Running and Riding

Pete has been the most wonderful PT Master / Coach with my running and motivates me to keep improving on what I have already achieved.  Just before I decided to get some viral bug of sorts, we did a couple of runs and rides – they were awesome!

First up was a 20km ride which was mostly road riding – it was wonderful to see how my stamina has improved since I started running although not having ridden for quite a while, my derrière was not very happy.

7.54km run

It doesn’t look like much from the picture but these 7.5km were beautiful!

Then we did a 7.5km trail run which took us onto old closed roads, running alongside sand dunes, had us scaling fences and climbing up and over a few inclines.  Best of all was having a family (herd) of no less than 12 kudu ran across the trail a few meters in front of us.  They are quite majestic when they run considering they are such big antelope.  It was incredible to see them.  They were quite interested in watching us run passed with their big ears listening to our every step.  Pete keeps saying he wants to get a GoPro camera – that way I could share with you exactly what we see.

Long beach ride 1

Next up was another 20km ride which started on beautiful old overgrown dirt roads full of spoor and droppings, we assume kudu, smaller buck, no doubt bushbuck and small wild cats.  The winding gravel track led us to what we thought would be a deserted (or possibly private) piece of land with kilometres of private beach.  Lo and behold there were 3 parked 4×4 SUV vehicles with the occupants spread out on the beach fishing and picnicking.

Long beach ride 28

First prize to the person who can spot what should not be in the picture.

The only way onto the beach was down a very steep set of wooden steps which were easier to descend than I thought with a bike under one arm and camera under the other.  The ride on the beach was magnificent – we were confident we would find more whale bones but alas we did not.

Long beach ride 55

We rode on the low water mark where the sand is it’s hardest and then over rocks and pebbles until we had to walk our bikes over a few dunes back to another dirt road where we have ridden before – I remember the steep hills very well, only difference now is I am stronger and can traverse them a lot easier. Yay.

Last up was a 8.2km run which was just before I realised I had a bug.  It would have been the most brilliant run had I not been so tired.  I didn’t know I was as tired as I was until I tried to keep my pace as with previous runs.

Saddest part is the viral whatever it was (yes, I went to the doctor) kept me from running for a whole week!  It was pure hell I tell you.  I was climbing the walls not being able to hit the road for my run.  I am all better now and back into the swing of things.

How’s your exercise routing going?

42 thoughts on “Running and Riding

    • Seems knees are the least happy with any form of exercise Celia. I must say, since I changed my running shoes, mine are much happier. I am very slow at attaining my goals so don’t feel that I am that fit yet. Have a wonderful day.🙂 xo

  1. Fun post Mandy and glad your feeling better. I think after this work out I would need at least a week of recovery or a stack of your crepe/ pancakes. BTW I featured your crepes on my blog yesterday. They are so delicious. Take care, BAM

    • These were great treks Julie, I thoroughly enjoy our little adventures. Looking out the window today there is a fale blowing which is not the most fun to run in so it will be a challenge. Have a super day.🙂 xo

  2. I’m sorry to hear you had to take a week off running. That would be music to my ears right now! It’s great to hear that you’re enjoying running and riding. Will you be signing up for a triathlon any time soon? xx

    • Charlie, I do hope you are feeling better today and that your muscles aren’t quite as sore. Hmm, me, a triathlon, not likely. I don’t enjoy the competitive thing. I know I should push myself outside my comfort zones but then I keep reminding myself I do this for fun and use that as my excuse! Have a wonderful day.🙂 xo

  3. Glad you’re better Mandy – and what an amazing place you live in. Those runs must have been incredible, although I’d have taken it at a slower pace! What did I miss in the photo…you?!

