In My Kitchen – June 2014

It can’t possibly be half way through the year already!  I remember reading Celia’s IMK posts when we were living in Mauritius and promising I would join in just as soon as we got back home – that was 3 years ago!  Before any more time runs away, lets have a look at what’s in my kitchen.

In my kitchen…

Are strelizia’s aka bird of paradise, aka crane flower from the garden brightening up the cold days.

Strelitzia's

In my kitchen…

Was a fun gift idea of Pete’s which we put together for a friends birthday.  We used old tins, sea sand, plain white candles and glass lantern covers.  You can replace the tins with metal mugs, add shells or pebbles on top of the sand, use fancier candles, possibly add a ribbon.  We like the simplicity of these.

Candle lanterns

In my kitchen…

Is a lovely olive dish and forks, a birthday gift from my brother Chris and his wife Elmien.

olive dish and forks

In my kitchen…

Is an impromptu gift from my dad.  These biscuits are frightfully moreish!

Angels nougat biscuits

In my kitchen…

Is a new brand of coffee pods I found for Pete’s Nespresso machine.  I am wondering if they are a little more expensive being individually wrapped which doesn’t suit the container I keep all of Pete’s other pods in so these get forgotten in the cupboard.

Cafe Impresso pods

In my kitchen…

Is a cake stand, a gift from my cousin Renee.  I love the detail on the rim.

Cake stand

What’s in your kitchen this month?  Please remember to link back to Celia’s blog Fig Jam and Lime Cordial if you partake in the fun and drop her a quick note to let her know when your post will be up.

68 thoughts on “In My Kitchen – June 2014

  1. Oh wow, what a gorgeous assortment of goodies in your kitchen! I love those flowers, one of my absolute favourites. I love the home made candle holders… very clever and really quite stylish too! And that cake stand, wow!

    • Thanks Lizzy! We have about 7 more strelizia’s about to open – can’t wait – I am arguing with myself to leave them in the garden or to bring them inside again. Seems the candle holders are quite popular. have a wonderful day. 🙂 xo

  2. I love EeeeeeeeeeeeeVERYTHING.
    The cake platter is stunningly unique.
    The olive tray.
    But mostly, the crane flower.
    I cannot believe my eyes at this most magical creation.
    xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx LOVE to you, Sweet Mandy.

    • Morning Bam. Nespresso are fetching the machine today for a service while it is still in warranty – seems the water isn’t heating as it should and the pods aren’t being punctured quite right either. Evidentially it is a build up of scale which I am not entirely convinced about as we only use rain water. Think I should rather have waited though until Pete is away as it will take about 6 days to get the machine back. Poor boy, will have to drink regular. Have a wonderful week ahead. 🙂 xo

  3. Your birds of paradise are beautiful!! I would love to have those in my kitchen. And your olive dish. I have one as well, but I don’t use it often enough. I’ve had it for years. And I bet that cake stand will really make your cakes stand out. It’s such a nice finishing touch to have your cake beautifully displayed! Thanks for the peek inside your kitchen!

    • Hi Lauren, thanks for stopping by. I am always amazed at the beauty of the birds of paradise – very special having them in our garden. I hope to think of another use for the olive dish as it is so unique and can be quite the conversation piece too. Heading over to see what you have in your kitchen this month. Have a wonderful day. :-)xo

  4. Beautiful! Everything in your kitchen is so stylish 🙂 and that Cake Stand looks fantastic even without a cake on it! I also have the same problem with the year getting away??? Thanks for sharing!

  5. In my old house we had birds of paradise and I used to enjoy cutting them to bring into the house where they would definitely be a very prominent feature. I love your candles! And how nice of your father to give you an impromptu gift xx

    • We have a few more that are going to be opening soon so will have a lovely feature in the house for a while. Ah yes, dear daddy – so sweet! Have a super day Charlie. 🙂 xo

  6. What a lovely cake stand, it has such a delicate design to it. The bird of paradise reminds me of all my years living in Florida and my gardens there.

  7. You have Bird of Paradise in your own garden? How awesome is that! The only place I’ve seen them growing in the States is Hawaii which is almost not really the states. I absolutely love the candles holders you made. You guys are so creative and they are such a wonderful gift. Also love that olive dish with the forks, very pretty. And your dad…aren’t day’s great?

  8. Thanks for a look in your kitchen, it all looks lovely. Have never seen those biscuits, they look divine!

  9. Mandy, you made me smile so much – I remember when you were back in Mauritius, and how you’d say “I’ll be joining in when I get home” and now it feels like we’ve been peeking into your kitchen forever! Beautiful bird of paradise flowers – my mum used to grow those in her garden – and I love your creative lanterns! The little olive plate and forks are very cute too! xxx

  10. I know right?! Its half time 2014 already…. How did that happen? You have ALL the fun things in your kitchen, that cake stand is absolutely gorgeous, I want one, I really want one. Its so pretty…. Will hunt on the interwebs for my very own. The candle holders are pretty nifty too. I just wouldn’t think to make something like this, but will def have a crack, simple yet elegant. 🙂
    Wishing you a wonderful week ahead my lovely friend, hugs across the oceans. Talk soon. Mwah! xxx

      • Really??? That is the bestest news I have heard today. I just did this weird dance, clap, squeal, jump move at the thought of seeing, talking and hanging with you. Yay! And having a cake stand just like yours. Happy! Thanks lovely one. xx

        • So now we just have to finalise your dates for when you will be here, oh and I will have to see that weird dance, clap, squeal, jump move too! Have a beautiful day friend. 🙂 xoxo

  11. Time does fly by, doesn’t it? I’ve just joined in these past two months and hope I can keep it going. I love your candles, those are the sort of crafts I like to make and they’d be a perfect gift. Now that cake stand, yes, you’d better bake something up so you can photograph that, it’s gorgeous!!

Don't be shy, leave a reply. :-)

