Running, running, running

A few more running bits and bobs.

5km route

This is my normal 5km route.                                                                                                                            The thicker lines are where I run the same section of road twice.

  • I have included wrist weights to my daily running in the hopes it will help the old arms a bit. *
  • I am very slowly in minuscule increments improving my times.  I was hoping I would have improved a little more by now but as Pete reminds me, at least I am being consistent.  I have managed to run 5.2km in just under 40 minutes (39min30sec)
  • Running is a really good stress reliever.  I cannot tell you how often I have been thankful I can go for a run after somebody has subjected me to their drama.
  • It never ceases to amaze me when people drive passed me or if somebody is in their driveway when I am running by, how they all seem to get a kick out of yelling “come on, faster, lift those feet”.  Why do they find it so amusing?
  • I have come to the realisation I am not a graceful runner nor do I look like a runner.  No matter as I am the one running as opposed to all those with opinions who sit on the couch, alongside those who tell me to run faster.  That sounded a little nasty, sorry.
  • I am able to munch on a few naughties without too much guilt as I seem to be running it all off, phew!🙂  I can’t quite satisfy my appetite like I used to and eat loads more and for the first time in over 40 years, I am craving carbs!  John would be so proud with the amount of pasta I gobble up.
  • For the most part I am running 5km with each run which is great and I have settled into a routine of after taking a day off, my first run is about a minute slower than my best time then my second, third, fourth and fifth (sometimes sixth) runs, I get a little faster with each run.  That’s my method, not sure if it is right or not but it works for me.

How’s your exercise programme going?

* I have subsequently bought heavier wrist weights and running with an additional 2.3kg has slowed me down a bit.  I am now running 5km in about 41 minutes, all after just cracking the 40 minute mark.  Hope to get back there soon.

PS. I will tell you soon about a 7.5km trail run Pete and I did – it was awesome!

44 thoughts on “Running, running, running

  1. Awesome. So proud of you, Mandy.

    And to those people yelling “come on, faster, lift those feet”. I say, Oh, you don’t want to know!!

    Xxxx LOoooooooooooooVE from MN.

  2. Love your running updates Mandy. I think 5.2km in 40 minutes is fantastic!!! I finally started my running again. I’ve been going for two weeks now. I alternate between 4 miles and 2.5 miles. It’s taking me a while to get my endurance back up again, but I’m making steady progress. And you’re right – it’s such a stress reliever!!!🙂

    • Thanks Kristy! I am hoping to improve my times too – Pete reckons I should take more breaks in between runs. I might give that a try and see how I go. Well done to you! Isn’t it amazing how long it takes to get back to where you once were. Happy running! 🙂 xo

  3. Sounds like your running routine is going great! I’ve unfortunately strayed away from my exercise routine😦 I’m hoping I’ll find the motivation when I need to start getting fit for engagement photos haha. Will keep an eye on your running posts for inspiration🙂

  4. Way to go, Gorgeous! I keep falling off the intended wagon regarding fitness, and I do believe it’s time I took your lead and got my little old pants in gear. I shall have to ask you to hold me accountable, ’cause I have proven the worst possible taskmistress in this endeavor!!! My goal is simply to get rid of some of the unwanted jiggle in my upper arms and midriff. I am greatly inspired by your dedication, my sweet!!
    xoxoxo,
    Kath
    Happy autumn, my love.

    • Kath, thank you for so much love! You are a true friend, thank you! I do believe once you get passed the pain of it all and the endorphins kick in, you will be well on your way to staying on track, I promise! It’s just getting there that is the challenge. I found the secret is finding “that” something that works for me. Why don’t you start with some brisk walks – just short ones to start for a while then slowly increase your distance and possibly some weights like I have. I would love to hear how your get on. Have a beautiful day Kath, I look forward to hearing when you start so I can keep you motivated. 🙂 xoxoxo

  5. Congrats on persevering and keeping on keeping on. I can’t believe people yell out comments to you! I used to run and no one ever did that to me! My little guy is in a cross country running group that meets every Monday after school. They run about 7kms in an hour with stretching and warm-ups etc. He loves it but yes, I do feel very lazy on the sidelines. The fact that you can eat a whole lot more has given me the nudge I need to perhaps giving jogging another shot! xx

    • Thanks Charlie. 7km in an hour! I need to pick up my game to keep up with the little ones. I can’t tell you how lovely it is eating more of what I want – its heavenly. Good luck with getting back into jogging – I am sure you are a little sceptical after hurting yourself. Have a wonderful day.🙂 xo

  6. John is happy to learn you’re loving your pasta, Mandy, but I’m even more impressed by your progress. Way to go! I cannot wait to learn of you 7.5km trail run. Now, don’t let those fools bother you with their supposed witticisms. Be like Dory in “Finding Nemo.” Just keep running. Just keep running. 🙂

    • Aww, thanks John! Yes, I shall have to have a very short term memory – oh that is fantastic, then I won’t even realise how far I have run – excellent plan!
      Have a beautiful day friend.🙂 xo

    • Thanks Tanya! It has been a wonderful journey so far. Here’s to it getting better and better. Have a beautiful day – I could go a plate full of your ribs right now! 🙂 xo

  7. I had to smile about your wrist weights. Years ago my husband had me buy him “heavy hands” weights to carry on his exercise route. After telling me that I bought too light of ones, on the first day he carried them he left them by the side of the road halfway through and had to go back for them later.🙂 A little added weight can slow you down but I’m sure you will regain your time.

    • Hi Karen. Isn’t it amazing how added weight can slow you done! When I go with Pete on these now longer runs, I opt for the lighter weights – think I would be crawling home if I were to wear the heavier ones. Have a super day.🙂 xo

  8. I’m very impressed. I do swimming and yoga every week, but I’ve been thinking about taking up running as we live right next to a park. I will be 32 in a couple of weeks and I never did any running when I was younger. Have you any advice? Emma xx

    • Hi Emma, you are already off to a great start. I only started running after 40 so you will do much better than me, plus you are already in the swing of exercising. I am not sure how far you swim but your lungs are clearly already quite strong so I would recommend starting with 2 days of running a week to find a routine which will work for you. Start slow with say 3km using a walk / run technique. Start with running for say one minute and walking for 3 minutes with each run. I would also recommend starting on a flat surface (no running hills) until you have found your pace. I am sure you will be running the whole course in no time but rather set aside more time than you need to keep you motivated. I kept to the shorter distances until I would running the whole route before increasing my distance. Hope this helps and let me know if you need any more advice. Have a lovely day.🙂 xo

  9. The wrist weights are a great idea. You are really doing super with this & I love how you’ve mapped out your course. Funny how people just don’t know what to say but they still feel they have to say something … we’ve got to come up with a good comeback…let me work on that. I’d bet most of the people telling you to lift those feet could use a butt lift though. I’ve yet to see many runners who have the perfect gait although the ones that do crack me up are those who are actually walking but do those arm motions as if they’re really working it. Come on, if you’re going to run – then run but if you’re just walking do think the arms are fooling anyone.!

  10. You are a gun Miss Mandy. I am totally & absolutely proud of you girlfriend. 5km in under 40 is awesome, and with weights too. Your running story has encouraged me to get back into my running, hopefully my 30 day Bikram yoga challenge will help with my breathing.🙂 Wishing you a wonderful rest of week lovely one.🙂 xxx

Don't be shy, leave a reply. :-)