  4. Your running is incredible, so strong and such awesome stamina😀
    And I am glad to hear you are much better, and can enjoy your routine again – I also have a viral right now, it is so painful, so I understand how good it feels to have it go away🙂

    Cheers
    Choc Chip Uru

    • Oh no CCU, so sorry you are not well, and with a viral thing too! Hope you are on the mend and feeling like yourself again soon. Thank you for such a lovely compliment, I don’t think I am doing that well yet but I am getting there in small increments. Have a lovely day.🙂 xo

    • All better thanks Kim! What a story that was. Very frustrating now feeling well and not being able to shake it off. There was a 2 litre plastic bottle laying in front of the rock on the top right of the photo. So annoying seeing things like that. Love to you in MN from a very windy and somewhat chilly Sundays River.🙂 xoxoxo

  5. Nooooo… you poor little possum being sick, thats the worst. Again, I curse the oceans between us, I would have delivered heat packs, scones, booze and Disney movies. We really need to work on that ‘Beam me up’ machine.🙂 Good to hear you are back on track though!

    Good lordy you are fit woman, very impressive. Its great when you really start noticing the improvements. You guys should totally get a GoPro, itd be fantastic to adventure with you.

    I am up to day 17 of a 30 day Bikram Yoga challenge, managed to pull a muscle in my back washing my hair, so have had to take a few days to rest. But loving the way my body, mind and spirit are feeling. So clear.🙂

    Hope you have a wonderful rest of week lovely lady. xxx

    • I know! Curse then damn oceans! I don’t do the sick thing very often soo… by the time I do feel under the weather, hopefully we would have solved that “beam me up” machine glitch cause I want heat packs, scones, booze and Disney movies. Would it be too much to throw in a massage too?🙂
      Day 17 of 30 – woohoo, outstanding darlin. I would love to do a Bikram Yoga challenge – AGAIN, damn these oceans separating us! Bugger though about pulling a muscle, you poor dear. I insist you go for a relaxing massage, right away!
      Have a brilliant rest of the week friend.🙂 xoxoxo

  6. Ugh, sorry about the virus, that is truly yucky stuff. It is amazing how our body adapts and stamina builds — my first 2 mile walk after surgery was slow and the second mile took took more effort, the very next day the same walk was a faster pace throughout. It’s crazy too, how consistent exercise can become something we look forward to, we miss it that good feeling when we’re done.🙂
    Keep on, keepin’ on.

  7. Sorry to hear that you were sick! You have been doing a wonderful job improving…good for you! Your runs and rides and scenery look so wonderful! Was it a plastic bottle in the picture?

    • Thanks Smidge! Hope you can get out soon. Our weather is starting to settle into winter which I am not looking forward to, so here’s hoping it is a mild one. Have a beautiful weekend.🙂 xo

  8. I am certainly hoping that you’re feeling well & got rid of the nasty ol’ thing that found you. Wow, wow, wow….that’s all I can say about your run & the biking! Even if you’re riding on the low water mark, that’s still quite a workout riding on sand. But what a beautiful area you have to bike and run – it must help inspire you.
    As for me, I’m not running yet but I’m at least doing some little walks. I’ve been climbing the walls wanting to get out & do things but then I messed things up by deciding to take my walker for a walk & heading up our street (yes, uphill). I thought I was doing a good job of it but got about halfway & thought to myself – “well how am I going to get back home?” Got to think of things in a little different way now until I build some muscles back up. I did make it home and was glad my physical therapist came by the next day because I guess I had pushed things a little too much & loosen up the joint a bit. So she put me on a few days more of bed rest with just little exercise & now I’m back to much smaller walks. It’s so good to at least be up & around and able to stay awake long enough to catch up on your posts.

    • Hi Diane, so lovely to have you back, I have missed you. I see you are over zealous just like me by wanting to get back on track. Please take care of yourself and I will be here cheering you on with every step you take to being back on your feet. The Comrades Marathon is on today plus I have Pete home so its a wonderfully lazy Sunday watching all the runners coming in after running more than 85km – running this ultramarathon is such an incredible achievement, one however I have no desire to do. Have a beautiful day.🙂 xo

      • Well I am determined to get back to doing things as soon as possible so you know how frustrating it can be with these restrictions. At least the new hip feels good and it doesn’t make any awful crunching noises like the old one.

Don't be shy, leave a reply. :-)

