In My Kitchen – July 2014

I was worried that by the time July rolled around we would be freezing.  I am pleasantly surprised  to say that for the most part we only have the odd really cold day with loads of berg winds in between.  Long may it last.

In my kitchen…

Are two fabulous Kenyan teas which Pete brought back for me on his last trip there.  It is hard to choose a favourite but like I have said before, I could move to Kenya for their lovely tea.

Kenya tea 2

Kenya tea 1

In my kitchen…

Is clearly very strong Kenyan coffee because even the picture is blurry.  The aroma of this coffee is intoxicating and the flavour is very deep and rich with lovely earthy undertones.

Kenya Coffee

In my kitchen…

Is another blurry photograph – clearly I have a little sugar rush from enjoying one too many of these wonderful little morsels.  These have been a standard Duty Free item since we can’t get these addictive chocolates in SA any more.  Sadly they don’t last very long in our home.

Daim chocs

In my kitchen…

Are mini spicy cherry liqueurs, a product of Namibia.  I keep forgetting to taste one so have no idea what they taste like.  I am sure though, they will warm the cockles of your heart on a cold Namibian winter evening.

Cherry liquer

In my kitchen…

Is my latest addiction.  I found these heavenly morsels as a treat for Pete but alas I polished all 4 packets before he even got home!  They are so good I called the company who make them to compliment them on their product and they kindly sent me a voucher for 8 more packets!  Oh dear, I see extra running in my future to compensate for the increased calorie intake!

Diddle daddle

What’s in your kitchen this month?  Please remember to link back to Celia’s blog Fig Jam and Lime Cordial if you partake in the fun and drop her a quick note to let her know when your post will be up.

91 thoughts on “In My Kitchen – July 2014

  1. The Kenyan tea sounds delightful. I have really gotten into tea in the last year and am really enjoying trying the different varieties. I got started on tea with the good stuff, so now I find myself very picky. Funny how that works. Great look into your kitchen Mandy!

    • I wonder if you would enjoy our South African rooibos (red bush) tea Kristy. Personally it’s not for me but I am in the minority. Rooibos tea has so many health benefits too. Please email me your postal address and I shall send you some to try. Have a lovely day.🙂 xo

    • I would love to walk you through my little kitchen Kim. That would be wonderful! I have just realised again that I am still not getting your notifications! Will pop over and see if I can unsubscribe and resubscribe. Miss reading your beautiful posts! Love to you dear across the big oceans. xoxoxo

  2. Gosh, you have some exotic items this month Mandy! Happy cooking, and eating!

  3. Hi Mandy Those Diddle Daddle’s look a lot like our lolly gobble bliss bombs (which are caramel and peanut coated popcorn. It is amazingly easy to make. All your other stuff looks good. So foreign to our eyes.

    • Isn’t’ it lovely sharing things others wouldn’t ordinarily see! I shudder to think what would happen to my waist line if I had to make caramel popcorn at home. Have a wonderful day.🙂 xo

    • Isn’t’ it lovely sharing things others wouldn’t ordinarily see! I shudder to think what would happen to my waist line if I had to make caramel popcorn at home. Have a wonderful day.🙂 xo

  4. OMG, I love Daim too and was so disappointed when they stopped selling it at Ikea. I treasure my duty free purchases when I get them🙂

  5. If I had access to the hilariously named Diddle Daddle, I’d be scoffing it down too. Though Daim bars are not available in the supermarkets in Australia, they are sold in IKEA. Next time someone visits Aus, you can get them to bring home a special delivery. Thanks for the tasty tour.

    • Hi Tiffin, the Diddle Daddle popcorn is far too addictive! I wonder what the deal is with Daim – probably just as well they aren’t readily available here. Have a super day and thanks for stopping by.🙂 xo

  6. Mmmm love those chocolates too. I may have to do an “in my kitchen” post today, as I will be having a visitor from Australia who is bringing us some aussie marshmallows….so much better than our Canadian marshmallows. The diddle daddle made me laugh, we have fiddle faddle.

    • Hi Lori. There is far too many enjoyable calories roaming around my kitchen at the moment! It would be lovely if you do a post – I would love to see what you have in your kitchen. Haa haa, fiddle faddle. have a super day.🙂 xo

    • I keep thinking, maybe just one more little treat won’t hurt – then again, all of these extra calories aren’t doing me much good! They are bad ones too. I just read the label on the mini bottles of liqueur and it doesn’t say anything. I assume it would all have been on the packaging which has now been thrown out. Sorry I can’t help. Have a lovely day Mimi.🙂 xo

  7. Mandy, I think I might have tried coffee from Kenya once, but that’s the only thing I think I’ve ever had from there. Clearly there’s a lot I’m missing out on, especially if the tea is good enough to make you want to move! I’m so glad to hear the weather has been ok – we’re just starting to get cold here, but it’s been very mild as well.. xx

    • Pete will bring more for me to try on his next trip. Sure they are all wonderful. I cannot believe the wonderful weather we have been enjoying. Yesterday was the perfect “summers” day with today being equally as fabulous. I am worried though, that at the end of this we will go into full blown freezing winter. Have a super day Celia.🙂 xo

  8. Oh that Tea looks divine! I’m glad to see that I am not alone in my obsession with Daim… I purposely don’t go to IKEA because I seem to walk out with too many packets!
    Thanks for Sharing
    Liz x

  9. All the fun things and rather different too. Oh the mini spicy cherry liqueurs from Namibia (random) look interesting, crack one and let me know, please.🙂 So, slightly off topic – Not much happening in my kitchen, ever … LOL! I have done a bunch more research on the most cost effective way to visit you, and I’ve found a cruise, I’m an ol lady traveller HA. Anyways, it stops all along the African coast, but finishes in Cape Town, thinking I can hop a train, car or plane to where ever you are.🙂 That option is mid to late 2015. Happy hump day my dearest, hugs across the oceans. Mwah! xxx

