My Running Milestones

You will be very proud to hear I now run the whole course of 3.5km to 4km.  Yippee.  Yay! Woohoo.  So exciting! It literally just happened over night.  Not long after I did my last post about how things were going I set out to reaching 1.5km non stop and did it, battled a wee bit to do it again the next day and then a few days following that I was running almost the whole circuit with short bursts of walking in between and then voilà I was running the whole lot.

Running

Even though I am slow at achieving my goals, I am now back on track to attaining my 5km goal. 🙂

I have learnt a few things along the way:

  • I can run further than I think I can;
  • The first part of a run is the hardest;
  • I think up hills are easier than down, I haven’t quite decided yet although I would rather run on a flat road any day of the week;
  • It is much easier running on the road than off-road, on the gravel, grass and the like but I will stick to my trail running;
  • Running with an ipod has helped tremendously as I don’t get distracted with listening to my “heavy breathing” I rather focus on the music which helps distract me when I am feeling tired.  I still need to figure out how many beats per minute I run so I can run in time with the beat of the music with the same beats per minute.  For now I am very happy listening to Adele for the most part, KT Tunstall, John Mayer, Nora Jones and Bill Withers and running faster and slower as I go.
  • Taking shorter strides allows me to run further as I don’t tire as easily as with a long stride.  When I am fitter, I will increase my gait;
  • I prefer shorter roads, long ones just don’t seem to end;
  • Running the whole route has slowed my running down but I will pick it up again;
  • I don’t see too many people on the road but when I do, it motivates me to keep running and not maybe cheat and walk, especially when I am tired;
  • Rest days are important but I don’t like taking days off.

How is your exercising routine going?

38 thoughts on “My Running Milestones

  1. Congratulations, you are doing great. I walk as fast as my legs will carry me but I can’t run…I’m too klutzy and would probably kill myself. 🙂

    • Well, a lot of people say that fast walking is better than running as it has less impact on your joints. I also thought I was too klutzy to run but I am getting better. Have lovely day. 🙂 xo

  2. Congratulations Mandy on not just your running but today you were featured on Network blogs as the blog of the day. I used to run for years and I agree the first mile is always the hardest then after that it seemed like I could run forever. Careful with your knees especially if you are having pain running down the hill it might be your patellar tendon is getting stressed. Flat surfaces and on the grass is best for our knees. Keep up the good work.

    • Oh wow! How incredibly cool that I was featured Bam. Thanks for letting me know. Not sure I would know otherwise.
      I prefer flat roads, purely because they are easier – bit of a cheat I am. Have a lovely day. :-)xo

  3. Congrats Mandy! I cannot wait to start running again. The weather has just been too snowy/icy and cold. I did get one run in last week and it was so nice to be out, but I could tell I hadn’t run in a while. I definitely agree that an iPod is a must. I have to have music. And I agree you can run farther than you think. I usually say to the next tree (or mailbox) and when I get there, I pick the next marker. I always go farther than I think I will. Looking forward to hearing your continued progress. You’ll be running the 5k no problem soon. I know it!

  4. I am in awe of you Miss Running Woman. I did the 5km walk/run for breast cancer several years ago but fast walked most of the way. I will now stick to waiting for you at the finish line with a big bottle of water and then I’ll get the cool bag out with the wine 😉 Big hug to you Mandy

  5. Wooo Hooo…way to go Mandy! This is so exciting & it sounds like you really feel good about yourself which is important. Just know that there will be some days that you might feel discouraged or when you feel like you just have accomplished as much as you’d like. You can’t let that get you down. I know every time my daughter calls with how disappointed she was with her time or how far she was able to go, she was right back at it and the next time was better. She’s been very fortunate to have a compatible running partner who will also be doing the Boston Marathon and they’ve done a great job encouraging each other. And don’t forget – a cute outfit makes all the difference in the world!

    • Thanks Diane! I don’t think I am good enough yet to get too upset with myself with times although I do get a little disappointed that I am not improving my time yet. Then again, I am slow on the update. I desperately want to get to being able to run with Pete. I am still a little slow to keep up with him at the moment. I hope you will do a post on your daughters run. Have a beautiful day. 🙂 xo

  6. I’m glad the running is getting easier, that you’re able to go further distances and that you’re feeling better about it. I still need to go and buy some new shoes and some orthotics before I venture into jogging again xx

    • I hope to be completely “into” running in the next month or two Charlie. I have lots of catching up to do with starting so late. Have a lovely day and good luck with getting new shoes and orthotics. 🙂 xo

  7. Congratulations to you Mandy! That is awesome. My exercise routine has been non-existent here lately as I’m studying web site design and mostly sitting at my computer. I do get out occasionally to power walk and need to do that this weekend. I’m feeling inspired by your progress! 🙂

  8. Way to go, Mandy! Good to see you’ve stuck with it long enough to see such great results. They’ll help to keep you motivated. When’s your first marathon? We have one here in Chicago, you know. You should plan your trip in October so you can take part. Imagine all the pasta I’ll feed you before the race to load you with carbs. 🙂

    • I was positive I approved this comment before the one for the IMP post. Clearly I am going coo-coo. Oh well. I think I was thinking about all that gorgeous pasta I am going to be eating. I will have to come extra early for extra carbo loading. 😀 Great plan! Have an awesome day John. 🙂 xo

Don't be shy, leave a reply. :-)

