉
  • I am burning less calories for the same distance. 😦
  • I am eating more
  • My breathing is improving 🙂
  • My core body temperature has risen
  • I don’t plod any more, I have managed to find my stride, I think
  • Idiotic villagers walking their dogs without a lead and other idiotic villagers not keeping their dogs in they yards!  This really irks me as I am scared of dogs and  there are laws.  I now have to run with pepper spray!
  • My body is looking worse.  I thought I would be all firm and beautiful by now, but alas, it seems to be the reverse. 😦  I am told it will improve – when though seems to be a long way away.
  • I don’t listen too much to what other people say I should be doing

And a few things have not:

  • I have not lost my drive to run 😀
  • I get red in the face 😐
  • My nose runs which is somewhat irritating
  • I sweat like a pig – I know, not very lady like
  • I don’t enjoy running with the sun in my face
  • I have not been for a morning run
  • I don’t stretch after running, actually I don’t always stretch before either

I am sure to remember a few more things after I post this, oh well, clearly the brain has not improved. 😉

36 thoughts on “Running…

    • Hi Anne, I am not entirely sure, I think it is just my muscles getting warm the more I am exercising plus it has been extremely hot and humid so I guess I am taking longer to cool down after a run, wish I had a better explanation. Have a super day. 🙂 xo

  1. I am not a runner, I guess I would never be one…I have a stepper at home and manage a 50-minute-stepping daily and 1- hour-yoga…don’t think I am losing any extra pounds, (might weigh even more) but my body is firmer. The problem I have is I don’t sweat much or not at all..

    • Angie I also believed I would never be a runner hence the reason for my late start after turning 40! I promise you if I can persevere anybody can. The only advice I know to give you is to wear a good pair of shoes and start slowly. Have a super day and kudos to you for doing 2 hours of excercise a day! 🙂 xo

    • Aww, thanks Tanya! So nice having such lovely support! I wish I could get to Minnesota to give Kim a BIG hug! Maybe one day… Have a beautiful day – I have just printed out your olive oil pastry recipe – may have to get cracking with that tomorrow. 🙂 xo

  2. Good on you for keeping on going and pushing through. How lovely of Kim to send you one of her special t-shirts. I’m wondering whether to give jogging another go. I definitely need to exercise more – 2 squad swims/week is just not enough xx

    • It really was special of Kim to send me a t-shirt. Charlie, you have the most beautiful figure – I can only wish to look like you so in my opinion you really don’t need to anything more. Have a lovely day. 🙂 xo

  3. Good for you for keeping at it…I admire your stamina. My husband and I go for a fast walk every morning when we are in Maine in the summer but don’t during the winter….just to cold. 🙂

    • Thanks Karen. Hmm, even though our winters aren’t anywhere near as cold as yours I have been thinking about it and hoping I will be able to keep at it then too. I might just have to adjust the times I run. Have a lovely day. 🙂 xo

  4. Wow, you are dedicated and I am so impressed at how great you’re doing. Funny how a pair of shoes can throw your stride off and what a beautiful shirt to run in – that color is stunning. Such a sad story but the family is doing a wonderful thing by bringing awareness to the issue of abuse. I’m sure there are some days when you’d prefer to curl up with a book and pretend that you already did your run. My daughter is still pushing her limits to build up her distance for the Boston Marathon this spring but the weather has been brutal for walking, never mind running. She also has asthma so the cold wind makes it hard for her to breathe some times. It helps to have someone or some cause to motivate you but as she found, clothes are definite motivators – got to have the right clothes not just for comfort but to look good when you sweat.

    • Thanks Diane! I am a wee bit worried about what’s going to happen when winter gets here – eek! Wow, I am so impressed that your daughter still runs with asthma. I am here cheering her on with my pompoms and I agree it helps to look good while sweating. Have a beautiful weekend. 🙂 xo

  5. Your post is so encouraging. I’ve been trying to find my groove with running, and I had…but then some ankle pain. Hoping that will subside and I’ve tried to help it along by walking more and running a bit less. I can see why you would be honored to wear that special t-shirt.

    • Thanks very much Allison. I too had a bit of a setback with my knee but I was determined not to let it get the better of me and unfortunately the only way was for me to rest it completely. Have a happy weekend and hope your ankle is better soon. 🙂 xo

    • Awww Kim, thank you for so much love! People who see me running must think I only one shirt because I wear Kim’s T most days – straight from the wash before it has a chance to be ironed. Have a beautiful love filled and happy weekend friend. 🙂 xoxoxoxo

  6. I do so admire your sticking with this and all of it’s pleasurable and not so pleasurable results! I’ve tried and tried to run, and am telling myself I will try again, though I have a decade of years on you, I think! But you’re inspiring me, Mandy. 🙂

    • I am so happy to be inspiring you Betsy. Why not start with a lot of walking with very short bursts of a slow almost shuffle jog. I am sure you would get into it like this. Have a wonderful weekend. 🙂 xo

  7. I can’t wait to get back into running. It’s not quite advisable with snow and ice all around. 🙂 I miss it though. As soon as we thaw, you can bet I’ll be out there. I’m with you – new shoes do take some getting used to. And like you, I don’t stretch before or after either. And I do agree it’s a great way to lose weight, but I would agree that it doesn’t get your body quite looking the way you expect it will. I have to combine my running with my hot yoga. That seems to be a magic combo for me. Funny though – each separately doesn’t quite work. It has to be a mix. I love this post Mandy! So honest and inspiring. I’m really itching to get out there now!

    • Hi Kristy. So pleased I am not the only one who doesn’t stretch although I am sure your yoga helps. Think I should investigate getting back into yoga again. It’s been a couple of years since I did yoga. Have a lovely week ahead and thank you so much for such a lovely comment. I am so happy to be able to be inspiring to others. 🙂 xo

  8. Good for you Mandy! Those are some swanky looking runners. You know it is the funniest thing that when I used to run my face would get all red but the area all around my lips would be stark white. Go figure. Do you get a runners high or is it still all painful for you from the beginning, middle and the end? I used to run whenever I had time. Now, I run to the refrigerator. Does that still count…? Take Care, BAM

    • Thanks Bam! Ooo, running to the fridge definitely counts! 😉 I have just started getting a runners high which is incredible! I just said to my mom yesterday that running is ridiculously addictive! I must say the first 500 meters of any run seems to be the hardest – must be until I am properly warmed up I guess. I achieved a goal yesterday of running the furtherest I have before having to walk a little before running again and I am sure half the neighbourhood heard me shout with joy! Have a lovely day. 🙂 xo

  9. I am not a runner but I do use my elliptical machine and sometimes do low impact aerobic, should increase the time on the former and be more regular on the latter, you are my incentive. I too perspire a lot may be worse than a pig.

    • Norma, what a great compliment, thank you! I will be cheering you on. I have been told that the fitter you are, the more you sweat, so you and I must be super fit. 😉 Have a lovely day. 🙂 xo

Don't be shy, leave a reply. :-)

