One foot in front of the other

Some days I feel I could conquer running 10km no problem, other days, well I just have to keep putting one foot in front of the other to finish my 5km circuit; funny how we have “on” and “off” days.

Running stuff

All my running paraphernalia minus my ipod – oops, forgot it charging

I have been doing this running thing now for 8 months – can’t believe it’s been that long.  Thought I would have been doing much better by now, then again, I’m not sure what or who I am supposed to be comparing myself to seeing as I had never run before.

My first goal was to run an entire kilometre without having to walk and then work my way to doing a 5km route under an hour.  I have successfully achieved both targets and now run my full 5km route in just over 35 and a half minutes.  Trying really hard to crack the 35 minute mark.

I mentioned previously I started running with heavier arm weights as the arms need as much help as they can get!  Seems though I may have bitten off a little more than I can chew as I start getting aches and pains in my lower back – almost stitch like plus the heavier weights have slowed my time down – updated plan is alternating between the heavier and lighter weights.

I am also changing my routine for a while to see if it will improve my times from a 6 day running week to a one day on one day off – I feel like I want to start climbing the walls when I don’t run so will see how I go with the new schedule.

The latest bit of unsolicited advice I received was, “You know you are killing yourself and you are ageing yourself with all this running.”  Well, aint that grand!  I am running 5km, not 100km!  Shame, poor old man is only trying to be helpful I guess.  He also wants to stop me running and chat for half an hour while he is out for his walk and insists on flagging me down for a chat.  I just smile and wave as I pass him now.

The strangest of things come to mind while I run and I keep telling myself to put it on the list when I get home or make the call or whatever it is and as you can guess, I don’t remember any of it when I get home, except for when I am out running again.  Might have to keep pen and paper with me – haa.

I still haven’t done a morning run – I know, can you believe it.  It will have to wait until the weather starts warming in the mornings before I venture out – great excuse to keep putting a friend off who reminds me most weeks to join in with a Parkrun – not entirely sure why I keep putting it off – don’t feel I am a proper runner yet I guess.  Geoff, I promise I will do a parkrun with you soon-ish.🙂

How is your exercise routine going?

26 thoughts on “One foot in front of the other

    • Thanks Mike! I like to keep loading my stats as recreation and not training – think the word training will push me a bit at the moment. Good luck with your training and have an awesome day.🙂 xo

  1. You are so inspiring, I am so glad your running goals are reaching fruition😀
    And we meet an elderly man who always stops us as well, though we are just walking not going hardcore like you!
    Keep it up!

    Cheers
    Choc Chip Uru

  2. I am so impressed Mandy, you’re doing great! Excellent idea to add the weights I think to your arms & alternating’s a good idea too. As for the old coot, maybe I shouldn’t say this & you can certainly edit but…Opinions are like Aholes – everybody’s got one but it’s usually best not to share yours with others.

    • Thanks Diane! Not sure I will ever get to the point where your daughter is but I enjoy myself all the same. Oh I agree about the old coot! No editing required! Have a beautiful day.🙂 xo

    • Thanks Kim! The heavier weights are clearly something to get used to but I am determined to get the arms in better shape. Have a beautiful day dear and one day you and I will walk together. It will be a long walk because we will have to much to talk about! 🙂 xoxoxo

  3. Hi Mandy, I have a book which can take you from 5-50km in 12 weeks…might be interesting for you😉 was on the Wall Street list as number 1 of a while. Let me know if you want to borrow it🙂

    • Hi Karl, hmm, not sure I want get to 50km but I would love to learn more so will definitely take you up on your offer to borrow your book, thank you! Let me know when I can come and collect it. Have an awesome day.🙂 xo

  4. Far out brussel sprout… You are a super star, inspiring too. How wonderful is it when you achieve your goals?! Proud of you lady.. High fives, fist bumps & a happy gig happening in your honour.🙂
    Haha… Exercise, haven’t done any for weeks, getting through July where I have a lot of eating commitments and its on like donkey kong August till the end of the year. Maybe Ill check out Karls books.🙂
    Wishing you a stella day. Hugs. xoxox

  5. Funny you should post this one this week and ask how our routines are going. I’ve had such a rotten week with it. I guess my off days this week have really been off! I even had my running clothes on today and never went. That’s okay. I’m going to let it go and put one foot in front of the other tomorrow like you said. I can do that.🙂

Don't be shy, leave a reply. :-)