    • Tell you what, we shall crack one together when you are here.😀 Yay, we are starting to put a time to your visit. We are about an 8 hour drive away from Cape Town – it is the most magnificent drive from there to here so driving is an option, flying is much quicker though and don’t suggest a train. Well that doesn’t help you very much now does it! Depending on how you are going back home – flying after the cruise I assume, and depending on how long you can stay with us will possibly help make your decision to drive or fly – oh and cost of course. Let’s chat once you know more. YAY!!! You coming to visit! Oh this is going to be fun! Can’t wait. How many sleeps is that again until you get here…🙂 xoxoxo

  10. Kenyan tea sounds wonderful. I’m a bit tea obsessed. I can’t drink coffee because it makes me very anxious. This exercise sound fun. I will definitely join in. Emma xx

    • We should start a tea company together Emma, I cannot live without my tea. I enjoy far too many cups every day. I am looking forward to seeing what you have in your kitchen. Have a super day.🙂 xo

    • Thats brilliant to both cracking a sherry liquer and the pointers on the best way to get to you from Cape Town. I’ll most likely be with my Momma, we seem to travel a lot together, so I reckon the car/drive to you option will prob be the way to go. If you say its beautiful, sounds like I need to see it!🙂 I think a good week in your neck of the woods and I will fly home after you I think. That gives me a good idea for planning. Stay tuned for more deats.
      It really will be lots of fun, cant wait. Haha… As soon as something is booked, we can start the countdown. LOL!🙂 xoxox

  11. Sounds like you’re all set for treats and a nice cup of tea to wash it all down with. Pete is such a dear to always bring you a little something back from his trips. I would love to hear what that spicy cherry liqueur tastes like (please get back to us on that one!). Over here we have caramel corn in a box that’s been around since I was a kid called Cracker Jacks – it has peanuts in with the caramel corn AND a toy inside. We always tried to guess where the toy was – top or bottom of the box & opened that end first since that’s what we really wanted…I was usually wrong.

    • I have always said my Pete is a Saint walking the earth – sometimes to his own detriment, but I guess that goes with being a Saint. I think I shall have to dedicate a post to the cherry liqueur as so many people have asked about it. So not fair that you get a toy in your caramel popcorn and peanuts to boot. I would no doubt also guess wrong so don’t feel alone Diane – guess we should swap what we are thinking to the opposite so we are right – yes, that’s a brilliant plan! Have a lovely day and please keep us up to speed on how your hip recovery is going.🙂 xo

  12. Lots of flavors and memories from Pete’s travels and he is a sweet heart for gathering all your lovely treats. When he is back in town, you should crack open one of those cherry liqueurs and celebrate. Take Care, BAM

  13. Mandy, I’m chuckling over your caffeine & sugar rush photos. (Tickled you posted ’em!) Some days I do better with a tripod, too (lol!), but that’s what ‘real life’ is all about and your IMK post was a blessing! Thanks.

    • Hi Kim, so glad you appreciated my blurry shots. Life isn’t perfect all the time so it’s nice to be able to share a little reality.🙂 Have a wonderful weekend ahead.🙂 xo

    • Reckon I could get tongue-tied trying to say lolly gobble bliss bombs. Caramel popcorn could help solve problems of the world – haa haa. Have a super weekend Tania.🙂 xo

  14. Daim has disappeared from Australia too. We’ve loved every one we’ve eaten since being introduced to them by Swedish friends 35 years ago. You’re right, obligatory duty free shopping!

  15. I’m happy to hear that your winter has been pleasantly mild. If it turns cold you must try the spicy cherry liqueur and let us know if it warms you up.🙂

  16. Oh, your photos of the tea and coffee made me suddenly feel homesick for my childhood in Nairobi. Kahawa ya Kenya has such a unique flavour and I can still see my very naughty uncle pouring his tea from the cup into the saucer to cool it down quickly so that he could leave for work…he used to give me a cheeky wink as my grandmother would admonish him for not getting up earlier! I have seen those delicious Milka chocolate bars with bits of Daim in them – perhaps Daim have been bought out? Thanks for such a wonderful look in your kitchen x

  17. Good tea and coffee I would say are kitchen essential. You have just reminded me of how I used to love eating Daim bars… its been awhile. Thank for sharing.🙂

    • Agreed Moya, tea and coffee are absolute essentials. I can’t wait for my hubby to return from his latest trip with Daim in his suitcase. Have super day and thanks for stopping by.🙂 xo

  18. Hi Mandy, Sorry for the delay, but life has been a bit hectic lately. I have finally posted my what is in my kitchen July 2014 if you would like to read it. I have linked back to you and Ceila. Have a great week. Emma xx

    • Hi Emma, how lovely that you did an IMK post. I will head over right away to have a read. I am sure Celia won’t mind a late entry – I know she usually likes having them in by the 10th of the month. Have a wonderful week too.🙂 xo

  19. Oh, dear—I’d be truly bereft if Daim were unattainable here.😀 I do see that it’s available from several online sources, so maybe you can still get your fix somehow.😉 If not, perhaps you can get Heath bars, the British-invented/American-produced equivalent that reportedly inspired the development of Daim. My mother used to make a wonderful Heath Bar Cake that was a big favorite, too!
    xoxoxo,
    K

    • Kath, thankfully Pete travels just about every week so he is able (for the time being) to keep us in stock of our favourite little morsels. Don’t think my figure can afford to add any more niceties to the list, although I do love the sound of your mom’s cake! Have a beautiful day dear.🙂 xo

Don't be shy, leave a reply. :-)

